We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristorante Avanti

Ristorante Avanti
Ranked #66 of 369 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine dining for twenty five years as the farm to table restaurant for Santa Cruz county. We buy the produce, seafood and animals from the people who grew them, caught them or raised them. Local cuisine with a European bent. The finest wines from Europe with local wines in that tradition. We have a full bar and patio seating. We are on Highway One open for lunch and dinner. Reservations strongly encouraged.
london
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Interesting and good Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Menu was different , food organic and tasty . We had a table of eight in the quieter outside covered patio .
Local Relatives were keen to go there as best food in Santa Cruz , didn't wow me but I did enjoy the meal

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruthnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    45
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
east greenwich, rhode island
Level Contributor
799 reviews
514 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Small but eclectic restaurant that's truly farm to table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Hard to get reservations but worth the wait. Not impressed with wines by the glass, but bottles are better. The baby grilled artichokes were a bit chewy (? Overcooked?) but the chicken and fusilli primi dish was to die for! Should have had that for my main! The bread and olive oil were some of the best I have eaten (yes, I AM a foodie). The dinosaur kale salad and creamy broccoli soup were also excellent. The steaks were delicious...the duck breast was so so. Unfortunately, I ordered it medium rare and it was medium to medium well. The polenta was great. The desserts were okay. My recommendation is the steak, sand dabs or the fusilli pasta. I will try this restaurant again when back in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unique, fresh, and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

From the cocktail to the starters to the main course and wine, this restaurant is a treasure. I highly recommend you make it part of a visit to Santa Cruz. The servers are happy, personable, and professional. The cocktail choices are unique and delicious. I found the grilled artichokes to be an excellent starter. The halibut entree was among the best I've ever had; it seemed to still be dripping sea water, it was so fresh and succulent. They offered a few very tasty wines by the glass, so we were able to conduct tastings during our meal. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vikingtraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food not so good but service was very good….”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were at a B&B .They recommended Avanti.
The service was very good but the food was marginal.
The root soup had been watered down from another night. It tasted primarily like water….very weak.
The eggplant parmesan was a little dry with a wet tomato sauce poured over it.. It seemed like it was microwaved.
The mushroom ragot over polenta was good.
The servers were on top of things. They made sure that we had water,etc. They worked with what they had. The chef needs to do some work on the food.
The atmosphere was okay but it was unfortunate to have a sub-standard dinner.
We will never go back since there are other choices available.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wahine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
319 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food, but not so good neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews on Trip Advisor, so had to try it. Food was great; service was great. Enjoyes the entire evening while INSIDE the restaurant. Once we left, a homeless guy approached us in the parking lot and cursed us. If you go here at night, be aware of your surroundings BEFORE going out to your vehicle.

Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Avanti also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Avanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing