We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location and value for money in basic accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coastview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coastview Inn
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
watford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location and value for money in basic accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

This motel style accommodation is great value for money and located directly across the street from the beach and boardwalk. The accommodation was simple, it does not look that impressive and the bathroom is a little strange but it is comfortable and clean enough for a nights stay to visit the funfair and beach and we were pleasantly surprized as I had read many bad reviews of other hotels and motels in the area . The service was good and informative especially as we arrived late at night and there were pastries and coffee available for breakfast in the morning. The only negatives I can think of are that our rooms were located on the ground floor level which some people may not like due to the noise caused by passers by and also the safety concerns that being on the ground floor may present. However this did not really bother us as the hotel was not that busy and the area seems quite safe. The main flaw that we experienced was the fact that we had to move our car to an area at the back of the hotel and pay a fee once we had checked out even though we stated that we only needed to stay for a couple of hours extra in the local area and then we would be departing. The hotel carpark we were already situated in was very empty at the time and I think that this little request could have been granted.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    124
    65
    15
    35
See reviews for
105
100
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

My husband and I planned a last minute trip to Santa Cruz and chose this motel due to price, availability, and proximity to the beach and Boardwalk. Due to the appearance of most hotels in the Santa Cruz Boardwalk area, we were not expecting much, but we were pleasantly surprised!
This hotel is clean and seems to be recently updated with nice beds and nice new bathrooms. There was a mini fridge and microwave in our room as well. Though there is not a direct view of the beach, you can see it from the room. It is also right across the street from the Boardwalk, the beach, and the warf.
The front desk staff was friendly at check in and check out. Parking was good. There is a small lot at the bottom / under the hotel, but up the street there is another lot above the hotel, giving plenty of space for the car.
This hotel is not a luxury resort, just a nicely taken care of motel. If your looking for good value and a clean recently updated place to stay near the boardwalk, this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

Aftger reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we stayed at the hampton inn and top 10 places.... until this past weekend. We've stayed at various $150-$200 range places in santa cruz and can't believe we've missed this one. It's by far the best value. You can get an ocean view room right across the main beach/boardwalk that's as clean the the hampton suites and other higher priced alternative. Plus, you get a microwave, frig, internet, jpool (no spa) and great front desk service) with juice/cofee in the AM and feel like you're in santa cruz with an oceanfront window. Wow! The service was fantastics and we were told they are under new management so previous reviews may not reflect the change. We go to santa cruz several times a year and won't stay anywhere else unless they're booked.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suraimcfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turlock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

Our stay was very pleasant. Took my granddaughter there for her birthday for the week-end to go to the beach and broadwalk which was right across the street. . The front desk service people were so very helpful in anything we needed. The rooms were very clean. I would recommend this place.I will be staying there when i go back to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgsnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calif.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

This is not the Hilton, but neather is the price. You can walk across the street to the beach, and the boardwalk. Food near by is limited if your walking, but it was good. Store within walking distance, and a bottle shop too. room was clean and it is a non smoking Hotel . I will stay there again and would take my grand children .

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisejunkieCalif.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LB1970
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

This place is decent for a motel service and fee. But for the price they are asking - 200+, its shameful!
My friend told me of this place, very close to the boardwalk so we booked online. When we got there, the guy in the counter is a brute and wont event make eye contact. After we check in, he gave us our money and just walked to the back room. Rude.
The rooms are classic motel features but much smaller. Smells like old smoke but we paid for a non smoking room. Everytime we walk to the front theres no one there, but I hear kids in the back somewhere. I would never recommend this place to anyone. I heard from someone that one block down the beach and theres a REAL HOTEL with great service for cheaper price. COMPLETE RIP-OFF!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Yosemite California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

The motel has been recently renovated and the job was excellent. The bed linens were spotless as well as the bath linens. We have stayed in hotels at 3 to 4 times the cost and this one is right at the top!. The staff was informative about the area and gave us great directions to dinner and way to continue our trip. We will be back and look forward to our next stay. A great big plus for us was that we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Beach View Inn Motel
Beach View Inn Motel
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
Casablanca Inn on the Beach
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Property: Coastview Inn
Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5415
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing