We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience”
Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Front Inn
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We booked the Bay Front Inn for an event we were going to do at the Board Walk. The staff was very friendly. The second day there, we asked if they had shuttle service to the Board Walk since my co-worker and i were carrying something heavy and the owner offered to drive us there. Another plus is that its close to the Board Walk and downtown. Good Overall Experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    146
    97
    58
    73
See reviews for
145
124
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
modesto
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a great experience at the Bay Front Inn. It is very close to the wharf. We walked about 1 block. It was very quiet. The staff was very accommodating! It is nice to see hard wood floors when you are bringing dogs with you. There are also 2 dog beaches a couple of miles away.
What a great get away for family and not have to kennel the pet! Will definitely be back! N Johnson

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njohnsonmodesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed at the Bay Front for a short business trip, was pleasantly surprised by the remodeled room. Very modern feel to it, hardwood floors, nice tileed bath and vanity area. Large flat-screen TV, with microwave and mini-fridge. Spacious and clean room. The nice thing about the location is the very short walking distance to the beach/warf and downtown, the hotel is right in the middle of both. Traveling from out of the area, the short walking distance made finding a restaurant simple. I have already recomended this place to my friends and family. I plan to go back in two weeks for my next work-related visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 716TomF716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I booked this room online with a third party company. When I got to the hotel the company had booked a totally different room then what I needed and charged me for this lower room. The manager was extremely helpful with this issue and even matched the lower price. He gave me a room right in front of the pool and a 2:00 check out to make up for this nightmare problem with this third party company witch took an hour on the phone to cancel. The rooms are clean and nice. I really like the hardwood floors and the fridge and microwave are so convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Bay Front Inn is just want I needed for a quick get away trip. I stayed for one night in order to attend a local concert. The front desk attendant was friendly and very "chatty" . We engaged in short conversation about local sights and music. The room was clean, and straight to the point. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Huge rooms. Wood floors (yay!) Large mini fridge and a microwave. Centrally located. Owners seem to take pride in clientele...asking guests why they're staying. It may seem off putting to some, but in my opinion keeps the seediness out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

If you were driving through Santa Cruz and needed to crash for a night, this would be a good spot: simple, no frills*, clean sheets, freshly remodeled bathrooms...clean.

It's pet friendly but it's probably worth noting that the walls are thin so if your neighbor brings a yappy dog with them, I could foresee barking being a problem. However, if you like traveling with your pet I'd recommend this spot.

Let's see, what else...

-- Nice friendly staff.

-- Free breakfast with above average pastries.

-- Free WiFi

-- Close to the beach and boardwalk in a safe area.

* The room was pretty basic, except for the organic soaps and moisturizer, included a shower cap and lots of fresh towels. Motel fancy. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Property: Bay Front Inn
Address: 325 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Front Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing