We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You had me at Lindor”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adobe on Green Street Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“You had me at Lindor”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

What a place, loved it so much. We entered the door to find a basket of Lindor chocolates,fresh flowers, refreshments in the fridge, and fresh cut flowers in our room. All green bath products, a super comfortable bed, speakers for our iPod, everything anyone would need. My husband enjoyed his bath in the jetted tub. My only regret is that I did not stay for 2 nights. It was very quiet and so spacious. The breakfast was super with organic yogurt, berries and fresh scones, great herbal teas and bird watching. I loved this place and will recommend it to anyone visiting the area. We ate at Oswalds and it was a great place to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunscreen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
166
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Loved staying at Adobe! It was amazing value at £85 including a delicious breakfast consisting of freshly baked blueberry scones (which were amazing)
Bagels, cereal, fruit etc!
Lovely coffee and juice!
You could help yourself to soft drinks from the fridge! The grounds were so peaceful and the whole set up was great!
Ate in Soif restaurant which is worth a visit!
Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granthannahbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Adobe on Green Street is a great find for several reasons. First, the location. Although the B&B is just an easy five minute stroll from downtown Santa Cruz, it feels like it's a world away. Nestled at the top of a long drive way not even visible from the street, it's a garden paradise with beautifully maintained gardens and lots of places to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and soak up the nature around you. The building itself is lovely and inviting and the interior is stylishly understated. We stayed in the Mission Room. It was spotless, attractive and the bed was a dream. And with a dinnerplate dahlia in a vase on the desk, well, I've stayed at many B&Bs and this one really surpassed my expectations. The serve yourself buffet style breakfast was hearty and was made even more enjoyable by the fact that there was no communal table. So, for someone like me who would prefer not to sit with strangers and make conversation, I was very relieved. Plus, guests have access to the kitchen and can store snacks or whatever in their fridge. The only downside to staying here would be if you are the sort of person who likes to be doted on, who wants to be greeted upon arrival and yearns for a warm exchange with attentive hosts, this is NOT your place. The Adobe on Green Street provides a plethora of information in your room and in the living room about Santa Cruz -- from activities, to restaurant reviews to where to hike and even the wineries. But you aren't going to find the owner of the B&B hovering around making sure your every need is met. I loved that aspect of our stay, but if you want that, the Adobe on Green Street is not for you. But if you want a spotless, lovely room that's thoughtfully appointed in a garden oasis that centrally located that respects your privacy and independence, this B&B is for you.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be on the small side for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed here on my way to a summer dance camp up in the redwoods. The B&B is very beautiful, soft warm colors, charming rooms and public areas, very sunny breakfast area, and lovely quiet garden with a fountain. From here it was just a few blocks to the old town, a very easy walk. My room featured a whirlpool tub which I took full advantage of. The restaurant recommendations were much appreciated. The only thing that was a bit strange was that I never saw the owners - this was a surprise. They explained in their guestbook that they liked to give their guests their privacy. I can understand this, but I would have liked to have met them.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tndancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling from LA to San Francisco on honeymoon. We arrived and were just stunned by how beautiful the house is.

Our room was large and comfortable and the shower was devine. It focuses on being as eco friendly as possible which was fantastic.

The owners have decided to remain out of sight. They like the guests to feel at home and not have to engage in the mundane small talk that can often happen with B&B owners. For us this was perfect. We did however wish to contact them and when we called they answered immediately, so although they aren't physically present at the house, they are a phone call away, and i'm sure would be immediately on hand if needed to be.

In truth we weren't much for Santa Cruz as a place, and therefore we returned back to the B&B where we decided to order a take away. it was lovely. It felt like our house. We didn't see anyone else, we sat on the patio area with a bottle of wine, and waited for our food to arrive. We relaxed in the living room and read the magazines, books and guides that were provided.

Breakfast was simple, but fresh good quality produce.

This place was an absolute delight and my only disappoint was, that i couldn't spend another night there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Weegiewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our second visit here and now we are spoiled for other B&Bs. I wish there were places like this wherever we travel, but we haven't found any others. No overly-chatty innkeepers, tons of privacy, healthy fresh breakfast, subtle and understated decor, no doillies or fru-fru, and the most awesome beds. After our stay a few years ago we asked the owners about the beds they use. We ended up getting one for ourselves at home. Heaven, and no more sore hips in the morning. This place is the only place away from home where I sleep like I do in my own bed. Our second night we walked to Malabar Restaurant for dinner. Amazing vegetarian Sri Lankan food. Like nothing we have ever had before. Thank you Adobe for a dreamy birthday weekend!

Room Tip: We love the Retreat room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Beautiful old home and grounds. Loved having the fireplace on with the windows open. It felt likeit was our own home, we ran into other people only twice on our weekend stay. Walking distance to downtown Santa Cruz! Breakfast was very light but nice to eat in the sun.
Would have given 5 stars except I found the beds uncomfortable and small . Also our second night, there was a huge party next door..remember adobe is just a house backed up to other houses. The party was SO loud and it was inconvenient to not have staff to call. We did find a number for Santa Cruz PD, but felt silly calling. SCPD ended up showing up around 2am to silence the party.
Overall, definitely a nice relaxing place to stay! Very beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesikitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Babbling Brook Inn
Babbling Brook Inn
#1 of 15 in Santa Cruz
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe on Green Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe on Green Street Inn

Property: Adobe on Green Street Inn
Address: 103 Green St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-3723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms: 4, Wifi: Free, Beds: Queens, Parking: On-site, Breakfast: No Breakfast, Minimum Stay: 3 nights, - The Best Location in Santa Cruz. Perched on a hill three blocks from downtown shops, restaurants, cafes, and cinemas. The atmosphere is restful and richly understated. We strive to keep our guests feeling nurtured by the comfort, the decor, and the amenities we offer. Those who find us usually wish they could stay longer. Every room at the Adobe has a beautiful private bathroom. Every room is tastefully decorated with art and antiques, and features a DVD player. Every room features hand made natural latex beds for the best night's rest. Off street parking and an off the street location makes your stay easy and very quiet. We specialize in casual comfort, privacy, and beautiful surroundings. The Adobe on Green Street is a cross between a charming country Inn and a sophisticated urban boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adobe On Green Street Bed And Breakfast
Adobe On Green Street Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing