We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would do it again no question”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice relaxing place with a great view. Love the people who run it and if you love Santa Cruz this is the place to stay. The managers are your very realistic true Santa Cruz people who make sure your comfortable and walked personally to your room. The rooms are comfy affordable and lovely. The view from the deck is gorgeous and you are only steps from being in that view itself.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diannepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Quiet, spotless. Friendly staff. Dog friendly too! Tight parking lot. A little bit funky, but in a good way. The cove about 100' from our room was really great for a bonfire or playing fetch with the dog.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Glad you had a good time - see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked cottage #2 for my husband and I and our adult daughter. The room was very small and "tired" in terms of decor. Clearly has not been renovated. A bit drab. It has character and a lot of potential but for the price, I was disappointed in the moldy caulking in the shower, the shower door wouldn't close all the way, dirty baseboards in the bathroom and the towels barely fit around our bodies. The location was very good and the grounds are nice with two different decks to sit. The cove is just down the steps and a short walk, and you can hear the waves ceasing which is lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are in the process of remodeling all our rooms - it's quite a task! We do have new furniture on order for all our rooms and that should be delivered in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I and small dog stayed here for 7 nights in recently remodeled cottage 16, which lives like a studio apartment. The room felt "beachy" with lighter wood laminate floors, new white cabinetry and a calming light blue wall color. We utilized the adequately equipped kitchenette to make coffee in the morning, toast our complimentary bagels, heat up leftovers, etc. I was thrilled to have a gas stove, which worked great! The dining table and chairs also doubled as a nice work space to set up my laptop and I enjoyed sitting at the bay window seat where I could catch a glimpse of the ocean while I was working. The complimentary wireless service also worked fine. The queen bed was OK, but seemed more like a bed in a friend's guest room than what you would expect to find in a motel/hotel. Linens were nice and clean but bathroom toiletries and towels are basic (no frills). TV cable was basic and I would like to see the owners upgrade the TVs to flat panel at some point. However, we did not come to Santa Cruz to watch TV, LOL! This is an older inn and the room sizes are not that big so I think the proprietors could add some hooks in the bathroom and near the bed/closet area for hanging clothing, towels, etc. I also noticed there was no artwork on the wall. Some beach themed artwork would be a nice plus. There also was not a full length mirror, which is a pet peeve of mine when staying in hotels/motels. I think that is more of a female thing though. The proprietors live on site and they were busily working on this place, in the process of updating other rooms. They were very hands on and helped us locate a safe place on the deck where we could lock up our two bikes. The deck area is also equipped with a grill and tables, which would be nice to use on a warm day. Unfortunately the weather was cool and rainy for a few days of our stay so we did not get to take advantage of this amenity. Sunny Cove Beach is a few steps away and you can hear the ocean at night; and we also noticed it is quite popular for beach "bonfires". The daily breakfast offerings of bagels and cream cheese, blueberry bread, and fruit were a good supplement to the other food we brought with us. The Ocean Echo is conveniently located an easy 10 minute bike ride/3 minute drive to Pleasure Point beaches for surfing and a little further into Capitola. The Yacht Harbor and West Side Santa Cruz (Steamer Lane/lighthouse Field, Boardwalk) are all within 5-15 minutes. If you are looking for a small inn that has pet friendly rooms and don't want to stay along the busy Ocean St/Boardwalk cooridor, this is a good choice. Also, it is a perfect location between East Side and West Side surfing beaches and a very convenientarea for bike riding. We were able to park right in front of our room and there is even an outside water source for hosing off wetsuits, sandy stuff, etc. This place is homey, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different here so it may help to call the owners if you are unsure. They helpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfandturf65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review and suggestions! As part of our remodel, we will be adding flat screens TV's to all our rooms, artwork and full-length mirrors in some of the rooms. Sorry we couldn't do anything about the weather, but glad you enjoyed yourselves anyway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the Echo Inn last weekend and booked the family cottage # 4 as we were 3 people total (1 couple, 1 single). We paid $311 for the night and here is what we found: a dirty tiny filthy bathroom with mold everywhere, a hole in one of the walls filled with toilet paper, no tissue, 2 small cheap soaps, no shower gel, old shower fixtures that don't cover the sprouts holes and leak all night long, very little water pressure, dirty dishes that we had to wash before using, greasy walls behind the stove, etc... The disappointment continued the following morning when we headed the "continental" breakfast that consists of bananas, apples, oranges and 2 kind of bagels, pre portioned cream cheese cups, 2 types of coffees and that's it. No tea, no juices, no muffins, no cookies, no cereals and all this in a tiny space where we cannot even fit 6 people. I have stayed at many other B&Bs before but never ever have I been so disappointed. This is a shame because the location is great and with attention to details and attentive management, this place could be a gem. I would not recommend this place to anyone and strongly encourage the current management upgrade their rooms or at least clean them thoroughly. It is concerning to me that they weren't even able to provide any restaurant recommendations other than one restaurant with which they had an ad for at the front desk.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Laure C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

We are so sorry for your disappointment in our property. We are in the process of renovating all our rooms - we have about half of them completed. As you pointed out, our breakfast area is small, so there really isn't room to add the food items you mentioned. Our continental breakfast is just that, not a full breakfast.

There are several restaurants we recommend, some within walking distance. We really strive for excellent guest relations - we're sorry we disappointed you in that regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this little "gem by the sea" in beautiful Santa Cruz, CA, or, to be precise, a little out of Santa Cruz in the community of Twin Lakes. Mark & Betty Sloan, the managers, are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Some of the rooms are small, others much larger but more expensive. Our room was small but well-equipped and comfortable, and clean. We liked it. The only "issue" we had was the very strong smell in the bathroom. We don't know where it came from, but it was a little overwhelming. We did not mention this to the managers, and we probably should have.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcocdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant odor - turns out we had a leak in the manager's apartment, which is right below the room you stayed in. The plumber has fixed the problem, so now all you can smell is the wonderful scent of the ocean! We certainly would have changed your room had we known you were uncomfortable. Next time you visit we'll take extra special care of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a one-star hotel. The value, however, is zero-star. We stayed once in a worse hotel, for about $50 for one night. This cost $234.60 for one night.

We stayed in Cottage #5, for which we paid extra. We were told that it was one of the best cottages.

We thought we might be in trouble when we were required to pay upon arrival, before we spent the night or even saw the cottage. We were pretty sure we were in trouble when we saw the following on one of the receipts: "Notice to guests ... Advance Payment Required ... NO REFUND," along with a list of nine things for which we could be charged extra (one of them was "extremely soiled towels ... $25.00 each and up"). We knew we were in trouble when we were led to the cottage and told "The heater works really well!"

The first two things we noticed in the cottage were the dreadful musty odor and the cheap, worn, dirty carpet -- a ghastly striped thing, perhaps an unsaleable remnant of some kind. The next thing we noticed was that the floor in the entry room sloped down from the other two rooms, and also down toward the door.

The grout in the kitchen is very dirty. One and a half of the walls in the kitchen are outside walls made of brick, painted to match the rest of the kitchen. There is a plumbing advertisement on the outside of the refrigerator.

In the bedroom, the ceiling is made of attractive varnished wood. White paint from the walls is slopped onto it. There is an exterminator record in the closet.

The bathroom has no counter and no storage space of any kind, not even a medicine cabinet. There is a small window in the bathroom, but no fan.

The hotel serves a "continental breakfast" in the morning: croissants and bagels, but no coffee. Management says there is no room for coffee on the table that carries the breakfast (not even for one coffee pot?) and that guests should drink the coffee that is in their rooms -- two tiny packets.

As we were leaving, one of the managers saw a stray dog and asked if the dog was ours. We said no. My wife picked the dog up and walked down the street to find its owner. The manager asked me a second time -- even though we had already answered -- was the dog ours? After my wife found the owner, gave her the dog, and came back, I remembered the list of nine extra things for which we could be charged extra. It included $100 per night for any pet that we had not declared.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else! We will next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Private99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are truly sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Our rooms are not "cookie-cutter" standard rooms and obviously not for everyone. We are in the process of renovating all our rooms and have addressed some of the items you mentioned with our contractor.

Our breakfast area is small, as I'm sure you noticed. However, we are going to purchase a machine that uses individual packets of coffee, so it shouldn't take up to much space. Thanks for your input on that!

Also, thanks for rescuing the stray dog!

We hope you would visit us again -we strive for excellent guest service and ambiance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
2.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,788 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
2.0 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £135 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing