We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ghetto?????” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Solares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Solares
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Ghetto?????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My husaband and I stayed before when it was called Santa Cruz Beach Inn in 2011. We stayed in room 320 during March. It was nice
Because it was my birthday,I wanted to stay again on the 6/25 - 27/14. Now its Days Inn. I just knew it would be better since its now a well known chain. NOT!!!!
Days Inn should had never reopened until the place was remodeled.

Only positive: Double-balcolny
Negative: Fogged scratched sliding door, hair in tub and sink, some type of dried fluid stain on balcolny floor, refridgerator smelled, no plastic laundry bag, shower curtain dirty, plug outlet no cover, witnessed man snort coke or crank from out of his car trunk, police circling around and through hotel grounds. I explained to manager name Ash until they revitalize inn I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nunu8199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and we are sorry we were not able to provide you with a refreshing guest room. we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to discuss further. You can contact me scbeachinn@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    140
    164
    106
    122
See reviews for
363
119
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took the kids 2,4 &13yrs for my eldest son bday. We stayed at the days inn based in the location. It was about a minute car ride from the boardwalk. Upon arrival I was impressed with the exterior. I have never stayed at a days inn and to be honest I was not expecting much, however it looked really good. We checked in quickly and because they allow pets the hotel clerk advised it would be beet to stay on the second floor. (Guests with pets stay on the first floor I suppose) the noise was average, not too bad. The room was clean. For what we paid and the location, it was a good deal and I would stay there again. Also the pool was clean and not too packed. The kids had fun :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DIAMOND H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to provide you the comforts upon your request. We aim to make each guest experience a special one and we're honored that you were VERY happy with our services. We thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The staff was totally indifferent to any requests; I got bedbug bites; the room was dirty with food items on the floor left by the previous guests; the phone didn't work and despite numerous requests for a working phone, it never happened; not enough towels; no screen on slider to open for fresh air; and numerous other problems. This hotel should be shut down. Our stay was a major disappointment for what was to be a treat for my grandchildren.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash V, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. On behalf of myself and staff we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve on our future guests stay. We are currently in the process of remodeling our rooms. It is a slow process since we have to do a few at a time due to occupancy. At our establishment we do not have any bed bugs. Each room is throughly inspected and cleaned we also have a pest control specialist that comes to service our property twice a month. We have never recieved any complaints about bed bug bites.You stayed in your room for multiple nights and if you would have brought it to our attention during your stay we would have investigated and assessed the situation We hope that someday we may be able to improve on your impression of Days Inn Santa Cruz. Thanks again for your feedback. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
745 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We rolled into Santa Cruz without a reservation anywhere since we had bit been sure we would really spend the night here – even though I’d been planning to, and once there, we basically looked for the motel chain we usually stay at, but couldn’t find it … so we rolled knot the forecourt of the Days Inn, since it looked really good and it was within five minutes’’ walk from the Boardwalk and the beach – location perfect! It looked imposing from the road, large and new and shiny, very inviting. I couldn’t see any vacancy sign and went in to investigate. The lobby – which is also the breakfast area – looked upscale and inviting, and the staff at front desk were very welcoming and helpful, and five minutes later we were checked in. She had asked if we wanted downstairs, i.e. first floor, or an upper floor, and we opted for downstairs. The room was pleasantly furnished and featured all the usual amenities such as fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, microwave, etc. The TV was a large, modern flat screen, and wifi was excellent. After our experience in Santa Monica it felt like the royal suite at the Ritz – not that I’ve ever even been near that, but anyway. Large room, two comfy queens, all spic-and-span - perfect luxury at a reasonable rate. The bathroom was almost as large as our previous room in Santa Monica … We were very happy campers indeed!
There’s a pool in the interior courtyard, but we didn’t use that. The beds were extremely comfortable and the place was totally quiet at night. The breakfast buffet was very well stocked with loads of choices, even including waffles you could make yourself. I can most highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Property: Hotel Solares
Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing