We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Coastview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastview Inn
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is located across the street from the boardwalk. We arrived early and although we could not check in we were able to park our car and leave for the day. Traffic and parking can be a nightmare in this town so we were very thankful to be able to park early. This is an older hotel which could use some updating. There is a continental breakfast available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wabeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We are so happy you were able to enjoy your day knowing you had a great parking spot at your sleeping location! We are excited to share with you that we are planning a huge million dollar renovation in the Fall of 2014 and would love to have you come back and enjoy our new upgrades. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms and will now be able to offer an updated Inn as well, so come back and stay with us when you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    124
    65
    15
    35
See reviews for
105
100
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The pros: obviously the location - you can't beat it and we loved it. The room was clean and comfortable.

Cons: parking is crazy tight. There are very few spaces and its one lane in and out so you really have to watch for cars. Our room, like i said, was clean except one major thing: the floors. They seemed to have been vacuumed but they were in desperate need of shampooing. My kids feet turned black just from walking around for 10 min!! I told the front desk and they blamed it on the beach and said: " we do the best we can". I think for what they charge they can shampoo every so often. O and the breakfast was totally pathetic but held us over til lunch.

I would stay again cause the location is perfect

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlovnmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We agree with you that our location is wonderful and we do pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms. Please accept our sincere apology about the carpeting in your room. Your comments are very important to us and have been sent to our general manager and owner of our Inn.
You will be pleased to hear we are doing a major over 1 million dollar renovation of our lovely property in the Fall of 2014 and we invite you to come and stay with us again. You will be able to enjoy all of our new upgrades and yet still have the awesome location!! We look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We just stayed two nights at the Coastview Inn. It is directly across the street from the boardwalk, which is a real plus. Parking is free, also nice. The room was clean, pleasant and quiet, once the desk clerk quieted down the yahoos in the pool at 9:30 p.m.

There was good hot water, toiletries, enough towels, clean bedding and comfortable beds. I have no complaints on any of that. The so-called breakfast was horrible, however. We ate the first morning at 8:20 a.m. (breakfast begins at 8) but the Raisin Bran was gone, only the Cheerios remained. There was toast with butter and jam and some type of orange juice from a mix. There was only one pastry left, and it looked yukky. There was coffee and tea in the lobby, and that was just fine.

The second morning we walked down near the pier and ate at the restaurant in a green building, right next to the pier on the ocean side. (Can't remember its name, sorry.) Excellent and not-too-expensive breakfast.

I paid what I considered a premium for a room, about $130 a night, high for me. It did provide us a nice walk to the beach and boardwalk, so it was worth it. I'd stay again; I just wouldn't eat the breakfast!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are quieter, as no one can run around above you. We were in the middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaWoman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your stay with us at Coastview inn. It is a privilege to host our guests and have them so close to so many venues that are within walking distance! As for your room cleanliness and provisions it is our desire to always provide excellent serve to our guests and we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We take your comments very seriously and would like you to know I have passed your comment on to our owner and our general manager.
Please accept our apology for the breakfast not being up to parr during your stay with us, It will be immediately addressed.
Please come and stay with us again as we are doing a major renovation of our lovely property in Fall of 2014 and would love for you to see our improvements! Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your nest stay as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A side from the fact it took 4 hours to get a roll of toilet paper (they don't have room service unless you're there more than 2 nights)...our car was damaged. There are about 10 parking spaces in the garage and we parked in 1 of 3 that leaked water on our car. It was hard water and it was on our windshield, passenger window/mirror/door and our trunk that dripping down to the bumper. The guy (Casey) told us it would come off with soap and water. I knew he was lying, as my dad was in the business of painting cars. We are hoping that all this cleans up when we get the car detailed at cost of 150.00. We tried everything else ourselves and the stains are still there. When we walked down to the garage before we left there we saw a brand new navy blue Toyota getting the same white drips we got...we asked why they didn't close that spot, they said because it washes off and it only happens when it gets warm outside. We also could see the cement had white stains on it from the water. We were there for 3 nights, but when we left for a few hours they still hasn't serviced the room so we just asked for towels and to empty the trash (hence the reason we ran out of TP). My husband went to the front desk twice to ask for toilet paper and they said they would bring it to the room...that took 4 hours!

Room Tip: Ocean view only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We humbly apologize for the water spots on the car left in the parking garage and for the non cleaning of your room. I have forwarded your comments on to our owner as we take your comments very seriously. Having to ask more than once for a provision offered by the Inn is unacceptable and will be addressed immediately. Again, please accept our apology and we want you to know we are doing over a million dollar renovation in the Fall of 2014. We invite you to come back and stay with us to see all of our new changes as we believe you will love your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Hayward, California, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Nothing special. The rooms are average. Pool is kinda small. Parking is not very good though. If you try to park downstairs be careful its tight. Great that it is just across the street from the beach and the Arcade.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We do have a premium location if you enjoy the ocean within walking distance! We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms and know you will be out and about most of the time but it is nice to come back and relax. Coastview Inn will be receiving a huge million dollar renovation in the Fall of 2014 and we invite you to come back and see all of our new changes! Thanks again for staying with us as we know you have several different choices while in our area for sleeping accommodations. We sure look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a great little hotel if you are looking for something affordable but not fancy. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the location was amazing. We booked an ocean view room which was nice as long as you don't mind middle of the night occasional noise. A stumbling loud person now and again. The room had a mini fridge which is great when traveling with a child. The front desk staff were nice and pleasant. We needed a little bit of extra time to check out and they gave it to us. The wifi was strong and the breakfast was just cereal and packaged danishes, but that works! Clean bathroom and nice hot shower. This little hotel is a great option for a quick getaway right on the beach and without the high prices of nearby hotels. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The Ocean View queen room is great for a nice view but can be a bit noisy but to us it was worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We are so happy you were able to enjoy a ocean view room as they are lovely to watch the ocean as you relax in your room! We will be doing a major renovation in the Fall of 2014 and would love for you to schedule another visit with us to check out our new look! We sure appreciate you choosing us for your sleeping accommodations and look forward to seeing you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

great location, free parking and WiFi included.Room was nice for the price, mini fridge, microwave and blow dryer and iron. Girl at front desk was always very nice and friendly and got answers for all our questions. I had some concerns about the street noise being on the main strip of boardwalk but it wasn't noisy. We stay'd in ocean view room

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastview I, Guest Relations Manager at Coastview Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Coastview Inn. We love to hear from our guests and know they enjoyed their stay with us! We do have a wonderful location and we are planning on doing a huge million dollar renovation to our property in the fall of 2014, so please make a point of coming back out to see us and check out our lovely changes! We sure look forward to seeing you and again thank you for choosing Coastview Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Property: Coastview Inn
Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5415
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing