We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with character”
Review of Harbor Inn

Harbor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Inn
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This place is quite charming and that was one of the reasons why we chose to stay here. Given that we were visiting during the peak summer season, prices in the area were astronomical. Compared to others, Harbor Inn was relatively reasonable. The room is quite basic, but ours did have a nice remodeled bathroom and a small kitchenette. It's several blocks from the beach and although the Boardwalk is a little further, I'd recommend trying to walk it (about 30 minutes) than battling the congested traffic and fighting for parking.

This place has lots of potential. The rooms could be remodeled a bit without losing its rustic charms (ours had a slight musty smell.) Offering a continential breakfast instead of suggesting the over-crowded Harbor Cafe to guests would have increased my rating. If you just need a place to rest your head in a decent central location, this isn't a bad option.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Elki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed in annex unit beside main house and were very happy with our large, studio-like room. Recently renovated and very clean. Nice bathroom and cute kitchen area with small fridge, microwave and sink. Very cozy and comfortable to spend a week. Only block's walk up the road is GREAT breakfast/lunch restaurant -- Harbor Cafe. Had Father's Day brunch and returned almost every morning after that! Location is central to Capitola and Boardwalk,as well as Harbor and great restaurants (Crow's Nest and Aldo's). Can book a whale watch almost across the street -- awesome! Some road traffic noise because of good location. Manager, Juanita, very friendly and helpful. Plan to make this our "home" on our annual family visit!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riwanderer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, relaxing, off the beaten track, place to stay near the beach. We are from Sacramento and had a rare weekend to ourselves. The Harbor Inn offered an authentic, Santa Cruz experience without the busy "beach scene" at the best time of year - Fall. Our non-rushed, weekend featured a drive up the north coast, enjoying nature's wonders and even picking fresh, organic strawberries. When we returned, we sat together in the garden area with a bottle of wine. The owners, Chris and Claire greeted us warmly, while each went about their business of making sure the grounds stayed well maintained. The evenings were quiet, and the beds were "the best ever," according to my wife. We enjoyed a nice breakfast nearby, and accomplished our goal of "Real R&R." We would recommend the Harbor Inn to anyone looking to take a "time out" for a week or weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Really lovely room with lots of light and space. A way out of the cebtre but in a nice quiet residential area. 20 minute walk to a lovely beach and another 10 onto the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caztravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

perfect little spot close to beach away from the noise of downtown and the boardwalk. Clean quiet and spacious room with microwave and good size fridge. We stayed in room 305. This place is unique all the rooms are different.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ocean035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed for one night in June. The hotel accommodated our late check-in which was appreciated because they are a small operation.

We paid $129 for our room. We were lucky not to have a room near Seventh Ave. It is necessary to sleep with your windows open, and the only problem noise came from guests departing early the next morning. The room included a king size bed, mini fridge and small flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. This is not a luxury inn, but it more than satisfied our needs for the night.

I really enjoyed the location of this hotel, although it might not be for everyone. It is in a semi residential neighbourhood and within walking distance to the beach. It is not within walking distance of the amusement park and boardwalk, so if that is the main purpose of your stay in Santa Cruz, you might want to locate elsewhere.

If I returned to Santa Cruz, I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtnBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Stayed at the Harbor Inn, Santa Cruz on 10/2/08.

Paid $99 for the family suite (2 queens upstairs, 1 full futon downstairs) and $79 for a single queen room. Both had microwave, minifridge, in-room coffee. Family suite had shower / toilet. Single Queen room had handicapped accessible bathroom with tub / shower / toilet.

Very quaint, quiet, clean, comfortable and inviting. Was traveling with elderly parents and adult sisters / brother. This place was perfect for us.

Walk 3 blocks to beach. Walk 100 yards to great Harbor Inn cafe for lunch or breakfast. Easy access. In residential area. No AC - but plenty of fans and the weather in Santa Cruz is perfect.

Loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
1.2 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#34 of 54 in Santa Cruz
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Islander Motel
The Islander Motel
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hitching Post Studios Inn
Hitching Post Studios Inn
#32 of 54 in Santa Cruz
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn

Address: 645 7th Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-2702
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £58 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing