We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but it will do”
Review of Coastview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coastview Inn
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
here
1 review
“Not the best, but it will do”
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I've stayed in several hotels in Santa Cruz, and they are usually the higher end ones, so my review my be partial. I'll first list the good things about the place: friendly staff, right across the street from the beach and the Boardwalk (can't go wrong there), and the price was right.
The bad things about this place: it has a slightly 'seedy' feel to it, there was a blood stain on one of my pillow cases that I didn't notice until the next morning, there was a used bar of soap left in the shower from the previous guest.
Despite those disgusting things, I would stay here again if it was going to just be overnight. The location is unbeatable for the price, just thoroughly check your room when you check in so that you can be moved or get a discount for anything the maid may have neglected to do.
If you're looking for a romantic destination, this is not it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank califgirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    124
    65
    15
    35
See reviews for
105
100
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We just needed a quick one night escape from San Francisco and chose Santa Cruz. We picked the best deal on Hotwire and it turned out to be this little beach motel. It was all we needed and it was across the street from the giant Beach Boardwalk Arcade and Mini Golf. The service was very friendly when we checked in. The room was nice. Nothing fancy. It had a mini fridge and a microwave which we would have used if we stayed longer than one night. The bathroom was very clean and the bed and sheets were comfortable. It was just right of an inexpensive 2 star hotel...though Hotwire says it's 2.5 stars. For breakfast we drove 1 mile to Linda's Seabreeze Cafe which you should seek out. It was the best breakfast I've had in years. Order a cinnamon roll instead of toast. It is to die for.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2009

My wife and I traveled from Sacramento to Santa Cruz for some much needed R&R. After a long drive we ended up without a hotel. Then we walked into the Coastview Inn on beach st. Immediately Paul took care of our needs. The price was excellent and the room was wonderful. Due to health needs we had to change rooms 3 times. Paul never complained and gave us superior service. We have no complaints. Excellent service, greatparking, great location and good price. Thanks Paul..

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationdave001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

After a horrible experience with Guest House Pacific Inn, I made reservations at The Coastview Inn. It must have been meant to be becuase we enjoyed our stay here very much. The manager was very nice, friendly and helpful! You can't beat the location - it is literally right across the street from the beach, boardwalk and wharf. The rooms were recently remodeled and very clean and nice. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krstymsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonoma county, ca
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I'm not sure which Coastview Inn these other reviewers stayed in, but our experience was that the room was beyond filthy, the beds uncomfortable and smelly and the shower lukewarm (not to mention impossible to start wtithout directions). There were lines of balck grime on the walls and doors. The pillows were flabby and reeked of bleach. The mattresses seemed to be covered with some kind of plastic. The floors were so filthy that we wouldn't walk around barefoot. I'm not particularly squeamish -- I've stayed in pretty raunchy hotels before, but this one was way beyond nasty. If I had paid less than $100 -- ok, you get what you pay for. But this room was $140. We went to Monterey the next night, and for a mere $40 per night more we had a beautiful room. We couldn't wait to get out of the Coast-Spew Inn, and I daresay we not only won't return there, but I'd be surprised if we went back to Santa Cruz at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobeego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Great little place to stay if you want to relax on the beach or enjoy the boardwalk.

The hotel is literally situated over the road from the boardwalk, and a stone’s throw from a few little places you can grab a bite to eat. Be sure to get a meal at the restaurant by the Pier, the service is great and the view is nice.

The rooms are clean and simple with a refrigerator and other utilities to make your stay easy. We didn’t get much use of many of the facilities as we weren’t in the room much of the time – but the place was friendly, clean and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeddyorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

The motel was very clean, and just across the street from all the entertainment, boardwalk, restaurants beach, and pier. In fact, there was not even one hotel or motel that was closer to the boardwalk than this one. Half of the rooms have a beach-view. Bed was good, shower was nice all in granite. Rooms had a 24" TV, mini fridge, microwave, iron and board, hairdryer and a new A/C unit. The best thing about this motel is its price, during the week its only $80 (summer) and $120 for the weekend, plus the owners work there full time (helpful guys). Seriously, if your looking for a place to stay in Santa Cruz, look no further. On top you get free wifi internet, and parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bb916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Beachview inn
Beachview inn
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastview Inn

Property: Coastview Inn
Address: 301 Beach St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5415
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coastview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastview Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing