We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO VALUE INN SANTA CRUZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Surly staff, no privacy, not clean, no value, not as advertised.
Room shoe box sized, and NO privacy - Hear EVERYTHING in adjoining rooms - EVERY movement in others bathrooms and bedrooms EEEEK. Pubic hairs on bathroom walls and floor.
Breakfast - no milk no cereal and no replacement of items so if not first to breakfast, no choice.
Internet unreliable, no fridge in room and must pay for ice.
Arrived and paid and told manager we booked this place for the swimming pool, only response - "no pool". Advertised as with pool 4 stars and more - No pool, No stars and less.
Stay elsewhere - lots of choices in this and better areas of Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsGoFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisantacruzhotel, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent attempt to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk during your recent visit to our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again decide to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

reminded me of the old style motor inns..we pleased with our two bedrooms..perfect for traveling w/kids..pastries, coffee and juice too. staff very pleasant. three blocks from boardwalk with one slight hill..(only an issue if you have lung problems we just walked slower)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Convenient location and quieter in rooms overlooking the car park. Rooms are comfortable but the ones overlooking the road can be a bit noisy. Adequate breakfast. Convenient location with the beach and town within reasonable walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This is a standard hotel which has a great location. It's only two blocks from the beach. They have great service and are willing to help. Every request I had they were willing to help. They even upgraded my room for free! For the money paid it was great. Good value. I would stay again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmoore21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpanchal, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2011

Thank you for your feedback, we strive to provide you with the best accomodations at the most reasonable rates. We look forward to your return stay and appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We booked 3-day suites, ~$550. Since we couldn't make the trip, we called the travel agent who booked for us and requested for refund. The agent was ok'ed because the credit card had not been charged yet and the hotel did not even receive the confirmation fax since it was 10 days before the trip. The hotel manager agreed to save the credit for future stay whenever there was room available but mentioned no need to issue any written proof of credit. He did not mention any expiration date. We called twice and was told no room available for the dates we requested. One year later, we called again and was told credit was expired. The travel agent advised that they were supposed to charge at most one night even for non-refundable reservation and it was totally upto the owner if he/she cared about their creditability or not. We were eventually tired of calling anybody and took the $550 of loss...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shucui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vpanchal, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2011

We apologize for your inconvenience. The promotional package that you booked was non-refundable and we tried to accomodate you by giving you an extension on the time frame in which you could use in the same calendar year. There was an expiration date on the extension offered and we received no communication from you in that time frame and when you called the following year the extension was expired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

If you enjoy rooms where you can literally hear every word of the person in the adjoining room through a paper-thin wall then by all means, book (no joke, we could hear the guy snoring, sighing, using the bathroom and complaining his room had no toiletries).
Staff refused to move us to another of their MANY empty rooms after bad sleep - instead trying to drag another $10 out of us. BOOK AT THE QUALITY INN down the road!! For just $8 more we found the best place, and wished we had booked there for the entire trip. Save yourself a headache and skip this one.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honesttraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisantacruzhotel, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk during your recent visit to our area.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by noises from the next room.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is much appreciated. Upon the receipt of your review the following action was taken:

• The staff received additional training concerning the courteous manner in which our valued guests are to be treated.

I hope that the next time you visit our area you will once again choose to stay at the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

I wouldnt recommend this motel due to the following reasons, cold damp rooms, there was a blow heater but it was full of dust inside, when turned on all the dust went around the room and a very strange smell came out of it. Hairs in the bath, on the floor and in the bed. Breakfast was the worst ever! Bad coffee, disgusting oj, a small cinnamon pastry thing and bruised fruit! I took the flu shortly after leaving this motel as i was freezing cold in bed every night.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mauigirlaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisantacruzhotel, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk during your recent visit to our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is much appreciated. I am very sorry to
hear about your flu, I hope that you are completely over it now.

Upon the receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The maintenance staff was instructed to inspect the heater in the room which was assigned to you and make sure that it is in proper working order.

• The housekeeping staff received additional training in meeting the level of cleanliness which they are to maintain as our employees.

• The staff in charge of the breakfasts received additional training in what is expected of them in presenting a proper breakfast for our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.4 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#49 of 54 in Santa Cruz
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#38 of 54 in Santa Cruz
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Islander Motel
The Islander Motel
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk

Address: 505 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5123
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £52 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk Hotel Santa Cruz
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Boardwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing