We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute No No”
Review of Hotel Solares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Solares
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This place is located in the middle of a neighborhood. Checking in was easy. The front desk clerk gave average customer service. Nothing special. The lobby is dated. It's laid out for the morning free breakfast. There's one elevator and three floors total. A murky waterfall in the middle of the terrace and a pool. Parking is pretty basic. The rooms are dated as well. There are little tiny white cheap plastic chairs on each balcony with a matching cheap table. The chairs allow you to sit and watch the parking lot if you so wish.

Overall, this place wasn't THE WORST EVER but for me....it definitely was not what I am used to. The room was only 150 bucks but even still I would expect something a little more modern and polished. Next time I visit beautiful Santa Cruz I will book something else.

BTW...there was a roach on the wall on the way OUT of the room. Off to do laundry now....smh

I hear Santa Cruz is not known for nice hotels so...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, including ways to improve our services and standard.Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. Again, we sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences during your stay and we hope that you will give us a second chance if you return to Santa Cruz again soon.

Please email me at scbeachinn@yahoo.com if your travel brings you back to Santa Cruz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mollie K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ok Sta Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel worked out perfectly. Clean and good quality, in a city with some not so great looking places to stay for about the same price. And it's relatively close to the beach. There were a few small stains on the chairs, but other than that, very nice. Made our trip very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thank you so much for your review of your stay here at Days Inn! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had checked ahead to ensure the hotel allowed pets. We have stayed in pet-friendly rooms in other hotels that were clean and well-maintained. This hotel was quite frankly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room we were put in was not maintained in the least - holes and patches on the walls, in desperate need of paint, filthly carpets, a slider out to a street that felt terribly unsafe. The area outside the slider was surrounded by a broken down fence and full of weeds. The towels in the bathroom were stained and dirty looking. Unfortunately, we had no other option as we checked in late. We were supposed to stay two nights, but you can be sure we checked out the next morning. Even my young children were distressed by the condition of the room. Simply awful. When I spoke to the manager the next day about it, he waived the $15 pet fee and nothing else. I would absolutely avoid this one at all costs!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jere G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, including ways to improve our services and standard.Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. Again, we sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences during your stay and we hope that you will give us a second chance if you return to Sata cruz again soon.
Please email me at scbeachinn@yahoo.com if your travel brings you back to santa cruz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here in April however, was unimpressed with the standards.

Spent one night in a basic room. Our neighbours were very loud we heard everything that was going on with their troubled lives. The only thing that could compete with the neighbours was when we turned the shower on, it was really noisy. Housekeeping standards were not very great. The fridge was dirty and the previous occupants fruit had been left.

if I was back in the area I would stay elsewhere and give this one a miss even though it was only $143

Room Tip: Check out availability with the competition first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willbur_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

I deeply apologize that this was your experience at out hotel, it is not typical to receive this complaint because we do take our guests satisfaction so seriously and especially wish for anybody staying with us to feel like they can be themselves at all times in a quiet, calm, and relaxing location like guests usually do during their time with us. We have some one at the desk all the time i wish you would have called us about the noise complain.I apologies about the hosekeeping standard and i assure you that your issue has been adressed and appropriate action has been taken to avoid this happening in future.
I hope you give us opportunity again if your travel brings you back to santa cruz. please feel free to email me on scbeachinn@yahoo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#49 of 54 in Santa Cruz
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £61 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing