We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Islander Motel(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
211
70
40
22
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
70
40
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbagels and cream cheesesunny coveprivate beachnice deckfull kitchenpatio furniturecontinental breakfastsmall kitchenhome away from homebed was very comfortablecapitolaunitboardwalkpulloutmotelproximity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our cottage was so great, we didn't want to leave! Our view while having breakfast each morning was so wonderfull. The beach was so close and very private, just perfect. We were minutes from downtown and the Boardwalk we were able to go have fun, come back and rest and go right back out again! Will definately come back and this time we might even bring our extended family.

Room Tip: Cottage 3 has the best view of the ocean. Very quiet and away from other cottages. Felt like we were all alone.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you again for choosing Ocean Echo Inn for your stay in Santa Cruz. We look forward to having you and your extended family as our guests in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The property itself was very well kept and gave a comfortable, homey feel, however, it was Paul and Candace that made this gem really shine. They gave superior customer service and really worked with us when we had flight delays and arrived a day later than expected. There is a large deck facing the beach that is a perfect common area. Our large group spent most of our spare time hanging out together on the deck. There was a filling continental breakfast that made getting up and out in the mornings so easy. The beach is right there and Paul was helpful in directing us towards some other fun sightseeing spots such as Capitola and the Boardwalk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

It was a pleasure having you as our guests, and that you had an enjoyable experience. Please let us know when your future travel plans include Santa Cruz, as we would be glad to accommodate your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Echo is well priced and located "50 steps" from the beach. Is a short drive from the downtown area where there are restaurants and movie theater. Well located to allow scenic drives to other points of interest. You can hear the sound of the surf as you fall asleep and smell the ocean breeze when you wake. The grounds are well maintained and the back patio has a lovely view from the deck, where you can chat with the wonderful hosts Candy and Tony. You can get a good espresso or cup of coffee at the Windmill cafe, two blocks away.

Room Tip: Stay in room 14 for the best price. It's small but you won't there much because you'll be at the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Ocean Echo Inn. Please let us know if your future travel plans include Santa Cruz, as we would love to have you as our guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I spent the night of September 14, 2013, and enjoyed our stay. We would readily stay here again. Paul and his wife, the managers, were very nice and helpful in pointing out directions and things to do to make our visit pleasant. We were in town to visit the Capitola Art and Wine Festival. This Inn was an easy drive to that event and also an easy drive to the Boardwalk and Yacht Harbor, both of which we visited. Our room was clean and comfortable, very basic, and had a small kitchenette and flat screen tv. It is part of an early 1900's farmhouse that has been restored. We enjoyed an afternoon bottle of wine on the patio while visiting with other guests. There is a continental type breakfast offered, with bagels, yogurt, and fruit. This place is nice in that it has close access to a small sandy beach that is only about 100 yards away. It is also quiet and does not have the all night yelling and noise that one may have to put up with when staying at motels near the Boardwalk.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We very much enjoyed having you as our guests, and your positive comments about our property, location and accommodations. Please come back to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Pros: The Ocean Echo Inn sit on a great property and wonderful beach location away from the hustle and bustle of Downtown Santa Cruz. It is in quiet residential surroundings. I stayed in Room 4 which was supposed to be one of the two best rooms. The Cons: It is very dated and not worth the $245 we paid each night. Yes there was a basic kitchen, a deck and a grilling area (charcoal, bring your own). Because it is so dated I am sure it is difficult to keep it clean. However, no excuse.
My understanding by the managers, Mark and Betty, who departed last week, was that this place is owned by three generation hoteliers in Santa Cruz. They should be reassessing how much they charge and invest in the place. The inside furniture is sparse,the patio furniture is all mismatched and essentially rusted, the bathrooms dirty.

My biggest disappointment is all the great reviews on this site which was my deciding factor. I usually find reviewers more accurate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We regret that your experience here at Ocean Echo had both positive and negative aspects. As new Managers, our goal is to provide the ultimate in guest service, and to also ensure that even though the property is older, that it is well-maintained, and most importantly, impeccably clean.
As we are in the process of extensive upgrading and updating the entire property, we would be pleased to have you as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews