We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Great staff, Great Location”
Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Front Inn
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value, Great staff, Great Location”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Outstanding value, very helpful staff, great location and clean, modern rooms. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Santa Cruz, CA!

The hotel is located right between Pacific Avenue with all its shops, and the Beach Boardwalk and Wharf, making everything within walking distance. The rooms are very clean, modern and well-kept. They come equipped with a sizeable mini fridge, microwave, TV (flat screens in the renovated ones) and modern bathroom. The shower was a very pleasant temperature with solid water stream, and came with very decent amenities, such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, etc,-.

The staff are exceptional: upon realising that we had booked into an unrenovated room with two queen beds (which was still great!), the receptionist upgraded us to one of their newly renovated kingsize rooms free of charge, even though we had already stayed in the unrenovated room for a night. She was extremely friendly, and immediately made us new room keys.

The only thing that could use improvement was the breakfast. The lobby (where breakfast was being served), was being renovated and covered in plastic, though this is only temporary. The breakfast selection is fairly limited, but nothing to complain about given the overall value.

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2013, and would certainly return if staying in Santa Cruz again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdamanwillems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    146
    100
    58
    77
See reviews for
150
126
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

good motel for the price. breakfast could be better. location neer the beach ans really closed to downtown. everything is arrivable by walk. parking possibilities directly in front it Thema rooms. perfect for short stops.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jens_Erlangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We found this place on a recent place. We have dogs and didn't want to stay on the outskirts of Santa Cruz, but near all the attractions. Very friendly staff, small rooms but very clean. Great to walk to the beach, the boardwalk, the lighthouse. Very close to a number of fantastic restaurants. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahoefairley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Outstanding value, given rates, quality of room options and service, and the opportunity to support family-owned and operated business. I recommend this hotel highly to individuals, couples and families with well-behaved children alike--assuming you, like me, don't want to pay a dollar more than necessary for a quality place to stay (no frills), whether you are visiting Santa Cruz for business or pleasure (or both :)).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkilpatrck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2013

3days/2nights away from Sacramento was what we needed. The staff was Very courteous & helpful. Breakfast was what we needed (but they say they are in the process of upgrading), and the work being done on the property itself, is Very optimistic! We were very happy we stayed there & for the price, that close to the water (no view but within 2 blocks of the wharf) you can NOT beat it!! We will be back to Bay Front!!! Thank You...

Room Tip: Nothing Fancy, but Great Price for what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired95608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Although the rooms aren't spectacular, large or completely 5 star material, the hotel itself is just great. I stayed once in February of 2012, and once in March 2013. I called 5 hours in advance to book a room for 3 nights, and the woman was so friendly and helpful. Most places are sometimes rude and don't help you out at such short notice. She gave me amazing rates ($109 for the first night and $59 for the last two nights) for a two queen bed room. It was spacious enough for 3 of us girls. The showers are good, the beds are comfortable and the area is great. I felt safe although the outside of the hotel doesn't look welcoming, it is a safe, clean and comfortable place to stay. It's walking distance from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk which has plenty of places to eat, drink, and has a daytime amusement park. Also is walking distance from the beach. I would recommend it to a younger audience, although I saw families staying there both times I stayed. It's overall a fabulous place and I am definitely going back next March.

Room Tip: 15% off for Spring 2013 trips if you book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emr542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed at the Bay Front twice before - once with family and once by myself. Both times were very pleasant. The staff is really friendly and knowledgeable, and the location really is ideal. It's a short walking distance from both downtown/the beach, and a short drive from the UCSC campus. While the unrenovated rooms aren't too modern, its proximity/price made this a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rillest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Property: Bay Front Inn
Address: 325 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Front Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing