We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A step back In time”
Review of Carousel Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carousel Beach Inn
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A step back In time”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here on my honeymoon while travelling the west coast,from the outside it dosnt look much and too be fair the rooms are basic but!!!! It's clean the staff are fantastic and your right across the road from the pier/amusement park and boardwalk.if you go for a short walk there are plenty of nice places too eat as well.This hotel does the job perfectly infact the look of the hotel adds to the atmosphere of Santa Cruz especially set night when the roller coaster is lit up and u can hear the screams of people on it!!! Top place too stay not expensive perfect location

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigalb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    120
    54
    15
    3
See reviews for
153
81
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
APO, AE
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

When I first arrived at the motel with my 4-year old daughter, my first thought was, "There is no way I am going to feel safe in this place." I went in with the idea of canceling my reservation and looking for somewhere else. I'm completely change my mind however, when I was greeted by an amazingly sweet and helpful young man working the front desk. We were given our room number (102) and I felt a little bit better about being behind a locked gate. The room was standard but sufficient for what we needed it for.

- Service: Excellent! The young man working the desk around 4pm on August 27 2013 was very sweet and helpful. I mentioned that we were headed straight down to the beach and he gave me a bag for me in case I needed an extra one to carry our stuff, which was a nice touch. He answered all my questions about tickets versus wristbands for the boardwalk and I felt like he actually cared that we enjoyed our stay.

- Value: Very good! A very reasonably priced hotel for the location.

- Sleep Quality: Very good! Our patio was on the street-side and we could hear some noise, but it wasn't terrible.

- Cleanliness: Very good! The room was clean, which is all I care about. It's a bit dated, but that was to be expected.

- Location: Excellent! Location, location, location! Being able to step out the hotel entry way and be right across the street from the entrance to the Boardwalk was AWESOME. I grew up going to the Boardwalk every summer and this was the first time I was able to take my daughter. Having the convenience of being able to easily get back to our room when she got tired was great! We were able to park our car in the hotel parking lot and walk everywhere very easily.

- Rooms: Average! It was a bit stuffy in our room. I didn't see an AC unit but they did have a fan. We really wanted to sleep with the patio sliding door open but the noise and my concerns for safety didn't allow for that. We didn't come here expecting the Ritz or anything so it met our (low) expectations.

If you're coming to the Boardwalk with the intention of being on the beach all day and on the Boardwalk and want quick and easy access, this is the hotel for you. That's exactly what we expected and exactly what we got.

Right now, there is active construction going on and construction hours are 0730 until 1630, so be aware of that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel is right across the street from the boardwalk!! It was great to be able to go back to hotel to get my sweatshirt and be back to the boardwalk in a couple minutes. As for the hotel, it's nothing to write home about but it's clean and we felt safe. There is also a breakfast offered. Parking is very limited, but you can park across the street for free if there is no more parking on hotel premises. If you park your car in hotel parking, you can keep it there until 1 pm the next day which was great because we went back to the boardwalk before we left!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tekkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Location, location, location! This hotel is all about the location. It's right across the entrance to the Boardwalk. Close to the wharf and Beach Street. The condition of the building and rooms are a different story. During my stay the outside temperature was 80+ but inside the hotel always felt damp. The rooms need updating. The carpets, floors, and bathtub were dirty. The towels smelt after one use - I don't know why. We microwave oven in the room was very very old. The management should really think about replacing the microwave ovens. The breakfast: bagels, OJ (mixed with water), and muffins. And yes, they had tea and coffee available 24/7 in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ek_jajabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

not a expensive hotel just in front of the boardwalk.
Even the pier and the towncenter are within a walking distance.
Don't expect luxury or anything fancy at this hotel.
Just a good hotel at a reasonable price, that's all there is to say.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuebke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hotel is all about location. It is 1 minute walk to the entrance of the Boardwalk and Beach. The hotel is 2 star standard with basic rooms but plenty big enough in size making it ideal for a weekend in Santa Cruz, it was also clean.

Breakfast is included but is very basic with just fruit, bagels and cake to eat, no cereals etc are on offer. Tea / Coffee / Juice is also available with Coffee available 24x7.

On booking the hotel we could find no availablity on any of the main booking sites but was able to book it direct with the hotel. We requested a room with a balcony but was given a ground floor room with a outdoor area which had a 6 foot wall around it offering no view and making it feel like a prison. I did ask if we could move to a higher floored room with a balcony. I was told I would have to pay more for this, it did not mention that on the web site.

For approx $120 per night we were happy with that due to the location plus parking is free. Car's have to be out of the car park by 1pm on departure day. I did ask if I could pay to leave the car a few more hours as we wanted to use the beach all day as it was a very hot weekend but I was told no beacuase they were busy. On returning back to the car at 1 there was 4 other cars in the car park, it was empty!.

Santa Cruz is beautiful and very clean, not trashy like other review has mentioned. Broadwalk is spotless and the beach has no litter at all with it being cleaned daily.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiltshire71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

The Carousel is easy to find, and close to the boardwalk attractions of Santa Cruz. I was here solo- I parked my car when I arrived and was able to walk every where I wanted to go during the afternoon and evening. Great location for the Boardwalk and the wharf. Clean and staffed with helpful front desk staff. I will come back!




Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cara5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Beach Inn

Property: Carousel Beach Inn
Address: 110 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5520 (Formerly Carousel Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-friendly Carousel Beach Inn is just steps away from the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the Main Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carousel Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Motel Santa Cruz
Carousel Hotel Santa Cruz
Carousel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing