We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing!”
Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaway Inn
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
WA,
1 review
“Very Disappointing!”
Reviewed 16 July 2008

I give this hotel a no star! We paid over $600 for a room that slept 6 it said....the couch for the 3rd bed was very uncomfortable to sit or sleep on. The rooms were cramped and certainly did not have the room for 6 people to walk around or get dressed in. The bathroom was nice but no counter space for makeups etc. The sheets did not fit the beds and kept coming undone. The carpets were very dirty and spotted. The continental breakfast that went from 8:00 am to 11:00 am was almost gone at 9:00 and they did not replenish it. But most insulting was the advertisement of ocean views and balconies! While they did exist, my sister was told that our room would have ocean views! We had a view of a garbage can, a wall & the icemaker...our shared patio/balcony was on the parking lot with no view! As we were there for my son's wedding we made reservations in Jan for a July wedding and should have had priority of room. The walks to the boardwalk was a killer of a hill and not recommended for disabled or elderly as we had both. Oh and our room had no hairdryer...thankfully we took one.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — No view of beach, no Pool or spa as we were told, bad continental breakfast, Dirty floors!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank k9kapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, 27 December 2008
This guest's experience at our hotel could have been different. Our policies and company culture require instantaneous guest satisfaction. Had we been made aware of the guest issue prior to the guest departure, we would have gladly attempted to correct it. Unfortunately, we do not have a pool or hot tub on our property and do not advertise so. We do have ocean views from our second floor, unfortunately our Family Rooms do not have ocean views due to the location of the rooms. Our hair dryers are not kept in the rooms and are available at the front desk upon request. We are terribly embarrassed that this guest had such an unpleasant stay and would have offered them anything to remedy their displeasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    119
    34
    14
    20
See reviews for
85
91
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We had high hopes for this quaint, cute, well-kept motel that is one block from Santa Cruz's main beach and 3 blocks from the Boardwalk. We were looking for someplace close to these attractions - my husband is an amateur surfer, and our 5-year-old daughter loves the beach and was looking forward to fun on the boardwalk. Booking online was easy - we wanted to book a king room with a view, but were told that those rooms were too small for a rollaway bed, which we needed for our daughter. No suites were available, or we would have booked one. To be fair, we did book only 2 days in advance.

Upon arrival, the reception clerk was very courteous and helpful - she took a shine to our little girl and showed her where some baby birds were nesting in the motel rafters outside. Extra towels and a hairdryer were readily available upon request. All of the rooms face the parking lot, and each has a sliding glass french-style door as its front door - kind of unique. No private balconies, but there are patio chairs outside each door for a "shared verandah" feel.

The room was a little small for the price, we felt, but seems to have been recently renovated - I am sure this place has been here for a while, but the bathroom looks recently redone. The picture on the website shows a more modern sink than is actually in the room. Also, there are no tubs in any of the rooms, just walk-in showers - made it more difficult to get our sandy little girl clean as she does not like showers. The biggest problem, however, was the king-sized bed, which we thought would be appropriately comfortable, given the ugrades to the room. The bed was, in a word, horrible. Very soft, and I am sure that the boxsprings were not updated, even if the mattress had been. Any time either of us rolled over, the other was awakened, and it seemed to have a summit in the middle, and both sides sloped downward to the sides of the bed. There were also 2 dead ants trapped in the frame of the artwork in the bathroom - an unfortunate matting accident?

All in all, we probably would not stay here again, unless the price was lowered and the beds were improved.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — comfort of bed
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank weihes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, 27 December 2008
We have reviewed the comment from the guest and have addressed it in order to provide a better experience for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2008

What a great hotel! We stayed there over the weekend, June 6 and 7. I had read a lot of reviews for the hotel, but was still a little worried about staying at a "non chain" hotel. I was so pleased when we arrived. The rooms were very clean. We stayed in a family suite. It had two queen beds and a seperate sitting area with a couch that folded out into a bed. The bathroom had just been remodeled. It was beautiful. It only had a shower, but it was great. The shower had double shower heads and was a real treat.
The hotel is located just up the hill from the beach. It was less than a 2 minute walk to the beach.
The folks running the place were very friendly and helpful. I was more than pleased with my stay. I will stay there again if I get a chance to go back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b33894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2007

This is a great hotel very close to the ocean and attractions. Rooms are very clean and also very cute. The front desk people are very nice and helpful. Free Wi-Fi connection. We were surprised (pleasantly) by the large double headed shower. One tiny thing that bothered me was no curtain on the bathroom window. It is not clear glass but made me feel vulnerable in a city like this.

  • Liked — cute rooms
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jplinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2007

We went to Santa Cruz for one night after Thanksgiving. The Seaway had
a great location and good rates. Our room was small but we didn't care, as we were only going to sleep there. Our room's bathroom had been remodelled and had a great shower - large and with two shower heads.

You can't beat the location - we walked to the wharf for dinner, then to a cafe on Beach Street for breakfast.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Mattress was soft
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EXF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

i have stayed at this hotel 2 times now.
both times it was a good stay on the way to a better city.
Santa cruz has seen better days and that is unfortunate because now it is a crap hole.
The location of this hotel is great - the views are amazing and the rooms are clean and comfortable
nice affordable hotel - staff are nice - but nothing special.
the contintal breakfast is just a nasty packaged danish and cheap coffee.
Stay here if it is late and you have to stay in santa cruz.
But plan your drive to skip right past the town - it has gone down hill alot since its "lost boys' hey days.

  • Liked — room, view and location
  • Disliked — the town of santa cruz needs updating
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GregSBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We were in town just one night, on our way to San Francisco. Our son attends college @ UCSC and we've stayed in the area before. From nice bed and breakfasts to simple motels/hotels.

Thsi trip, we were traveling with friends, and were on a budget. The hotel is very near to the beach, warf, boardwalk area. The motel is nicely decorated from the exterior and appears inviting.

From the time I made the reservations to the time we checked out, the staff was friendly and helpful. Each couple had a king size room w/tv, vcr, mini fridge, coffeemaker and microwave. The room and bathroom ammenities were basic, but CLEAN.

You may checkout a movie from the front desk. Pastries, muffins, coffee, tea and juices are available in the morning.

There was additional parking available just to the left of the motel.

Overall, our visit was pleasant and we would stay again.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Property: Seaway Inn
Address: 176 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing