We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great service!!!”
Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Front Inn
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
1 review
“Great location and great service!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Always have fun when we stay and can walk to the boardwalk or wharf! Def going back! Have been 4 times and no complaints! We live about an hour away so we have started making it our go-to stay-cation spot! Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snelly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    146
    100
    59
    77
See reviews for
151
126
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Overall great location. Rooms definitely need updating. Felt old and sad inside the room. We paid a lot to be there and I was a lil disappointed Iin the rooms appearance. It is a very clean hotel. I likes that it made me feel cmfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubs288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was traveling with my nieces so with 7 of us many hotels could not accommodate us. I called and they said they could and they had a Family Suite with a Queen bed and two twin beds with trundles(pull out beds) for $115. The rooms were very roomy and clean with wooden floors. The bathroom/shower area was huge! It had stones on the floor of the shower that massage your feet. There were two shower heads on both sides so you stay warm with water the whole time or more than one can take a shower. Very useful for those with young children. There was a fridge, microwave, coffeepot and a big flat screen TV in living room. It is in a great location, especially with kids who often forget things and you have to keep walking back. The pool was warm, the beds were very comfortable, and the breakfast was hearty. We traveled in 2 cars and didn't have much of a problem. The staff informed us there was a parking lot for $5 for all day right next door and it is in a safe area so we used it. We only stayed one night but would have loved to stay another if time permitted.

I would have given them a 5 but there were small things that would have probably frustrated someone else. The room was not completely finished. The hotel is still updating some of the rooms so all the furnishing were not in room when we arrived. There was no table to eat at but it wasn't a problem because we rarely ate in the room. There was supposed to be another flat screen in the other bedroom but it wasn't up yet. Although in a safe area, there was no door lock and traveling with kids that is always a concern. The staff did explain they are still updating and apologized.


All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again as long as prices and service remains the same.

Room Tip: Call and reserve, i think you get a better rate. I always use the web to search/read all reviews an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen2498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We are a family of four visiting Santa Cruz for the first time. We had a blast! The BFI was perfect for us; it's located 5 minutes from the beach/boardwalk which made it convenient for many "back and forth" walks to the hotel. The breakfast was great, the pool was warm and the staff was not only friendly but someone was always available to answer questions. Whenever we go back to SC, we will book with the BFI for certain.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evzc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Have had a very enjoyable stay and the staff here is very friendly and helpful. The location close to the Boardwalk is awesome and the pool is great. I enjoyed the continental breakfasts with good coffee. Thank you for a great experience

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Parking was $10/night, BUT YOU'RE NOT GUARANTEED PARKING. The front desk will not tell you this. We paid $30 over the course of 3 days to end up parking on the street, and have to go out to the car at 9AM to pay the meter or move the car. The desk staff offered to pay the meter, and couldn't understand that it's not about the $3 for the meter...it's the fact that they purposely oversell the parking lot; and it's also about the inconvenience of having to go out and move the car at 9AM. YOU CANNOT CHARGE FOR A SERVICE THAT YOU'RE NOT PROVIDING.

Further, there are 2 parking spaces against the pool. When cars are parked there, it is absolutely impossible to drive around the 2nd half of the parking lot - it's blocked.

To be fair, the front desk staff all have a very friendly demeanor - but that was it.

We also had to go have our room keys re-coded after our first night, because our rooms were only coded for one night.

We had to track down the housekeeping staff, who took all of our towels but did not leave us any new ones.

We did not get coffee creamer & sugar on the 3rd day's housekeeping.

Stay away, never again. Vacation should never be this much work.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I guess we got what we were looking for; the least expensive hotel, last minute. Let just say that the remodeled lobby does not make up for the horrible guest room.

We booked the same day we stayed due to a last minute decision to make a trip to the beach. When I went to the hotel’s website I was quoted $117 on a Friday night. When I called to ensure parking was included I was quoted $139 for the night. The person I spoke to said she couldn’t give me the same price I found on their very own website.

The BAD: To start, the first thing I observed was an eaten chicken wing sitting about 12 inches from the door on the window seal, something the cleaning staff should have seen (see photo). Even worse, inside the room, multiple furniture items with unknown substances on them including a pillow, couch, and table (more photos). The least they can do is CLEAN the room. The curtain was broken making it impossible to close the curtain completely, not even a shear shade behind it. The room was of poor décor, basic furnishing including a wooden bench in the sink area. I didn’t say “bathroom” because the shower and toilet were in a separate room. At least the bathroom was clean, however, there was no tub. For someone traveling with a 5 year old it was missed. In addition there was no shelving in the bathroom at all. That may not seem like a big deal to some but when you are looking to set your bar of soap down while in the shower your choices are, place it on the floor or walk over to the toilet to place it on the tank, hence the flooded bathroom floor after each shower. Don't stay in room 130, it's bad! And it's not like there wasn't any other rooms. We saw several that were vacant.

The GOOD: The staff was friendly and very helpful. The staff members went out of their way to accommodated us (not the room of course). The location is just minutes from the beach, an easy walk even with children. The parking was included, but beware the parking lot will fill up at night and it's only metered parking on the streets 7 days a week. There is a pool but no hot tub.

Overall I would not stay here again. I'd stay at another cheap hotel that at least cleans the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicandDav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#39 of 54 in Santa Cruz
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Property: Bay Front Inn
Address: 325 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Front Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing