We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poor hotel”
Review of Coastview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coastview Inn
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Fresno, California
1 review
“Good location but poor hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Carpet filthy, bed spead falling apart. Did not have remote to control air conditioner. Cold shower. Parking is really tight. Desk help not friendly at check in. Breakfast from 8am to 9:30. Went to get food at 845. Nothing left. Milk just sitting on counter not kept cold. Good location. Oh pool was a mess. Very dirty. Would not stay there again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Coastview Inn. You are right that our location is one of the best around, as we have so many wonderful venues within walking distance to our Inn. However we are so sorry you had so many issues during your stay with us. It is always our desire to provide clean and comfortable rooms, in fact we will be doing a huge renovation, over one million dollars, in the fall of 2014. Please accept our sincere apology for your stay and we ask you to give us another opportunity to provide your sleeping accommodations the next time you are in our area after our renovation. We are sure you will be completely satisfied with our changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    128
    66
    16
    36
See reviews for
107
103
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived late and they were very accommodating. Location is great! The room was not. It smelled a bit, but nothing an opened window couldn't fix. The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor, so we used our towels to wipe it up. The bed was a bit dirty, not sure if they actually washed it. We found some stains on the comforter and then a bloody stain on the sheets (have pictures).

Suffice to say, we won't be coming back.

(The hotel manager only apologized for the maintenance.)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We are so very sorry you had such issues at our Inn. Your comments have been sent to the General Manager and also our Owner. We take your comments very seriously and want you to know we will diligently work to fix these issues. In the fall of 2014 we will be doing over a 1 Million dollar renovation to our property and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide your sleeping accommodations after our refurbishment, and when you are in our area. Again our sincerest heart felt apology is sent in our response to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived later than anticipated (11pm), room key cards were on the office night counter (along with 3 other rooms); not very secure but at least we could get in!

Got up early and walked along the boardwalk area, perks of the location.

However even by the time we left at 7:30am the office was not open, so the free continental breakfast was not accessible; not sure what time the office opened but you would expect after 7. So we left the key cards in the night counter.

Room was nice and clean, bed was comfy so for a short trip it was great and just what we needed. Just a shame about the breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mojocoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We appreciate that you took your time to let us know how we are doing and sure apologize that you were not able to enjoy our free continental breakfast. It is always our desire to provide clean and comfortable rooms and complimentary breakfast so again we are so sorry you were not able to get in to the dining area. Our breakfast opens up at 8 AM. Please give us another opportunity to provide your sleeping accommodations the next time you are in area and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

LOVE the Coastview. Stay there numerous times throughout the year. Can't beat the location. A few feet from the beach and the Boardwalk, 3 minute walk to the Wharf. It's not the Hyatt, but what Beach hotel is??? It's a perfect place to sleep while vacationing at the beach. I love the young staff, for the most part. They are all so happy, energetic, appear to truly want to make my stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. However, there is a man that appears to be the manager (??). He consistently is short, rude, grumpy, never smiles and seems to not want to be there and unfortunately, he is there a lot. I cringe when I see him working! I will try to avoid going into the office when I see his 'sourpuss' face. He may be a good "manager" (if that's his role) but he is definitely NOT a customer service type of guy. Like I said, the rest of the staff, and I've seen many of them, are WONDERFUL and thankfully make up for Mr. Grumpy-Pants!! See you soon!!!

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs with window so you can see the ocean from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karla j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. It is an honor to have you come and stay two - three times a year with us! It is a priority for us to provide clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate and as you said the location is amazing. Please accept our apology for your running into rudeness at the front desk. We take your comments seriously and will pass them on to our owner and general manager for further review. Again thank you so much for your loyalty and we sure look forward to seeing you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had a great time, weather was nice and the rooms were not only clean but the staff was really friendly. It was so close to the beach and the boardwalk and was a close drive to down town! Will stay there again when we come to Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor were excellent for no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your great review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. It is always a joy to have guests that enjoy their stay and the surrounding venues such as the beach! We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms and love hearing our guests had a great time with us as their room accommodations . Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Customer service was non-existent, with exception to the young man who checked us in. They were out of the continental breakfast by 827 am, it starts at 8. The rooms were small and dingy. The upside... Wonderful beach but be warned, the boardwalk is not like Southern California. Cute town all in all but we were ready to go to a new place by the 3rd day.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geneva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We really appreciated that you took your time to let us know how your room was and the issues you incurred while staying with us. Please accept our deepest apology for running out of breakfast during your stay and your room not being cleaned properly. It is our desire to always provide clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate for our guests and to hear that you were not able to partake in the breakfast is not acceptable. Your comments are taken very seriously and will be passed on to the General Manager and the Owner as well. When next you are in our area please give us another opportunity to provide accommodations for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at oceanview for one night in Feb 2014. We booked through Hotwire.com and got a decent deal.
The room was recently renovated and clean. Despite the recent renos light could be seen around the door and the window wasn't very secure. The rooms were not very sound proofed and you could hear other guests all night long.
The front desk was pretty unwelcoming and didn't seem to love his job.
Parking: covered parking was available as well as a parking lot behind the hotel. Parking was included.
Wifi: included
Breakfast: a continental breakfast was included. Not the tastiest but did the trick (toast, PB, jam, orange juice, coffee and packaged snack foods)
If you are looking for fancy this isn't the place but out was clean and affordable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank campingcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Coastview Inn. It is our highest priority to provide clean and comfortable rooms and you are right, we are refurbishing at the present time. it is still ongoing however and it will be great when we finish! I certainly apologize for the front desk clerk not being friendly and will address that issue as that is one of the biggest and best part of their job. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Property: Coastview Inn
Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5415
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing