We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Pictures are deceiving - room was run down - stayed in house - bathroom was moldy - cost was too high for the room we stayed in. Could not recommend the place based on one stay in an old run down room.

Room Tip: Check with management to ensure you get newer rooms mentioned by other reviewers - we got an old roo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We sure are sorry you were disappointed in your stay - we hope you'll give us a try again. In one of our remodeled rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Will definitely stay again, the beach by the cottages was crowded so we went to twin beach about three minutes away. It was a dog friendly beach and was really nice. The Managers were very nice at Ocean Echo!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joedianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Glad you and your pup had a good time - our location is great with so many beaches to choose from. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Homey, Quaint and comfy. Clean and remodeled. Kitchens are awesome to have. This is a unique experience as we are sick of the commercialized hotels. The staff is very friendly. There's a private cove that is awesome for building fires. We paid $135 for a very comfortable bed. Plan on going downtown for breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Baldzicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a the newly renovated room. Mark, the Manager, has a nice personal touch. Very clean and quaintly decorated. We also had a new king size bed in our room You can't beat it for the money. Also, very close to a little beach cove you can walk to for sunsets, etc.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Zicker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We're so glad you had a great time - and slept well on our brand new Euro Top mattress!!! See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect Location, Very Clean, Comfy Bed, Beautiful View, & Best off all the Managers were extremely kind & helpful with anything we needed. We plan on defiantly coming back here many more times in the future !

A Special Thank you Mark for Everything. Your kindness & Great Accommodation made our stay at your Cottage a great Experience overall. You are the Best!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Leapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We really liked the place, cottage 6 was just what we needed, close to the beach. Great service, the room had a kitchen and had everything, just bring your own condiments. I will recommend this place to my friends.



  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yessicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay! We'll look into the problem with the heater. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We made last-minute plans to go away for Memorial Day weekend. We just needed a place for one night, near the beach, with enough space for my family of 5. Ocean Echo had a cottage available. They were willing to waive the 2-night minimum for us. Better experience than what it would have been at a typical motel, which cost the same for that weekend. The ping pong table was a hit for our kids!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3monkeysCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty S, Manager at Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We're so glad you had a good time! The ping pong table sure was good investment! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
2.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,716 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
2.0 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
2.2 mi away
Capitola Hotel
Capitola Hotel
#1 of 4 in Capitola
304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £137 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing