We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BAD OWNER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BAD OWNER”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The good part is that there is a tiny view of the ocean but only in specific rooms. I also unlike some like the fact that it is an old building with floors that lean in different directions. The problem I had was the management. We had a TV in the bedroom and in the living room, only the living room worked. The one in the bedroom had a problem and when we reported it the owner not just someone who worked there but the actual owner she acted like we were crazy and it was clear she thought we didn't know what we were talking about. She reluctantly had her husband come and check it and he supposedly fixed it. When we returned to the room that evening we checked and it seemed to work so we went about our way and when it was time to go to bed the TV came on but it was very fuzzy and the remote wouldn't control the TV. When we checked out again we told the guy at the counter (now a worker not the owner) and he said he would pass on the message but seemed to also be very disinterested. While driving home I received a voicemail from the owner telling me we had it on radio and not TV so that was the problem (calling me a liar or an idiot not sure which). I left another message for the owner and as yet have not heard back from her. Also the parking was not great. I would not go back again nor recommend this place because the cost was way too high for what you get.

Room Tip: Do not bring a lot of stuff, you will likely have to carry it (and not easliy roll it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
We're sorry you were dissatisfied in your stay. We have fixed the television issue. Our property is definitely not your average "cookie-cutter" hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    63
    36
    22
    23
See reviews for
94
121
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Everything about this place is AMAZING! We loved the private little cottage like rooms, which were equipped with literally everything you could need. Great location, close to the boardwalk and Capitola, very nice owners, right by the beach... I mean what more could you ask for? Our only wish was that we had a few more days to spend there.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that there would be a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniffer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thanks so much for your review! Next time stay a little longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Maybe we got our hopes up after reading the wonderful reviews. Granted we had one of the smaller and cheaper rooms, it was tucked away in a long, narrow hallway. The bathroom was very cold and dated. Up a couple steps was the sitting area with an old futon, chairs and table, mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Then, the bedroom with tv. The bed was comfy.

The continental breakfast was slim pickings. It was in a room no bigger than our bathroom and consisted of bagels, yogurt, bread, apples and bananas. No where to sit unless you wanted to carry you food outside and around the corner to the patio.

The place wasn't bad, but for what we payed(170 US dollars taxes in) we expected a lot more. Overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we're sorry we didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This was the second time I have stayed here with with girlfriend for our anniversary. The owners seem to take a lot of pride in this place and it shows. I was greeted with a smile and even introduced to his wife, who was doing some landscaping work on the property.

The cottage we stayed in was very very nice. The ceiling was high which made the room feel much larger and it had a full kitchen which we used to cook a meal for the evening. The grounds were pretty quit even with some remodeling they were doing.

The only thing about the room which was a miss was the shower. It was an older unit, with the shower head not beng very adjustable and the water pressure very high, which led to the hot water running out in about 5 mintes or so.

The Location is perfect. It's off the beaten path and is right next to a great beach that many people and tourists don't know about. You can sometimes lay out there all by yourself and it is legal to make a fire at night if you'd like.

Overall I will definitely make it out here again for a 3rd trip when heading to Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Make sure to check the site before booking so you can see the exact cottage or room you are getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marino209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thanks so much for review! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Ocean Echo Inn, just steps away from the beach and tide pools. The location was perfect and so much more affordable than other hotels near the beach. We loved having a refridgerator and small kitchen. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

As part of our very last minute Valentine's Day wknd travel plans, we booked this small hotel for 2 nights. Based on the reviews I'd read, I kept my expectations at a minumum since the reviews were so mixed. However, we were very pleased with our stay! The location is great: not too close to the hustle of the touristy boardwalk/wharf/downtown SC, but still a short drive away should you want to visit those areas. The best part of the location is its a stone's throw away from a small beach. it's lovely :) Also this is walking distance to 2 cute eateries: Star Bene and this adorable cafe housed in a Dutch Windmill shaped building.

Our room was expectedly small (just like the pictures on the internet) but it was perfectly fine to sleep. They provide continental breakfast of bagels, croissants, cream cheese, and some fruit. Just enough to kick start your day.

If you are looking for something affordable and comfortable, with a little character, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelHaze16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

We recently visited for my Bday, & we had a great stay.

We stayed in cottage #4 & over all, it was ok. The hot water kept turning on & off, so we had to shower really fast, & keep the water indirectly on us. Also, the duvet had, what I hope was, chocolate on it. But the managers were really nice & switched it out for us right away.

The cottage was roomy & had a full kitchen, which would come in handy if we stayed more than a cpl days, to save on eating out.

The closeness to Sunny Cove & the uniqueness of Ocean Echo will bring me back, even w/the little bumps we had this time. The managers Mark & Betty are awesome & really seem to care about us & our visit!

Thanx for a a wonderful Bday!! I can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bibliomommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thanks for your review! So glad you chose to celebrate your birthday with us!
See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
2.0 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.9 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Property: Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing