We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay ever experienced.”
Review of Motel Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel Santa Cruz
Ranked #54 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My partner and I (lesbian couple) stayed here with her two younger sisters this past weekend. This was our first time to Santa Cruz for all of us. This motel put a damper on our trip to say the least. We checked in and we were given our ration of towels (only 2). Our room had two queen beds both of which had stained mattresses and heavily soiled bedding. After two nights there some of us left with itchy skin and a light rash. No one dared sit on the couch in the room due to the visible stains. The shower ran with luke warm water barely hot enough to shower in. With the exception of a few small bars of soap and toilet paper, no toiletries were provided. No Shampoo. No hair dryer. No bath mat. Room included a refrigerator and a microwave but no coffee maker. The carpet looked like it may have recently been placed in the room but it was left unfinished. The end of the carpet didn't have the metal strip that finishes the project leaving the ends frayed. The room had an 18-20" television paired with a remote that had tape wrapped around it in place of the plastic that held the batteries in the remote. I know these are small tedious things but aside from all of this I was genuinely concerned for our safety during our stay. Across the street is a 7-11 which is convenient but attracts very sketchy characters. Plastered on the glass of the 7-11 are signs indicating patrons must remove their hoods upon entering. Many different people walking around looked like heavy drug users. Witnessed a full on drug deal in broad day light. I'm pretty certain there was a young prostitute working the motel who moved between different rooms. Our first morning there we woke up to the motel staff (I assume management or owners) acting like the gestapo knocking on doors reminding patrons check out was promptly at 11. They approached our neighbors who apparently had more guests than they originally checked in with were reprimanded by the staff knocking on the doors. The walls were paper thin. Some of the rooms used to be suites but were converted into two smaller rooms creating a small hallway for some of the corner rooms to be shared with the neighbors. This was one of our rooms and the hallway creates a magnification in noise. I woke up several times late at night thinking someone was attempting to enter our room. My girlfriend pokes fun at me insisting we weren't at the Bates Motel but in my opinion our stay at this motel wasn't very short of a nightmare. It is very clear the owners of this hotel are cheap and try to cut corners with their rooms. Definitely not worth the money. Definitely would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mel0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

Wow I wish I had seen this review before I booked my room. I just want to start by saying I travel 6 to 7 months out of the year. I look for inexpensive rooms because we are staying for work. THIS IS BY FAR THE WORST HOTEL EVER! I have never complained before so Im dead serious on this hotel. I had the same experiance as some of the other guest I just read about. 1. Blood on the sheets 2. No wash clothes, 1 towel. 3. No remotes 4. Smelly rooms 5. Kids hanging out side our room drinking beer asking us to buy them more ( we didnt) 6. No micro wave or fridge in rooms, when brought to the attention of the front desk we had to look in 5 rooms, non had both so they told me to go ahead AND CARRY them from the rooms into ours. Once I did this I looked in the microwave and it was so filthy I wouldnt use it. 7. Broken Floor tiles in room 8. Vinly in bathroom all cracked and broken holding Im sure a ton of bacteria. 9. No soap, shampoo, tissues 10, Walls were completely filthy . We had originaly checked in for 2 rooms 2 nights. After seeing the rooms I asked for a refund and wanted to leave. They would only let me out of the second night. The ice machine COST YOU 50 cents to use it! While I was looking for microwaves with the front desk girl some of her friends came up started to talk to her and ended the conversation with "we are going to go smoke a joint we will be back in a few." Please save your self from this motel. We ended up going to The Continential that is literally across the street and OMG it is SO MUCH BETTER! We stayed at Motel Santa Cruz because we had pets (that we had to take home because its so hard to find a motel here that allows them. I did find one called National 9 that seemed ok but havent stayed there) But Im so much happier at Continential Inn (the remodeled side)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rainside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We reserved 2 rooms for 5 people. Both rooms have dirty window, broken window shields and broken floor tiles with stains. Obvious stains on walls and mold spots seen on the chairs. Black stains shown inside the toilet bowls with old toilet seats looked dirty even if they were clean. I found hair on the wall in one bathtub. We need to pick up towels and bed sheets from the office. Only shower towels available , no wash cloth or hand towels. Pillows are long used and flat and misshaped. Pillow cases are old and stained. Both shower towels and bed sheets are with stained spots. No shampoo provided except a couple of small piece of cheap soap. The ice cube machine was old and the area around it is dirty all over with some water dripping from the bottom of the machine. We finally gave up to get ice cubes cuz there is no ice cube container to be found. The spot for facial tissue box are emptied and rusted in both room. Bed sheets are too small to cover the queen size beds in one room ( the other room is 2 double beds) that allowed us to see the sides of the beds with gross dark brown stains all over. I found my bed sheet with stained spots and brought this to office's attention. A maid showed up later with another bed sheet. When she saw the stained bed sheet on one of the beds, she explained: "Oh, this is okay ... it's just form (chewing) gum."
Parking spaces are too small for today's SUV or Vans and unclearly marked. Late arrivals parked anywhere they found and that make the other drivers very difficult to get out in the morning. When we brought this to their attention and we were told "parked at your own risk."
Rooms are badly insulated - we heard someone's loudly barfing in the trash can on the hallway by the stairs 2am in the morning the first night, We saw the barfing stuff over the stairs and in- and outside of the trash can the next morning. The trash can was not removed till the 3rd morning. The barfing stuff still stayed on the stairs untouched when we checked out the 3rd day. We had to suffer the gross each time when we used the stairs. We could clearly hear the neighbor's flushing toilet all time and were awaken by neighbors' taking shower 3 or 4 o'clock in the morning. We also could clearly hear other people's conversation in the hallway or down at parking lot from our rooms. I could barely sleep both nights.
One of my children got 3 bites by bug. 2 were on her neck and 1 on her right hand. The one on her right hand swollen like a ping pong ball size the next morning. We ran to get neosporin and cortizone for the pain and itchy she suffered but did not work. The same night we came back to Los Angeles, we had to take her to emergency room and she was diagnosed "Cellulitis." Per Emergency room doctor, we were risking to lose her right hand and wrist since this kind of disease could be spread quick and easily.
This motel has a good location to many places. A 7-11 where we conveniently purchased the facial tissue and paper towels. But local buses contributed some noise. One of the 3 staff in the office made an effort to meet all of our requests with nice smile. We appreciated her positive attitude.
Overall, this is a cheap, not well-maintained motel with a Four Seasons Hotel charge. The pictures posted on their website are simply a facade.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tygre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Friendly check in and decent locations, BUT, this place is rough. Battered furnishings, sheets too small ending up in wad exposing gross bare mattress, stains on towels (before I got there), leak in roof allowing water to fill globe in light fixture which then dripped down on bed, window showed evidence of repeated break ins, and very creepy clientele. Creepy people constantly lurking in parking lot, and very loud neighbors up all night yelling in and out of room. Free broadband, but slow at times.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingMan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze a piano terra sono pericolose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abo717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: tutte le stanze sono pessime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simona d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreaTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#34 of 54 in Santa Cruz
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.1 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#30 of 54 in Santa Cruz
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Santa Cruz

Address: 370 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-7210
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £52 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel Santa Cruz 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing