We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, a bit of road noise”
Review of Harbor Inn

Harbor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor Inn
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 23 April 2008

For those of us looking for an alternative to cookie-cutter hotels like Best Western, the Harbor Inn provides great accommodations at a good price. We paid $85 for the loft style room which had 2 queens upstairs, sofa & bathroom downstairs along with a microwave and small refrigerator. You won't run into the noisy college crowd having a beer-bash in their room at this place!

Overall, this hotel was a great value and I would recommend it. On warm days when the windows need to be open at night, you may get some road noise from 7th street.

PROS
The room was clean and well kept. It did not look or feel old and dated. Since the room is split level, there was plenty of room. Our kids had a ball playing in the small space under the stairs instead of watching TV, so that was a plus for us.

The sink is outside of the bathroom, and the bathroom itself is pretty small. There was no tub in the room we had, just a shower stall. This was no problem for us at all.

The bedroom in our suite was upstairs with 2 queens. It was a pretty large room with the beds on either side. There was a very nice skylight which let in alot of sunlight, and a small window that faced the street. The skylight could be covered so the morning sun didn't wake us. No complaints about the beds. The bedroom has angled walls from the roofline, so you have to watch your head getting in/out of bed on one side. We thought it added some character and liked it.

One of the best things about the Harbor Inn is that it is 2 minutes walk to the Harbor Cafe. We had a wonderful breakfast at the Harbor Cafe and I highly recommend that you stop there for breakfast during your stay.

We had dinner at the Seabright Brewery which is just a few blocks away. If this is your thing, then you are in luck because the beer is good and the food was good.

CONS
Our suite faced 7th street which carries alot of traffic. There was a hedge and a nice little sitting area between our room and the street, so the location was not a problem at all. The problem was the noise from all the traffic.

Our room did not have AC (probably none of the rooms do), so on a warm day you have to open the windows. Since the bedroom is upstairs it can get a little warm up there, so the windows need to be open during the night as well.

For us, we turned on the box fan, put it in front of the open window, and slept right through any traffic noise. But if you are sensitive to this sort of thing, it is something to keep in mind. There are only a couple of rooms that are that close to the street, so make sure to ask where your room is located.

It would be a nice touch to have an AC window unit installed upstairs so that on warm nights the window and traffic noise could be minimized.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_From_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Harbor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2008

We were happy to find this place when making last-minute plans to visit Santa Cruz on a busy weekend. The resident manager, Juanita, was very pleasant both on making the reservation and during our stay. When booking, she described our room (the only one available, two-story with two queens on the upper floor but bathroom on the ground floor) to make sure we'd be OK with it (we were). This place has a homey style, and everything was very clean and well-maintained. A few minor things that weren't exactly right were fixed quickly and we were given a small adjustment to our rate without even asking for it. If you want a DVD/VHS player, it's $5 extra per night but the rates are reasonable so it's not a big deal (but they don't have a player for every room so reserve one in advance if you think you'll want it. I was also glad that another reviewer here said to bring your own hair dryer. They have dryers in the office if you forget.) All rooms have a microwave and small refrigerator. In less than two minutes we walked to the Harbor Cafe for a great breakfast. Twin Lakes beach is very nearby, probably a 10 minute walk (or 2 minute drive). Overall, this place is a very good value for people who don't want to be in the noise and crowds of the Santa Cruz beach area. If you want plush and modern with high-end amenities, a 24-hour front desk, or the ability to cancel up to 6 p.m on your night of arrival (their cancellation deadline is 3 days ahead or by 9 p.m. of your day of booking if within 3 days of arrivale) this is not for you, but if you're happy with a good rate, clean and comfortable accommodations and friendly, helpful staff, this is a very good choice. We will stay here again in the future, I'm sure.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medialitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

This Inn may not be for everyone, but for my husband and I it was near perfect. First, it was a very clean place and attentive, friendly staff. It is a good place for the casual traveler. Not alot of frills. And be sure to bring your own hairdryer. The beds should be replaced soon. Now...The location is walking distance to the Santa Cruz Harbor and Twin Lakes beach. We got up in the morning and walked to the great coffee shop at the harbor and drank our yummy coffee watching waves, boats and people, ahhhh. The Crow's Nest offered fine dining that was very good and the little "beach" shack called the Harbor Inn was a great delight for breakfast or other meals, very friendly and welcoming staff and good food and almost next door to the Inn. This was the perfect location to spend a relaxing vacation. We were away from the crowds and noise that often comes with a beach community. The rates were very reasonable. Check out their website.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breadlady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B-Pelo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank m_p_staal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
493 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#49 of 54 in Santa Cruz
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
1.2 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn

Address: 645 7th Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95062-2702
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £60 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing