We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stay!”
Review of Bay Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Front Inn
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK Stay!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Room was comfortable and clean. Room only had one bedside table lamp that worked, and the TV remote was AWFUL....way too complex! We never did find a local news or weather channel!No "complimentary breakfast", (as offered), not available until after 8:00 am...very inconvenient for group travelers just wanting a simple "grab & go"!
We hung around to have something...very disorganized preparation, and poor presentation! Messy!
With a little planning and preparation, these issues could be resolved!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleychick14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    146
    98
    58
    74
See reviews for
146
125
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

It was my 21st birthday and the lady at the front desk upgraded me for free, gave me super late checkout for free. and was overall very accommodating. Couldn't say anything bad. Great location, cheap prices, and friendly service. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmatthewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great location to ocean front attractions, 5 minute walk to shops and waterfront restaurants
Motel requires lots of maintenance thru out the whole exterior and some interior.
Breakfast room handles very few quests at a time.
Panhandlers on the property(tough to control)

Room Tip: You get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyfeathers47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Every time I come to SC I stay at this hotel. The remodel is nice and the location is the best. I wish the staff was friendly an I think the price is steep for the room quality. It is right around the corner from everything so I stay here any ways. I have only been awake early enough once for the breakfast and it was a standard meal. I love the town so I will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellabotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Really nice place in a great location, not too shabby on the outside either compared to most places. By far the best value. It looks a bit lower quality on the outside but the management is very nice and the rooms exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Staff were very accommodating at Bay Front Inn. I appreciated that it was a CLEAN pet friendly hotel with TV upgrades and lovely bath products. It is centrally located, making it an easy walk to the beach and some restaurants. I felt safe there as a woman. The walls are a bit thin, as are the ceiling/floor separation. I imagine they will fix that soon, given that they are a professional group who strive for customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliv3oil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Price was right, room was all wrong! Place is tired and in need of repair. Simple things like a broken toilet handle and shade can get you a poor review. That was the case in our room. I won't kill this place because it was a cheap stay. But staying on top of things that are easy fixes should be any small time hotels top priority. If you want to go on the cheap I guess this is the place for you.

Room Tip: These hotels are very wise as to how they go about business. If you don't like it t/s..the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ih8sno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#39 of 54 in Santa Cruz
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Front Inn

Property: Bay Front Inn
Address: 325 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4922
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Front Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Front Hotel Santa Cruz
Bay Front Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing