We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet family get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed one night in December with our daughter, niece, and puppy. The manager, Paul, was kind and thoughtful. He surprised our girls with a baking tray full of cookies to be baked, which we baked in our full kitchen and enjoyed as a late-night snack! The beach/cove is lovely - we were among only a few people there. The continental breakfast was just enough with bagels & cream cheese, yogurt, and fruit. The only suggestion I would have is to offer some good-quality coffee as well. Down the road a short walk is a Hawaiian place with tasty poke. The girls were so thrilled with the cottage (the cookies, their trundle bed, the wooden ceiling, the beach) that they spent a good deal of time fantasizing about living there. They even wrote Paul a thank you note - without any grown-up prodding. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - your positive comments are very much appreciated. Our goal, as managers, is to anticipate and accommodate the individual needs of each guest. Your parenting skills are to be admired, as your children were very polite and thoughtful. We hope to have you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Went overnight in Mid-November. Loved the individual cottages-very quaint. So close to the secluded beach. Good Italian restaurant nearby. Reasonable prices, friendly helpful staff. Beautiful view of the ocean while eating breakfast on the deck.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for the review - our secret is out! Glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had an amazing experience at the cottage! Everyone was so nice and friendly. They gave us a free upgrade to one of their sweets for our honeymoon, the rooms were so cute,Quiet and very clean. We will definitely be coming back for our anniversary next year <3

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We are so happy that you chose Ocean Echo Inn to spend your Honeymoon, and that you had an enjoyable experience. Congratulations again, and we look forward to having you back as our guests to celebrate your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our cottage was so great, we didn't want to leave! Our view while having breakfast each morning was so wonderfull. The beach was so close and very private, just perfect. We were minutes from downtown and the Boardwalk we were able to go have fun, come back and rest and go right back out again! Will definately come back and this time we might even bring our extended family.

Room Tip: Cottage 3 has the best view of the ocean. Very quiet and away from other cottages. Felt like we were...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you again for choosing Ocean Echo Inn for your stay in Santa Cruz. We look forward to having you and your extended family as our guests in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The property itself was very well kept and gave a comfortable, homey feel, however, it was Paul and Candace that made this gem really shine. They gave superior customer service and really worked with us when we had flight delays and arrived a day later than expected. There is a large deck facing the beach that is a perfect common area. Our large group spent most of our spare time hanging out together on the deck. There was a filling continental breakfast that made getting up and out in the mornings so easy. The beach is right there and Paul was helpful in directing us towards some other fun sightseeing spots such as Capitola and the Boardwalk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

It was a pleasure having you as our guests, and that you had an enjoyable experience. Please let us know when your future travel plans include Santa Cruz, as we would be glad to accommodate your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Echo is well priced and located "50 steps" from the beach. Is a short drive from the downtown area where there are restaurants and movie theater. Well located to allow scenic drives to other points of interest. You can hear the sound of the surf as you fall asleep and smell the ocean breeze when you wake. The grounds are well maintained and the back patio has a lovely view from the deck, where you can chat with the wonderful hosts Candy and Tony. You can get a good espresso or cup of coffee at the Windmill cafe, two blocks away.

Room Tip: Stay in room 14 for the best price. It's small but you won't there much because you'll...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chloesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Ocean Echo Inn. Please let us know if your future travel plans include Santa Cruz, as we would love to have you as our guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I spent the night of September 14, 2013, and enjoyed our stay. We would readily stay here again. Paul and his wife, the managers, were very nice and helpful in pointing out directions and things to do to make our visit pleasant. We were in town to visit the Capitola Art and Wine Festival. This Inn was an easy drive to that event and also an easy drive to the Boardwalk and Yacht Harbor, both of which we visited. Our room was clean and comfortable, very basic, and had a small kitchenette and flat screen tv. It is part of an early 1900's farmhouse that has been restored. We enjoyed an afternoon bottle of wine on the patio while visiting with other guests. There is a continental type breakfast offered, with bagels, yogurt, and fruit. This place is nice in that it has close access to a small sandy beach that is only about 100 yards away. It is also quiet and does not have the all night yelling and noise that one may have to put up with when staying at motels near the Boardwalk.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanEcho, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We very much enjoyed having you as our guests, and your positive comments about our property, location and accommodations. Please come back to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
2.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,716 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
2.0 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
2.2 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £137 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing