We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nation 9 Motel in Santa Cruz”
Review of National 9 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
National 9 Motel
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nation 9 Motel in Santa Cruz”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Greetings !
My two puppies and I were turned down at 2 hotels before we saw the friendly sign Pet friendly outside of National 9 Motel. They were !
I paid 20 each for a non-refundable deposit.
enjoyed a comfortable large room which include a microwave a refridgerator. tv with cable and wi-fi. an abundance of clean towels.
Honesty ! I left my power source called the next day they had it. !
we were able to walk to the Santa Cruz diner open 24/7.
Enjoyed Fresh roasted coffee at The Santa Cruz coffee Roasters yummy !!!!

Plan a stop !!! We found it more than worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms would be a fantastic choice or ask to see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sage-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    10
    2
    13
See reviews for
9
11
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Please, do not do as I did and listen to the other people's reviews. There are way better hotels for the same price in the area. The people that run this hotel are crazy. We had reservations and they put us in a room next to a group of approx. 8 loud, drinking, and smoking men. We were in the hotel room for no less than 5 minutes when the owner and his wife busted into the room saying we had to leave!! Confused, asking why, they said, "We don't take your kind here" Astonished, considering, the four of us: a nurse, paramedic, server, and event planner- replied, "And the guys next door?"

"They work for us" (This was at 9pm) They then continued, "We are not here to babysit"

Speechless, at how rude and kind of hilarious this was, because it was so unexpected- we decided we would indeed leave. Then, to make things worse, the men next to us offered my two girlfriends drugs. My friend called the cops, because she was so freaked out.

Dont stay here!!! It's not safe!!! Absolutely NO customer service. They are nuts!

Room Tip: They are all surrounding a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AudrieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

For the price, you won't find a better, cleaner motel. I've stayed at most of the more economical motels in the area and only National 9 was good enough.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatGuyFromUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

While your results may vary, we had a comfortable stay at this National 9,( there appears to be two National 9 locations in Santa Cruz.) Their street address is 130 Plymouth, it is really at the north end of Ocean St.. We were lucky enough to be placed in a small house in the back of the property that had been converted to three units, our room was clean, bed was comfortable, everything worked fine, no maintenance issues, the staff was friendly, responsive and accommodating. Very convenient location, instant access to Route 17 & 1, gas stations, McDonalds, Denny's close by.

This is no "hidden gem," but it's just as valuable to alert other travelers to a place that is not exceptional, but does provide a good value compared to the other motels in relatively expensive in Santa Cruz..

Disclaimer...We did not stay in the main building, which would be more like the standard motel experience. Subject to all the usual problems of side by side, up and down living.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamesonthego_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2009

My husband and I love to stay at the National 9. The owners take good care of us and if we have any requests, they do their best to accommodate us. The rate is very low, which allows us to go to Santa Cruz more often than if we stayed at a more luxurious motel, and that is the choice we make. It's not as nice as a lot of places, but the value is great. We ride our bikes from the hotel to the boardwalk and all around town, and even have enough room in our motel room to put our bikes overnight.
Complainers need to remember that this is a good deal and to treat the owners/managers with respect. They will return that respect, rest assured. Kindness begets kindness.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Asked for a room to be held saying would arrive in 5-10 minutes. Had an accident enroute and called to say we were unable to stay in Santa Cruz. Even though it was a holiday weekend and the property coul easily have sold the room to another traveler, they refused saying "it was in the computer and they could do nothing to reverse it". I know beter. Based on their attitude and the other reviews I would recommend you avoid this property.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disappointed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review, 21 September 2008
Reservations booked online through a travel
agent cannot be cancelled on the day of arrival at the motel.Customer has to cancel
with the booking travel agency as the rese rvation is subject to a commission payable
to the travel agency.If the travel agency agrees
to cancel the reservation and we can sell the room we will not charge the customer.We highly recommend customers get the travel agency involved in such cases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2007

The National 9 Motel is quite possibly the worst place on Earth. I was eaten alive by bedbugs at the National 9 Motel. I woke up with over a dozen welts between 1 and 3 inches long after I spent the night at the National 9 Motel. The room at the National 9 Motel looked clean but had a very strange earthy smell, and by the time I gotten past the National 9 Motel's con artist at the front desk I was too exhausted to argue for my money back and find another place. Warning! The National 9 Motel in Santa Cruz should be avoided like the plague!!!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank alfrebschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.0 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#50 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.7 mi away
The Islander Motel
The Islander Motel
#28 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National 9 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Motel

Property: National 9 Motel
Address: 130 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2932
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your National 9 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing