We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful casual beachside dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whale City Bakery

Whale City Bakery
Ranked #8 of 13 Bakeries in Santa Cruz
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful casual beachside dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stopped here after hiking at the Seal beach and soooo glad we did. Extensive menu, great fun vibe and a pastry desert case to die for. Hubby had an omelet that was tasty and cheesy while I had the traditional fish and chips. Both we're filling to the point of not being able to order a luscious desert but next time....... We will eat desert first. Life is short ;-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Duker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great spot to eat by the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place is about 10 miles north of Santa Cruz. We stopped on our way to Ano Nuevo State Park to see the elephant seals. We were hungry and it looked like a good place to stop. I'm glad we did! We were able to sit outside and enjoy the ocean breeze on a sunny day. The menu had plenty of yummy sounding choices that worked for 3 teenage girls and myself. The food came out in fast enough time and tasted wonderful. I heard no complaints. I understand they source their food locally, and everything we ate tasted very good. I would highly recommend stopping if you are traveling along this section of highway 1.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank earnestxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fussa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Local food supporters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

On the menu they specify where some of there ingredients come from within the city/area. The atmosphere was calm and cheery and I would gladly return if they weren't so far away.

Helpful?
Thank Tillie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“breakfast and ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I come here often whenever I am in santa cruz or on my way there this bamery is on the beach on highway 1 about ten miles north of santa cruz breakfast is great especially the croissants a person can sit and enjoy breakfast overlooking the ocean nothing better

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quijoterraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Second to None!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

My favorite restaurant in Santa Cruz! Nothing better than fish and chips after an ocean session or coffee and fresh baked goods before...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whale City Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Whale City Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing