We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
Nearby Hotels
Mission Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$150
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Inn(Santa Cruz)
US$586
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$455
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beach Street Inn and Suites(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
260
76
17
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
76
17
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon winedumb waiterwine and appetizerswine receptionbay windowgas fireplacebeach bungalowold victorianbreakfast was deliciouspublic areasfavorite roomhomemade cookiesdeluxe kingyour luggagespa roomthe main housejacuzzi tub
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This Inn is a lovingly restored 1877 Italian Victorian and sits atop a hill overlooking the Santa Cruz boardwalk and beach. Normally too expensive for us, their Winter Deals are great and earn the 4-star rating for "value". FABULOUS beds and bedding, huge bathrooms, 14 ft ceilings, fireplaces, coffee/tea/cookes, big breakfast, late afternoon appetizers and wine.....and tons of history. There are two verandas/porches for warm weather relaxation and great views. The only drawback is their "cottage"....we had a peek at it and I would not recommend that particular space. Otherwise, it's a very very nice Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester9cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Although I love the look of a good old Victorian home, I'm always nervous about what that interior might look like if it's a B&B type.

Have no fear, this pristine white-painted inn across from the Santa Cruz wharf is updated, historically elegant, modernly refined, and simply a pleasure to look at from any vantage point!

Top that off with excellent service, rooms with views, fireplaces, sitting areas, jet tubs, marble bathrooms, afternoon wine and snacks, morning breakfast... there's just nothing we didn't like about this place.

It was also extremely relaxing! Can't wait to return! We stayed in Room 3, the best room in the house; check out my photos. They had a Fall Harvest special going on which was a great discount. I also recommend Shadowbrook in Capitola -- very nice restaurant and their website doesn't do them justice in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling-bookgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

After reading two totally conflicting reviews of the West Cliff Inn cottage, I and my wife were a bit nervous about making the reservation, after all, the negative review described the cottage as something like a "shed in the back". We decided to risk making the reservation because we wanted to bring our small dog Bailey and the cottage was our best option pricewise for bed & breakfast type lodging near the beach in Santa Cruz. After staying for one night we definitely agree with the positive review. While the room was small, it was well appointed and a perfect situation given that we were traveling with our pet (Bailey was given his own bed and unlimited treats) and, in addition, there are a lot of positives that go along with staying at the West Cliff Inn. The staff are the friendliest I have ever met. The included breakfast was wonderful. When we checked out we were even sent on our way with warm, freshly baked oatmeal cookies. Since pets aren't allowed in the main house, the cottage allowed us to take our dog and still have all of the amenities enjoyed by other guests along with even greater privacy. Before we checked out we took a very nice stroll along the beach just across the street from the Inn. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osobear65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Yes, the inn is over 100 years old and looks charming from the exterior, but it's sorely in need of some upgrades. Fortunately, the walls are thick or we would have been woken up at dawn by a whining and crying toddler. Several of the inn's staff were pleasant and friendly; one young woman gave us some good recommendations for nearby attractions, but one clearly would have preferred to be somewhere else and needs to toss her attitude. We ignored her. Breakfast was good but skip the wine in the late afternoon - it wasn't good and this is California wine country. Also, as mentioned, the inn is tired and worn - the paint is peeling in places, and the towels are so thin that it's hard to get dry after a shower. That said, the location is good - right next to the water and the boardwalk; and downtown is just a short drive. Would I recommend this place - probably not. There must be better places around Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upperwestsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Housed in a beautiful, restored 1877 Italianate Victorian house on a low bluff overlooking the bay, the inn is intimate, offering only 9 or 10 rooms. Our room (#2) was very attractive and comfortable though not large, with high ceilings, tall windows and sea life-themed art. This was a handicap accessible room on the ground floor with a large roll/walk-in shower in a bright and roomy white marble bathroom. All rooms are heated by gas fireplaces and have free wireless internet.

The common areas, including a porch, balcony and sunny living room, are inviting spaces to gather and enjoy complimentary afternoon wine, homemade cookies, coffee or the small buffet breakfast (house-baked goods, eggs, fruit). For a supplement, breakfast can be delivered to your room.

The inn is just uphill from the Santa Cruz Wharf, a short walk to the Beach Boardwalk, and a 15 minute walk to downtown, making the on-site parking very handy.

TIPS: Rooms 1 and 2 are on the ground floor and exposed to noise from the public spaces. Being by the foot of the stairs made our room rather noisy since most other guests had to climb past.

Also note the front desk closes from 8pm to 8am.

The only real downside was that I wish housekeeping had paid more attention to detail!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews