We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazed each time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adobe on Green Street Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazed each time”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We visited the Adobe for the third time and find ourselves staying a bit longer each time. We continue to be amazed about how quiet, beautiful, and stylish it is. The rooms are unique, well-equipped, and just extremely welcoming. The gardens are a paradise of peace with beautiful flowers and birds. The breakfast is good, organic and fresh. The location could not be better; close to downtown SC, but in a quiet neighborhood. Without putting any more adverbs in here: the Adobe is simply the best B&B we've ever been to and we are very thankful for finding a place that perfectly fits our idea of a perfect holiday retreat.

Green Features: This B&B does everything green and organic. They prioritize in using green energy and actively recycle. Their plants are fed with their own compost. There is not an opportunity that the owners have not already used to stay green.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
167
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Originally I had planned to write a scathing review of this place. My first morning I sat at a table overlooking the gardens, watching a squirrel try to get into one of the bird feeders. Another couple sat across from me and we complained about the fact that the owners never interacted with the guests and that there was no one to answer questions. They were looking forward to my negative review. But then something happened to change my mind -- in the five nights we stayed at the Adobe Inn we came to enjoy its peace and tranquility, the ability to come and go without being watched and critiqued -- and, I found that if you indeed needed to ask questions there were innkeepers who arrived in the morning to set out breakfast that were more than willing to help you.

We originally stayed in the Adobe Room, which has a private entrance by the car park. It is a little smaller than I usually book, but is not overstuffed with furniture to make it cumbersome. There is a cute double sink in the bathroom. One wall of windows makes it light and airy, and unlike some b&bs you can actually open the windows to let in the fresh air. Our last three days we moved to the larger Retreat Room which suited us better. It had a large bathroom, which after living in NYC, is a welcome treat.

The Adobe is a wonderful place -- you can sit in the common areas and read a book, have a drink by the fireplace which was actually lit one foggy morning or listen to new age music in the kitchen and watch the hummingbirds. It has a sene of timelessness, which I enjoyed while writing in my journal. And, contrary to what you would expect, most of the guests are happy to have a little chat and impart their stories of previous visits. Occassionally you get the real recluse, who take the theme of the place to the fullest.

My one and only wish would be that the owner would just pop in now and again, because I understand from one of the guests I met who comes there on a regular basis, he is full of local knowledge and gives interesting food tours, which I hope to attend in the future.

If you are looking for a peaceful break from the hectic lifestyle of city living this is the place to go. The owner makes no pretentions about what the place has to offer, so I suggest you read the information on the website first. Breakfasts are simple, but as I have come to learn in California, most b&bs do not offer the elaborate breakfasts you find in other states. But the food is fresh and the strawberries amazing....and most important, we felt relaxed and sad at having to leave this wonderful place behind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here in October while visiting our son. Found this place on the internet searching for bed and breakfast inns in the area. This was more than what we expected- the house is actually an original adobe dwelling which made it even more inviting for us. Our room felt very cozy and comfortable and made us feel like we were the only ones staying here. Each morning we got up to the smell of fresh coffee and a delicious breakfast. Homemade scones, fresh fruit, yogart, eggs, etc. Everyone's tastes and dietary needs were taken into consideration. The stocked refridgerator was a plus. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTHopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 for one night!. It was rated no 1 for a reason! It is such a beautiful home and we pretty much had it to ourselves, saw one other couple. You don't ever see the owners, they pop in to put out breakfasts, they do not stay or live there. They believe their customers like to have their privacy, it's a different philosophy than most B & B's, but we loved it! we had this amazing home all to ourself! it is clean, breakfast was good, rooms are so cute, bathroom was nice! Also walking distance to downton where all the action takes place! We loved Santa Cruz, but this B & B was so cool!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich/Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have been to many B&Bs, but this was a very unique experience. The entire property is really well maintained, down to the very last detail. All the rooms in the house are minimally, but quite tastefully decorated, and very clean. We loved the uncluttered spaces and the quiet & peaceful atmosphere. The continental breakfast was simple, but provided a nice choice of good quality food. The location is very convenient, within a short walking distance to a nice, quirky downtown area. We will definitely return on our next trip to California.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

An oasis in the city, Adobe on Green Street is the perfect place to retreat. We could have easily not left the grounds during our stay, so pleasant were both the home and gardens. Patios have multiple seating areas with water features, flowering foliage, hummingbirds, and a beautiful tree-line. It's very quiet and the rooms are lovely--we stayed in the Lookout Room on both our visits. The Lookout is the only 2nd floor room. It's spacious and very comfortable with a separate reading nook. The bedroom has beautiful windows, which gave us the feeling we were sleeping in a treehouse. Breakfast was simple & light with numerous healthy choices. Which was absolutely perfect--because when you are eating at restaurants all of your other meals, who needs a heavy breakfast?! If you are considering a trip to Santa Cruz, don't miss the opportunity to stay at the Adobe!

Room Tip: We loved the Lookout Room, and it is even better than the photos on the website captured. Likely thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The property was full, or nearly so, but we had thought it unoccupied until we came out for breakfast and saw other guests. Not one peep of room to room noise, and anyone who reads my other reviews knows how particular I am about this.
We stayed in the Retreat room, which is at the back of the house. Because the property backs onto a rather large avenue, you will hear some traffic noise from the back, even through closed windows, It wasn't bad, though, and is a small price to pay for being able to walk to restaurants and shops (the beach is a little too far to walk).
Continental breakfast was very good and generous with fresh fruit, baked goods, boiled eggs, and yoghurt and cereal. Plenty of coffee and juice too.
The entire property was very clean and well maintained. Lovely garden. WiFi worked well.
It was odd in a way not to encounter an innkeeper during our stay, and, not having that facilitator around made the guests shy and quiet around each other. If you're a social extrovert who stays at B&Bs to meet people and share travel experiences, this may not be the place for you. But other than that, I can't think of a reason not to stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcadia_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Babbling Brook Inn
Babbling Brook Inn
#1 of 15 in Santa Cruz
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe on Green Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe on Green Street Inn

Property: Adobe on Green Street Inn
Address: 103 Green St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-3723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms: 4, Wifi: Free, Beds: Queens, Parking: On-site, Breakfast: No Breakfast, Minimum Stay: 3 nights, - The Best Location in Santa Cruz. Perched on a hill three blocks from downtown shops, restaurants, cafes, and cinemas. The atmosphere is restful and richly understated. We strive to keep our guests feeling nurtured by the comfort, the decor, and the amenities we offer. Those who find us usually wish they could stay longer. Every room at the Adobe has a beautiful private bathroom. Every room is tastefully decorated with art and antiques, and features a DVD player. Every room features hand made natural latex beds for the best night's rest. Off street parking and an off the street location makes your stay easy and very quiet. We specialize in casual comfort, privacy, and beautiful surroundings. The Adobe on Green Street is a cross between a charming country Inn and a sophisticated urban boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Adobe On Green Street Bed And Breakfast
Adobe On Green Street Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing