We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in Santa Cruz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great B&B in Santa Cruz - we stayed here when we passed through the area on our trip down the PCH from San Francisco to LA, and while I didn't love the city, this place was a high point of our time in Santa Cruz. Comfortable beds, highly updated bathrooms, large balcony, very nice front sitting room where they offer complimentary wine/cheese happy hour and continental breakfast - nice bonuses. I would recommend skipping Santa Cruz, but if it's on your list, stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmichael30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have stayed at the inn during the spring, summer and fall for several years. Ideally located, one can walk to local beaches, boardwalk amusements, restaurants on the wharf, and the West Cliff trail within minutes. Downtown Santa Cruz, Carmel, Point Lobos State Reserve, strawberry farms, secluded beaches, and the Shakespeare Festival at UCSC are easily accessible by car. Sara and the staff are friendly and efficient. The superior king spa guestrooms are spacious and luxurious. Room 3 with its large bay window facing the ocean is our favorite. A breakfast highlight is a delicious muesli. Wine and evening hors d'oeuvres can be enjoyed on the porch with its panoramic view. Be sure to try a home baked cookie.

Room Tip: Room 3 and 8 are favorites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a beautiful B&B with a good location and on-site parking. My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's and this one is very nice and kept in the best of condition. Our room (#4) was lovely but fairly small, approximately 12 x 13'. There was one chair in the room but no table next to it where you could put a book, cup of coffee or glass of wine. The linens were nice but we found the bed firmer than we were used to. The bathroom was nice with an enclosed marble shower and vanity. There were two windows that could have been opened for fresh air ventilation but there were no screens and both windows opened onto a small balcony that other guests had access to. The decor was beautiful as there was crown molding in every room along with ten inch baseboards. Everything was in pristine condition and the original hardwood floors in the foyer and breakfast area had been refurbished. Someone put a lot of thought into restoring this lovely old Victorian structure. Be sure and read the book in the foyer on the history of the home as there is some interesting information along with great old photos. The breakfast was somewhat disappointing lacking in flavor and nothing out of the ordinary however there was a nice selection of fresh, attractively served fruits. The lady we dealt with at registration could have been friendlier. I tried to make small talk but she appeared to not be interested. When we have stayed at B&B's in the past usually the person checking us in would take us to our room and answer any questions we might have. We were given two keys and directed up the stairs. We felt like we were staying in a hotel rather than a B&B. During our three day stay only one staff member engaged in conversation with us and we encountered three different employees. Everybody has off days but this is such a nice B&B and we were so excited about staying there as it had been recommended to us by some friends. I guess I expect better customer service; at least a friendly smile and some small talk. For that reason I am only rating this B&B four stars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I came here in late March. We stayed in Room 5, a Deluxe King with a (semi)private balcony and hot tub.

Where do I start?

The staff was amazing. VERY friendly. Our room was gorgeous -- spacious, nicely decorated, and the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. In fact, the whole place is gorgeous.The location is amazing, right off the beach and less than a 5 minute walk to the Boardwalk or Downtown in either direction. Our balcony and hot tub were private in that only we could access it, but one of the other rooms (7, I believe) did have a window that looked out onto it.

The bathroom is all done in Marble, with a spacious shower. The only downside to the bathroom is a full-size mirror set directly opposite the toilet, which was definitely a little weird unless you like watching yourself go...

Their free breakfast and "tea time" offerings were fresh and delicious. Hot coffee and cold juice, freshly made eggs (not egg-beaters), granola and fruit in coconut milk, southwestern inspired casserole in the morning; wine and hors d'ouevres in the afternoons with brie cheese, chevre, crackers -- much better than the standard "continental breakfast" of questionably fresh baked goods that can be found in most hotels of a comparable price.

My *ONLY* complaint with this experience is that there was broken glass on our balcony and an empty ice bucket that was obviously left by a previous guest. But this was a very minor inconvenience, easily cleaned and easily forgotten in light of all the other amazing moments that our stay had to offer us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The accommodation at West Cliff inn is breathtaking - as a couple driving down for a few days out of San Fran, we took in one night at West Cliff inn - whilst it is not the folksy kind of B7B you get when it is family run, the place is spotlessly clean, the rooms are amazing and the views spectacular.. We had an amazing room (Room 8) - up two flights of stairs, beware, but great views, huge amount of space and facilities and a truly terrific bathroom.

Breakfast was ok the next day (some hot eggs and pastries etc) and the wine reception was very well received when we met some amazing locals. Would thoroughly recommend and would see Santa Cruz as a better base than the overpriced Carmel.

Room Tip: If you do not mind a 2 story climb up stairs - room 8 is amazing (especially the bathroom!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingertaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Always feel at home here. The atmosphere is very quiet and relaxing. Wonderful breakfast and cocktail hour in the evening present the perfect time to connect with other guests. Love to walk down to the pier (less than 5 minutes); you have to take time at the wine bar and visiting the sea lions. Beautiful view in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHendersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the West Cliff In many times. My most recent stay was March 6-9 of 2012. I must say that once again the accomodations were great. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The rooms are all very well done and always clean. They serve a nice little breakfast every morning and snacks are laid out in the evening. Any request made to the staff was met with a smile and was promptly handled. I would say if you are going to be in the Santa Cruz area and need a warm welcome place to stay, you should check this place out. It is right across the street from the beach and the pier (well across the street and up the hill, but a short walk). I was also very impressed with the hotel manager who went out of her way to follow up with me and make sure that everything during my stay was satisfactory. It is very refreshing to see that some people still care about customer service and truly work hard to assure you have a wonderful experience in their establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_B91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,850 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#14 of 54 in Santa Cruz
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Address: 174 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £142 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing