We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seaway Inn
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I normally stay here every time I come to visit my brother. The location makes it so easy to walk and do stuff. I love that you can walk over to the cliffs and enjoy the beautiful pacific. Always clean. Love the patios. Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SCMT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We'll look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    119
    34
    14
    20
See reviews for
85
90
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This isn't a fancy, high end hotel like the "Dream Inn" across the street. But it is within walking distance to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. It's a great value with the continental breakfast, including fresh waffles, orange juice, yogurt, fruit, coffee, teas, etc.

The rooms are small, but clean. We spent very little time in ours-mostly to sleep. Showers are modern, room decor is fine, not fancy. Rooms have tv, dvd player, small cube fridge, ice from front desk when you need it. Staff is pleasant. Stephanie is the Innkeeper, and she will always go the extra distance to accommodate your requests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for your review. I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with our accommodations and very much look forward to seeing you again, should you be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed one night in June. Not anything bad but not anything extraordinary either. Staff was very friendly and the continental breakfast was pretty good. We were in room 221 ( right over the office) and the layout of the room was odd to me. Had a nice shower but needs a light in the shower- it was kind of dark and hard to see in there. I slept terrible due to the constant street traffic but I live in the country and am not used to all that noise. Great deal and very close to the pier and beach and boardwalk .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cabingirl2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. I was sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the traffic noise and the lack of light in the shower; we hope that these issues do not keep you from coming to stay with us again. Perhaps next time we may be able to get you into a room that will better accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is my second time staying at this property. The rooms and the property in general are VERY clean. We had a two bedroom, first floor. Queen and futon in one room, king in the other. There is a little sitting area outside the bedrooms with a table and two chairs. Microwave and mini fridge is located in a cabinet in the queen room.

The bathroom is decent sized however only has a small shower. It was fine for our group. Nice continental breakfast each morning. Hot beverages available in the evening. you can also purchase water and soda from the office.

Limited free parking onsite. Hotel has also arranged free parking at adjacent lot. Very convenient.

The location of the hotel is great, across the street from the beach. There are plenty of restaurants of all levels nearby as well as a liquor store within walking distance for snacks and beverages.

GREAT PET Policy. Although we did not take our dog on this trip, we found out the hotel is pet friendly and has a great affordable policy. We will definitely be back with our dog!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We were happy to hear that you appreciated all of the amenities that we have to offer. We hope to see you the next time you are in Santa Cruz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
Staff friendliness 4/5
Bathroom 4/5

We stayed in a double bed room for one night.
- Nice room close to the beach.
- Clean and cozy.
- beach/boardwalk only 1 block down the hill
- furtniture old (80's)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil_D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We hope that your future travels will find you in our area again, for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calif
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I've stayed here 4 times now in the past year., Once with my husband twice with my best friend, and once with my cousin.The staff here has been so freindly every time I am here.from the manager, who ius so sweet and helpful, to Cory to the girls-very nice and very accommodating and helpful.ALl very friendly.The rooms are always clean. The breakfast room and food/snacks available are more than ample to start your day,I like to sit in there, read the newspaper, eat, and watch the tv :) in the morning. PERFECTION LOCATION, With views to die for.(<<REALLY) Less than a 5 minute walk to wharf and boardwalk, If you have young teens, you can let them go by themselves, very safe area. ANd, Have never had any trouble parking.Even though it IS an older preoprty, they really have kept it up well. A/C is sometimes a hit or miss though;being there last week when it reached 95-100 in S Cruz... room didnt seem to cool down much til after midnite .OTHER than that, no problems. It's a great place to stay

Room Tip: Love the bottom floor rooms facing the beach! once had a corner room, once the one right in the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missinmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We appreciate your business and very much look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The Seaway Inn is perfectly adequate for those who are not ultra picky when it comes to their accommodations. The rooms are small but clean and cute. The location is the biggest selling point of this place. Its very close to the boardwalk (3 minute stroll). The one negative I would have to report on is the friendliness of one woman who works at the front. On the day of check-in, we arrived a few hours early so we simply stopped in the office to let her know our car was in the lot and that we would come back later when our room was ready. Her response "yea for future stays please don't get here before check in it makes things difficult for us". Are you kidding me? How long have you worked in hospitality? She was extremely rude and put off by our presence. Aside from the surly woman up front, the stay was pleasant.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachGazer176, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you thought that our little in is well located and "cute." I was not happy to hear that you received such treatment from my staff, in regards to parking. Of course, we allow our guests to park if they are early, even if the room isn't ready. Since our lot is small, and can only accommodate 14 vehicles however, we do have access to an "overflow" lot, should ours fill up. I sincerely hope that this issue doesn't keep you from visiting us again, should you ever be in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Property: Seaway Inn
Address: 176 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing