We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National 9 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
National 9 Motel
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we visited Santa Cruz on a busy weekend with our 5 grandchildren. Every hotel we tried was booked. We finally visited the small (vintage looking) hotel called National 9. We normally would not have used this hotel but are glad we did. The rooms were clean and fresh smelling. The pool was just right for the kids. It was quiet and the owners could not have been nicer and anymore accommodating than they were. We were highly satisfied with our stay and can recommend this friendly little hotel.

Room Tip: We needed adjoining rooms and was accommodated. The rooms also had nice, large high definition flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    10
    2
    13
See reviews for
9
11
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Bedding was old & dirty, lucky for me I had brought blanket from home;very noise did not get Goodnight sleep, outside was terrible; breakfast was terrible; TV was old not good reception. Never will I stay in this hotel.


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Olga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

For some reason, on Saturday night, August 10th, there was a lot of price gouging going on in Santa Cruz and with No Vacancy signs all over town, I paid in excess of $200 for a room comparable to an $80 Super8.... but I wish I'd driven away because there's a big Day's Inn another half an hour or so to the south on the 1.

On the plus side, the internet service was good and the password was long and complicated (and I received no influx of spam the next day), the bath tub was oval, big enough to sleep in, surrounded by travertine type marble, the floor was marble. The plumbing did not leak or drip, the bathroom had a working window (new, too) and it might even have had a bug screen.

The paintwork was new, but the painter was so sloppy that he'd painted over the gunk and dust in the ventilator and the screws, so the ventilation has no chance ever of being cleaned now and is probably disgusting. There was no air conditioning, but there was a big fan. The bathroom ceiling was already looking mottled, so, assuming that the roof is now sound, they ought to have used stainkill and didn't.

The single wool blankets looked pilled and felted and dirty but may have just been over-enthusiastiically laundered. We preferred to be cold than use them. The carpet looked no better than any other motel carpet, which is as kind as I can be. The mattresses and box springs at least were enclosed in those bedbug-proof bags. I appreciated seeing those bags. And we were not bitten.

There were no fridges or microwaves, no coffeemaker in the room, not even an ice bucket. It was all very basic and exceptionally poor value for money.

The breakfast was the pits. They had no breakfast room. They just put a jug of orange juice and ice on the check in counter alongside a thermos of the worst coffee I have ever tasted, and a plate of plastic-wrapped (commercial) "pastries" loaded with preservatives.

It seemed like Victor and Kim Patel were nice people and they were trying to renovate and upgrade....in fact from the workers' debris and the hammering early on Sunday morning, it seems that work is proceeding apace. Perhaps they normally do have a breakfast room.

I appreciated the secure internet, the new bathtub, the secure plumbing.

Room Tip: If it is late at night and you are tired, check the windows. They leave the windows open, but the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowenacherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This motel is totally fine--light on frills but overall is a nice place. Checked in fairly late at night on a Thursday with no issues. Granite tile floors, nice bathtub area, nice clerk at the desk. The decor is like grandma's rec room, but at these rates, who cares?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lo_angle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Seedy, noisy, shabby, smelly, uncomfortable. I chose this place based upon the assumption that the mid-range price would get me a serviceable room without bells and whistles. At this point I wish I had just saved my money and slept in my car.

Room Tip: Go somewhere (anywhere) else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5dogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My friend was looking for value for his buck and we certainly weren't expecting anything over the top here - just a clean room and minimal but at least courteous service. When my friend checked in early, we found the room unlocked and trashed - which, fine, it was still early afternoon and we'll deal with it. I also thought it was unreasonable for a motel not to accommodate late check-in, especially pre-arranged, but again, we'll deal with it even though it required us to go out of our way during the day. But what I found truly appalling was the owner/manager's behavior. My friend was nice enough to go to the front desk to let him know that there were going to be three extra people in his room for 10 minutes (we just needed to change) - as if my friend were a child in some horrible boarding school having to check in with a hall monitor! The owner wasn't at the front desk, but he saw us going into the room and barreled out of his office, screaming at us. He had jumped to the conclusion that we were all staying there (not true - the rest of us had booked elsewhere), gave us no chance to explain, acted in an extremely agitated and antagonistic way, and kicked us out unceremoniously. We weren't expecting white-glove service, but this was the rudest "service" I've ever gotten!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WChenBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Same comments as the may 27,2013 review.
They were all together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We planned to check in after a wedding at midnight. When we told management this they wanted us to come earlier because they said no one would be there to man the desk at that time (which didn't seem very professional). So we came before the wedding (which was very inconvenient), checked in, and then 2 of our friends who were staying at a different hotel tried to come into our room to change because of the timing inconvenience. When we opened the door, the room was completely unmade with Burger King wrappers and other trash all over the place. When we tried to complain, the manager (a very mean and unkempt person), came out yelled at us for having more than 2 people (he didn't even try to listen to us about the timing issues that he caused by making us check in earlier) and told us all to leave. That left us without any place to stay only a few hours before our friends' wedding. Luckily, the nicer and only marginally more expensive hotel that the friends who tried to change with us were staying at let us in. So, unless you want to be bullied around by an unfriendly man in a very trashy motel, I'd highly recommend looking elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmervine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National9motel, Manager at National 9 Motel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Same comments as the May 27,2013 guest review.They were all together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.0 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Santa Cruz
Ramada Limited Santa Cruz
#43 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hitching Post Studios Inn
Hitching Post Studios Inn
#30 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National 9 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Motel

Property: National 9 Motel
Address: 130 Plymouth St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your National 9 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing