We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but you'll need a chiropractor”
Review of Aqua Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Breeze Inn
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, but you'll need a chiropractor”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Excellent location; it's right across a parking lot from Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk. The rooms could use some touch-up but if you can see past some chipped paint then it's not an issue. The biggest problem here are the beds; prepare to need a chiropractor. A few hours of sleep and I already have a sore back--these are the WORST BEDS EVER. For this reason only I wouldn't stay here again. The staff is fantastic, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPCyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBreezeManagement, General Manager at Aqua Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm very sorry to hear you found the bed in your room to be uncomfortable. If you would be so kind as to somehow let us know which room in particular you stayed in, we'd appreciate knowing so we can address the problem ASAP. As you may see in our other reviews, uncomfortable beds is not something we hear often at all, so not only are we surprised to hear that, but we are also eager to fix that issue.
By the way, thank you for your compliments on our location and the quality of our staff. We appreciate that though there was a problem with your stay, you still found other aspects of our property enjoyable enough to comment on.
Regards,
Kamal Naran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    16
    26
    9
    13
See reviews for
43
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is ok it wasn't that good the extra, little bedroom was so small the bed could could barely fit .In the little room you could tell the other people in the next room were smoking cigaretes . One of the best PARTS OF IT WAS ACROSS THE STREET there was an arcade and Minnie golf and also a bowling alley. You could tell that they did not wash the sheets of the bed because when you would sleep you could feel a lot of sand! And the beds were not even soft.

Room Tip: Get one that has at least a good big pool if you do not want to go in the ocean unlike this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coolgurl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBreezeManagement, General Manager at Aqua Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm very sorry and shocked to hear you found sand in your bed. We use an outside linen service for our bed sheets, so either need to address this issue with them, or the housekeeper would cleaned your room prior to your stay. If you could contact us at aquabreezeinn@gmail.com and let us know which room it was, and the date of your stay, we would appreciate it.
Also, in regards to the size of the room the 3rd bed was located in, I do agree those rooms are small, just barely big enough to fit the bed and a night stand or two. However, while it is not spacious, it does provide an additional bed and privacy, which a lot of larger families and groups find valuable. Its true that it isn't ideal that the rooms are so small, but I do think we and our guests are better off by even having the option, since 3 bed units are not common in Santa Cruz.
Thank you for mentioning our great location, and we do hope to hear from you.
Regards,
Kamal Naran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This motel is totally worth it for the money. It's decorated like the ocean, and there's a cute little pool. The people are friendly and it's SUPER close to the boardwalk/beach. Only complaint is the breakfast. The food was basically gone by 8:30 (30 minutes after starting).

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kameroosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBreezeManagement, General Manager at Aqua Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments! We are truly sorry the breakfast was not replenished at the time you came to the office. We do try to make sure to replenish everything offered in our breakfast spread until it ends at 10am, but it appears we must try harder, which I will encourage our staff to do consistently.
Thank you again for your comments!
Regards,
Kamal Naran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Overall this was a very average motel

The bathroom was fine but the shower wasn't very strong

Our room stunk of smoke and this didn't go away even with the window open. If we were there for longer we would have asked to move rooms (which we now wish we had as the clothes I slept in now smell smokey) Strange though as the room is meant to be a non smoking room but someone had definitely smoked in it, it was gross

Staff very friendly and helpful

We would stay again for a short trip as the location is perfect just by the boardwalk

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Skayy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBreezeManagement, General Manager at Aqua Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm sorry to hear you found your room to smell of smoke. We only have 2 smoking rooms, however it is hard to prevent guests from smoking in non-smoking rooms. When they do, we have used a "smoke odor eliminator" product to remove the smell from the walls, curtains and room in general, as well as putting carpet deodorizer powder. We found that these steps were only somewhat effective, so at the beginning of this summer we have actually taken action to address this issue by changing the flooring in our 1st floor rooms, where our only 2 smoking rooms happen to be located, to hard wood floors. We have found that by removing the carpet, we have removed the primary and largest hiding place of smoke odor.
We appreciate you saying you would stay with us again, we hope you will and encourage you to ask for one of our hardwood floor rooms so you can see the difference yourself.
Regards,
Kamal Naran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I Stayed for one night with my family, walking distance from beach and Boardwalk.
Very friendly staff. Will stay there again. Closer to downtown and lots of attraction. good value for money very clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel practices ethnic discrimination. Due to auto trouble my son was in need of a hotel room. I researched and found Aqua Breeze Inn in Santa Cruz. I called and spoke with a young man and he said they had available rooms. I told him my son would be there in five minutes and would pay cash.

My son arrived. The young man and an older woman were at the front desk. My son is a 6’5”, bearded man of Scandinavian heritage. When he asked for a room, the young man looked at the older woman, who shook her head no. The young and said, “We have no rooms.” My son replied, “That’s strange, you told my mother five minutes ago that you did have rooms available.

My son is a soft spoken, mild manner person. Without saying anything else to the two, he left this hotel and walked across the street to another hotel.

It was obvious to him, and to me, that the hotel people did not like the way my son looked, because other than looking at him and a brief exchange, there was no other conversation. The hotel people, who were not American, should realize that Americans stopped discriminating by the way people look 60 years ago. After all, discrimination is against the law.

If you are not from India, and have different colored skin or you are too tall, you may want to avoid the Aqua Breeze Inn. Even if they do have rooms available, they may not have a room for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Altadena91001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaBreezeManagement, General Manager at Aqua Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
I would like to make it clear that we do not discriminate against any guest based on race, color, religion, national origin, height, or any other basis the reviewer has accused us of. If anyone were to take a look at the diverse make up of our guests on any given day, and you will find this to be undeniably true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Positives:
- good value for money
- clean rooms
- friendly staff
- great location (about 5 mins walk to the pier and beach)

Negatives:
- rooms a bit tired looking but you get what you pay for

I would recommend if you are just passing through (like we were) but probably worth paying extra for a hotel if you intend to stay for a longer period of time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JayJC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.4 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.4 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#39 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Breeze Inn

Property: Aqua Breeze Inn
Address: 204 2nd St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Aqua Breeze Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Aqua Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Breeze Hotel Santa Cruz
Sea Breeze Hotel
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing