We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

On a last minute trip to Santa Cruz for the night, I was looking around on my phone for places to stay - and calling a few. I called through to the lovely Carey at the West Cliff Inn who provided me with an amazing room/deal.

Upon arrival we were greeted with canapés and wine in the lobby. Once in the room, it greeted us personally with a card on the bed and had every luxury you could ever want. It was the non-view Spa room on the second floor (room 5). It was gorgeous. A large room, fireplace, outdoor patio with spa, huge bathroom and shower (with accompanying toiletries).

We were chatting away with Carey asking about a restaurant that we were thinking about going to - Shadowbrook. She mentioned that she goes here every year and that it was great - and that she would make a reservation for us. After our starter at Shadowbrook, our waiter presented us with a special dish compliments of the West Cliff - yet another surprise.

The next morning we used the hot tub/spa on the private patio for our room only. Breakfast was also provided (complimentary) in the lobby - and it was plentiful! Hot and cold food, and coffee and other beverages.

All in all, easily the best hotel experience I have had in quite some time if not ever.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank droods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

From the cookies at reception to the free evening drinks and snacks, the the bathrobes and fluffy towels everything has been thought of to make you feel welcome and, well, quite spoiled actually! The room was big as was the bathroom. Would be back in a flash if it was just a little closer to home...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast destination Inn. The other very attractive quality was the location. Park your car and you can walk to the boardwalk, beach, and lighthouse, and yet was set back enough not to be in the main traffic zone. To enjoy the view rooms upstairs must be able to climb at least one long set of stairs. Everything is wonderful at this Inn, including the service and breakfast. At night sit outside on the deck and watch the world go by as you view the wharf, ocean, boardwalk and lights.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, however the best rooms are on the second floor overlooking the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saje52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here while our daughter attended orientation at UCSC. She stayed with a friend, so it was just the two of us in Room 3, which is a very pretty room with windows that open to the ocean, but only if you look straight ahead. If you look to the right you will see the very large and ugly Dream Inn that totally blocks the ocean. If you look down, you will see many, and I mean many, cars--this Inn is on a very busy street and next to a very busy intersection. Not the kind of place we enjoy. The cars honk while waiting to get on the wharf and play all sorts of loud music. We left the windows open at night to feel the breeze, a nice thing about the place, but the cars kept coming and coming. I woke at 3 or 4 in the morning and could actually hear the waves, but that was the only time the ocean could be heard. Early in the morning, and I mean early, the cars start up again, or else it's the delivery trucks backing up with their beeping sounds. But the room itself and the Inn is pretty, but still, in our opinion, the whole place had a sterile feel to it. Nice, but not exactly inviting for some reason. And we stay at a lot of places, often. The outside 2nd floor balcony is great, but it closes at 8 PM and opens again at 10 AM, which they don't mention on the website. Our fireplace came with a long list of instructions, and we could not work it. Keep in mind that my husband is an engineer. So we did without that little luxury. There is no fridge in the room, only a community one near the front desk so you can't really have cold water during the night unless you want to venture down the stairs, which I found out given the $400 a night we paid. Was it worth it the price--we both thought, no. Will we stay here again, probably not. But it seems like lots of people do like the Inn, so keep in mind that this is only one opinion, and is therefore subjective, but at the same time is honest and complete.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tripmama18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The building has a lot of character and was spotless. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Jeffrey. There were lovely views from the upstairs balcony and our room was perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Get a room with an outdoor spa. Room 5 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patbobnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I recently stayed for one night at the West Cliff Inn, based on reviews found on Tripadvisor, and we were thrilled with the decision. It is a historical landmark that has been turned into a lovely place to stay. It has a very warm, intimate feel and the rooms are absolutely beautiful, quiet, cozy and clean. You can walk down to the boardwalk and it is about a 10 minute drive to downtown. They have parking in the back so that was never a problem. Breakfast the next morning was very nice and more than we expected. They also serve cocktails and appetizers in the late afternoon which is a nice touch. The staff was very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank levine52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Wonderful hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was immaculate with lovely rooms and views from the balcony. Location was ideal for the beach and only a short walk to downtown. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigRandbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,858 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#14 of 54 in Santa Cruz
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Address: 174 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £142 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing