We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best weekend ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best weekend ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

We loved this Inn. It was perfect for our 2 night anniversary weekend with no kids. The West Cliff Inn is a great place for couples but I would definitely recommend not bringing kids here just because it is designed for people like us who were trying to have a relaxing kid-free weekend. The staff were helpful with recommendations and directions and the food was delicious. The Inn is decorated beautifully and has all the amenities we expected. We stayed in room 8 on the top floor which had the biggest jacuzzi tub that I have ever seen. It also had a nice sitting area and a great(but small) view of the ocean. It is a very short walk to the beach, pier and Boardwalk. There are several restaurants within walking distance but I would highly recommend the drive to "Shadowbrook" for a special meal. Overall, an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandrbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    67
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
34
242
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

In Santa Cruz, the sun appears to set in the north. Actually, it is the west but it is the shape of the bay that gives that illusion. The West Cliff Inn has a magnificent view of the Pacific Ocean and is a romantic B & B that will not disappoint. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are lovely with divine beds and great views. Sip wine while watchingthe sun dip into the Pacific Ocean as you consider where to eat dinner. Hint: just across the street! Ask the staff!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurocat75005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

We booked this hotel last minute after reading other hotel/motel reviews. It was fantastic - the service, location, room. Etc. We had the King Spa and enjoyed the ocean view from the bedroom. The service was great and the free breakfast sufficient. And the best part was the rate we paid. The hotel was offering great winter rates which we jumped on. Overall, a great experience. We will stay there again when we return to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

We got a great rate, so this great spot seemed extra good. It was nice to have a B&B with a good breakfast and wine and appetizers in the late afternoon. Location is great for walking to the pier or downtown to dinner.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EncinitasLolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

My Husband and I have been to West Cliff several times. Its a short trip over the hill for last minute get away and West Cliff has almost always been able to accommodate our needs, unless it was a very busy weekend. This particular deal came through on our email specials, one night free. So I booked a suite with the jacuzzi outside on the private balcony. We have always stayed downstairs before in a smaller room, not bad - just small. Room #5 was a welcome change and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The bed however, was not as comfortable as I remember the ones downstairs to be. I loved the jacuzzi it helped my back out and made up for the stiff bed. The staff there is always friendly and helpful, however this time one lady I asked for help was not the most friendly, turns out she was the manager. Whoops! Oh, well - she ended up being more friendly later. The room is usually very clean, my only complaint this time is the mirror behind the door was dirty and smeared with fingerprints. I like to feel as if I am the first person in a room - that didn't help. But it wasn't the worst thing ever.
My favorite thing to do there is borrow the bikes and take off down West Cliff, watch the surfers, the dogs playing and sometimes seeing the Monarchs fly. We always stop on the wharf and eat and make a day of it. FANTASTIC! Night life in Santa Cruz is pretty dead, but the Crow's nest stays open and has a band, The Shadowbrook in Capitola has good food, and if you want to be more physical there is the boardwalk, even in the winter you can play mini golf inside, play the arcade games, or cross the street and bowl.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

This place is perfect for a romantic stay. We loved our room, hot tub and fireplace. Though we didn't have an ocean view, the other features of the room made up for it. The breakfast in bed feature ($5 extra per person) was an incredible feature. We also really liked the wine and hors doeurves in the afternoon.
We had a minor issue with the fireplace, but luckily we caught the receptionist before the desk closed at 8pm. The only other issue was that there was a family with a small (VERY LOUD) child staying in the room next to us. I understand that it might be bad for business to ban children, but given the ambiance of the place, I'm surprised people would want to bring their children there. The Dream Inn is a perfectly nice, four star, child-appropriate hotel right across the street and also on the ocean. I really hope folks will choose to bring their kids there!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

The West Cliff Inn ranks among one of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed. My teenaged daughter and I had a room with a very large deck with hot tub overlooking the Monterey Bay, and every room in this once-Victorian-era home is beautiful. (I asked for a tour!). The breakfasts were consistently very good, and a wine hour in early evening is an excellent way to meet fellow guests, if one desires. Truly exquisite, and extremely reasonably priced. The inn is located right at the breathtaking walk along the Pacific Ocean beginning north of the beach boardwalk, so excellent exercise before breakfast or at sunset (or any time!) is right at the foot of the front stairs,

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn

Property: West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Address: 174 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff across from the beach, West Cliff Inn is a renovated historic building offering well appointed guestrooms and a fabulous coastal location. This Four Sisters Inn is a three-story Italianate Victorian with a wraparound porch offering views of the Monterey Bay. The inn features a breezy, coastal decor with fabrics in crisp blues and whites and the well-appointed guestrooms feature a fireplace, a marble tile bathroom, and most offer a jetted spa tub and king bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Cliff Inn, a 4 Sisters Inn
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Cruz
West Cliff Hotel
West Cliff Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing