We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location overlooking it all!”
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaway Inn
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

This place is literally a 3 min walk to the boardwalk and maybe 10 to downtown. It is one of the cheaper decent hotels but Santa Cruz is a bit pricey! We stayed in a upstairs renovated queen room and loved it! Comfy bed and awesome double headed shower! No hot tub/pool but the beach is just seconds away!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula85p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Thank you for your review of our property! We are happy to hear that you liked the location that we are in as it is very easy to get all over this general area from here. We hope to see you the next time that you visit our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2013

Walking distance to the pier and boardwalk -Seaway Inn is a perfect place to stay in the summer. A bit of a hike to the shops downtown, though, and located on an awkward corner traffic wise.

Our room was small, but clean and the bed very comfy. Small fridge and coffee maker were nice touches. Would have been nicer to have somewhere to charge our phones besides the bathroom.

Breakfast room was lovely, with a nice selection of cereal and baked goods, toaster and a waffle station. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: In a two story motel like place I always choose the upper floor - bonus here is you can see the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property! We are in the process of figuring out a way that we can safely add more electrical outlets to the room, as we are an older property. We hope to have that initiated by you next visit!
Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here again as it is such a great location to the boardwalk and wharf. 5 to 10 minute walk to both. The first time here our room was a bit small, so now with our daughter we opted for a larger room with a view. Room 221 right above the office. Has a great view of the ocean. 2 queen beds and a futon. It is a very large and functional room with a mini fridge. Worked perfect for us and the continental breakfast is great too.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnytatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for your review of our property, on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you came back to us again and look forward to seeing you, should you ever be in Santa Cruz, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

If you want a closet size room, like sleeping inside a closet ok. If you have any luggage you can't even walk by the luggage , this room was dirty, small and icky.
I was here in business and all rooms were booked due too some convention or something. I have a feeling they are writing their own reviews, lol. Because this place was just ICK.

Parking horrible. Clerk was well no eye contact and not interested. Just rude and horrible. Please don't even respond with your B.S. robotic "WE are so sorry we are so upset you had issues", because I never in my life will be in the position again, I will plan ahead from now on. ICK!!!

Room Tip: Avoid , really gross..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelinTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Guest did ask us not to respond; privately emailed guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the seaway inn Santa Cruz. The motel had a really laid back/surfer vibe with floral bedspreads and loungers on the balcony. We had a lovely view over the boardwalk from the room, and everything was easy stroll from the hotel. The bed was also huge and super comfortable! I think the nicest thing about the seaway overall was the laid back atmosphere - best experiences you can have are when the feeling is just "right"!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Karena-macarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property on Trip Advisor. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the "laid back atmosphere." We very much hope to see you again, should you ever be in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Went to this motel as the one across the road was full. Best decision we made as half the price and superb value for money. Staff extremely helpful and informative. Room was very spacious. TV not working so upgraded us without charge. Very clean. Close to pier and all local spots.

Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. That TV issue was taken care of a.s.a.p. and was happy to hear that you were immediately taken care of. We look forward to seeing you the next time you happen to visit Santa Cruz!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I found a room online called "Queen Annex," and called to inquire. The guy working the phone was remarkably professional, warm, and welcoming. He was juggling another caller and a check-in at the time, but always conveyed how important MY time was - and went out of his way to accurately describe the room and all of the amenities available to guests. I was laughing and smiling before I even hung up the phone.

My friend and I stayed in the "Queen Annex," a sweet little studio apartment offsite from the hotel - and we LOVED it!! The location on Front Street is less than a block from the pier. Free parking in this area is rare, but included in the hotel rate, and right outside of the apartment!!! Location, location, location is everything to me in Santa Cruz. I want to be able to park the car until it's time to leave - and this place was absolutely perfect for that.

The room itself wasn't fancy, but it was impeccably clean and certainly had its charms. Queen bed, nightstands, a tv and desk in the main room. Full kitchen with full-size fridge, stove/oven, sink, microwave, and cute little bistro dining set was lovely, and CLEAN (aside from a few pans - which are the responsibility of the guests to wash, I believe). My only complaint about the kitchen set-up is that it wasn't really equipped for much more than very basic cooking, but that was okay. They might want to consider leaving guests more than one fork, one spoon, and one knife - although that might be fun for those on a romantic getaway . . . ?

I was also disappointed that we didn't get a chance to meet the charming man who booked our room. The woman who checked me out seemed rather preoccupied, and didn't even ask if we had enjoyed our stay. All I got was, "Do you want to keep that on the same card?," and "Would you like a receipt?" Okay. But it was a shame, because I was prepared to tell her how much we loved it (and to suggest at least one more set of utensils), if only she had asked. Oh well.

All in all, though, from someone who travels A LOT, this was a really nice experience. If you prefer newer furnishings, and don't care about a kitchen, their main, onsite rooms look lovely. This sweet little studio was perfect for our stay, and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, of our property, on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear that you only had 1 set of utensils, as we usually have at least a couple of sets since those particular rooms can sleep two people, and you should not have had to wash dirty dishes that were not dirtied by you, that is our staff's responsibility. I will make sure to take care of those issues immediately!
I was sorry to also hear that you were not asked how your stay was, as we usually make a habit out of asking, so we can take care of any issues that may have disturbed your stay or made your stay better; our guest input is the most important input that we get, as you are the ones that stay in those rooms. I will make sure to reiterate with my staff that that question is a very important one, when a guest is checking out, and should be the first question asked.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £63 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing