We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”
Review of Hotel Solares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Solares
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We found this motel good value for money. It is in a good location and close to the beach and town centre. The room was large and clean, the shower was good and well supplied with shampoo etc. The breakfast is quite basic but adequate. It can be noisy at night with returning guests but that is understandable in a motel environment. The pool is good and we used it a lot, two jacuzzi's are also available.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    143
    164
    107
    123
See reviews for
368
120
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our California road trip and it was fine for what we wanted.
We had a room on the 2nd floor and it was nice to have a small balcony. The room was spacious with a king size bed plus large sofa and good sized bathroom. Also good to have a fridge and microwave in the room.
Some signs of general ware and tare, but generally the place seemed clean and staff friendly.
The pool area also looked nice although we did not get chance to use.
On site parking was free and the location was pretty good, only a short walk to the boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyGarner1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent almost $200 a night for two nights in July to celebrate my sisters birthday. The rooms were really, really, bad......huge stains on the walls and carpets, thin walls, hard floors that were so dirty there were giant dust balls along all the walls, chipped paint, extremely dated furnishings and fixtures, mold in the bathrooms, no water pressure, etc. The pool looked gross and dirty, the common areas were filthy, breakfast was minimal. There was probably a 5x10 ft area in our hall where the carpet was removed and it was bare plywood with a mismatched, too small, carpet remnant on top. It was so bad that all we could do was joke about it. We would have not stayed the second night but there was some event going on and we literally couldn't get in anywhere else. At $200 a night, I would expect at least a clean room and common area. The manager was no help at all, unapologetic, and while he moved us to a different room for the second night it was in exactly the same condition and it didn't have a second bed, only some dirty, practically twin-sized pull out couch with the thinnest blanket ever. There must have been a second bed there at some point though bc the wall was filthy, had holes from the screws and the outline of the old bed frame visible. Do not recommend staying, even when desperate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Truckee
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I sent my daughter to Days Inn in Santa Cruz CA to stay for 3 nights while she attended her first week of college. The room was decent & the breakfast was convenient. The pool and jacuzzi were filthy and she did not feel safe in that particular part of town. Unfortunately, this hotel is a hang-out for teens in the area who are not guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#50 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Property: Hotel Solares
Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing