We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Taj - CLOSED

Royal Taj
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Go on fridays if you like Lamb. the Nan is always hot and fresh. Two can eat the lunch Buffet for $20 a great deal. Dinner has a bigger selection but is more expencive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scmiketravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Buffet supreme”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We really like this place, buffet is so good and so reasonably priced. Run by some quiet low key guys, food is really good and balanced. Nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank lmilgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedaredge, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Indian food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Rich, deep flavors, great nan, and you don't leave hungry. Eaten here twice now and look forward to coming again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeromeGastronom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“the worst, unbelievably bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

This place gets poor reviews online, but a friend of someone in our party recommended it so we gave it a chance. We were sorry as soon as we sat down. Very dirty dining room with a staff that seemed very jumpy and nervous. We ordered ala carte items which were served to us in small cereal bowls without serving utensils (except for the tandoori chicken which was served on a wood plank). The value wasn't good, very little food for the price, which I wouldn't mind if the food had been good.

Everything we ordered was absolutely terrible. The lamb vindaloo was particularly bad and none of us could eat it. The tandoori chicken was the worst I've ever had, no flavor and tough meat. I suspect ALL of the food is from frozen, everything has a strange texture and bad, "off" flavor to it.

Even if you are craving Indian food (which is hard to find in Santa Cruz) skip this place!!!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank californiapug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

We went for a vacation in August and asked our friend at UCSC for the Indian Buffet. He recommended the Royal Taj and in fact, we were there before few years ago which we could remember that it was good. This time was also great.. delicious buffet and same clean & cozy atmosphere... and best of all... affordable price :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tookta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Taj also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing