We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in September. A boutique style B&B with 11 rooms the service and quality was really good. It was full the whole time we were there when other local hotels had the vacancy signs lit, which tells it all.
Located opposite the Wharf and within a stones throw of the Boardwalk the location is great.
The rooms are pretty and spotlessly clean, and each appeared to have it's own quirky quality. We had room 1 which has a sea view through a public side balcony on the ground floor, so it was private but we could still see the sea. The first floor had another public balcony where you could have tea time drinks which was fun.
Although the room was close to the reception and dining room, we were not disturbed at all, and it was great being able to nip and get a coffee. :)
This was the first time we have stayed in a small Inn rather than a large group hotel and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sues2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

Located in central Santa Cruz, this place was perfect for my Santa Cruz Triathlon weekend. It was easy to walk to restaurants altho after the big breakfast and ample hors d'oevres that are served at WCI, we didn't need lunch at all :). The room was really nice with a balcomy overlooking the sea (room #4). The staff (Racheal and Matt) were extremely helpful throughout the weekend. We lost our key after 8pm which could have been calamitous. But the Inn had an emergency hotline that got us in and well-rested before my big race on Sunday. The only bummer was that I requested an early morning breakfast before my race and the cook did not have it ready when I needed to leave at 7am. Still did well in my race but would have done better with some coffee and a few hard boiled eggs. All in all, I would definitely visit again, but only after having saved for the trip. A bit pricey.

Room Tip: Room #4...breat balcony overlooking the sea and down to the wharf and boardwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

After 2 nights in a tent at Yosemite, we decided to treat ourselves at the West Cliff Inn before coming home to the UK. We weren't disappointed, the room (Number 6) was lovely, with an exceptional sea view, comfortable bed, and luxurious bathroom. The breakfast was basic and could do with enhancing, although what we did have was lovely and freshly baked.
All in all a lovely hotel, albeit a tad on the pricey side, but then the location and the view don't come cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatorloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed in room 3 which is at the front of the hotel with a great view of the ocean. Beautiful room, fantastic bathroom, nice breakfast and very quiet. Only minor issue was that the wifi was not useable in the room. Had to go in the hallway to get a connection.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jgilles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Such a lovely place to stay, the inn itself is beautiful and the rooms (we had room 9 on the top floor) are clean, tastefully decorated and a generous size. The spa bath was a nice little extra to enjoy at the end of the day!
The inn has a lovely relaxed vibe about it and the staff are very friendly and happy to help, even arranging for a taxi to pick us up at 6am on our departure day in spite of it being outside of the reception hours.
The breakfast is ample and delicious and the complimentary soft drinks, tea & coffee and freshly baked cookies etc were a lovely touch..not to mention the wine and hors d'oeuvres served late aft/early evening!
The location is perfect for the beach and boardwalk area, just a stones throw away, with a small store nearby too which sells snacks and drinks etc! It's a short walk to Pacific Ave which has shops and cafes to offer as an alternative to the beach.
Overall, Santa Cruz is a lovely place to spend a few relaxing days and I can't imagine a better place to stay the West Cliff Inn..one of the best places I've ever stayed all thanks to the extra touches the owners and staff put in!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0ur-thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here to take advantage of the proximity to the beach and boardwalk (easy walking distance.) Our room was beautifully decorated, and we enjoyed the afternoon snacks and especially the breakfast. There are also two patios outside to take advantage of the view. It really felt like a "home".

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

West Cliff Inn sits on a hill overlooking the Santa Cruz beach. It is just a short walk to the nearby wharf with all it's interesting little shops and restaurants. The Inn is very picturesque with clean, comfortable rooms and good service. Our room was on the second floor and featured a private balcony with a hot tub. The tub accomodates two people, but unfortunately only one side has water jets. We had to keep trading places so that we could both experience the spa jets. Our room looked lovely with soft gold walls and blue and white decor. However, it was a bit of a surprise when we woke up in the morning and saw that someone had used a lighter paint color to touch up scuffs and marks all over the walls. The morning light made the color difference very apparent, and our room looked like it was in the middle of a redecorating project! Still, we enjoyed our stay. Breakfasts were great, and our cook was very chatty and friendly. We also enjoyed the afternoon cheese and wine service. We took our drinks up to the second floor balcony that has an expansive view of the Santa Cruz Beach and enjoyed the view from the comfortable patio chairs. We will definitely return to this B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Address: 174 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £143 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing