We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ENJOYABLE, DELICIOUS LUNCH” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Limelight

Cafe Limelight
Ranked #125 of 368 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Quechee, Vermont
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“ENJOYABLE, DELICIOUS LUNCH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Pleasant surprise on Cedar Street in Santa Cruz CA. Nice furnishings and decor. Entrées, soups & salads were delicious. Nice selection of microbrews. Good service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Limelight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Happened into this low-key place on a weekend visit to Santa Cruz. It's really charming with a small menu of grilled sandwiches and salads. Very homey atmosphere and good service. I can't wait to go back and try more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buffi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food - slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This place serves panini almost exclusively. And the one I had was absolutely delicious. My companion's choice was also great. So the food really is top notch. The only negatives were that the appetizer came at the same time as the entrees, and the service, though really friendly, was very, very slow. Because we were having a leisurely lunch, it didn't really matter, but if you have a limited amount of time, I can see it not being the best choice. Still, the food is really, really good and the atmosphere is very nice, very cozy, and interesting. I really enjoyed this place and I intend to go back. I recommend it highly, although, as stated above, don't go there if you are in any kind of a hurry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Try the Hummus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Cafe Limelight is casual, intimate and funky. It's a bit like eating over at a friend's house. Always great jazz on the stereo. We have some favorite grilled sandwiches here, but we always get the house-made hummus. It's served with bell peppers, bread, carrots and cucumber. It so so good it's worth trying this place just for it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificAve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Caesar Salad in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

I fell in love with this place initially because of the unparalleled panini. I fell deeper in love when I realized that if you sit outside you can bring your dog and order a treat for your pet from a special dogs' menu. But it's the pace and friendliness of this restaurant that's so special. Owner Farouk likes to know his regular customers, and he greets you like family. Cozy seating, cool jazz, movie nights with a drop-down screen, and a personal touch all make this one of my favorite spots in Santa Cruz.

But it took me a while—I was distracted by the panini (especially the Cheddar, Onion and Cumin)—to find the hidden gems on the menu. The homemade hummus with pita and veggies is the best hummus I've ever had, by a wide margin. And the Caesar salad is a revelation. Farouk does a light dressing. There's nothing heavy or mayo-y or out-of-a-bottle here. He shaves the cheese, so you get big surface area and therefore big flavor on your tongue. And the croutons (panini-grilled wedges of bread, thin and perfect) are rubbed with fresh garlic for a giant burst of flavor. You should absolutely try this place if you haven't already.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KOtraveler234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Limelight also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Limelight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing