We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We paid $55 for one nights stopover, it was ok, room was freezing cold and heater was extremely loud, saying that the room was clean and all we needed for a one nights stay. Breakfast was very basic, cereal, toast, tea coffee and juice. Staff wre friendly enough. Couldn't get the wifi to work.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in January. The accommodation was basic but clean, we wanted to stay somewhere cheap and we got what we paid for. We bought food in Whole Foods which we ate at the table in our room then we walked into town to go for some drinks. I would not recommend walking into town, it is a very quiet stretch of road, so just based on general safety awareness a taxi would be a better option. I think the cab home cost approx $10 including a tip.

We were woken up pretty early Sunday morning as there isn't really soundproofing between the rooms so when the occupants of the room next door got up we were awoken too.

As I said above, if you are looking for somewhere cheap and clean then this is as good as anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublin1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed here before and it was ok. This time it was horrible. The only positive was we didn't find bedbugs. They even charge 25 cents for ice! The smell was horrible and there were cigarette burns in the bedding.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisantacruzhotel, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following step was taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Management was very friendly & helpful. Room was clean & quite. Breakfast was much better than other places, three chices of bread, big range of pastrys, fresh fruit, different cerals, juice, coffee, tea, even caramel syrup for your coffee..

We would recommend this place, good value for money!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holmsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was a very enjoyable stay. The location was excellent, walking distance from the boardwalk and beach. The hotel was old but well maintained, friendly staff and clean rooms. Decent price, we'll be staying here again.

Room Tip: suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Surly staff, no privacy, not clean, no value, not as advertised.
Room shoe box sized, and NO privacy - Hear EVERYTHING in adjoining rooms - EVERY movement in others bathrooms and bedrooms EEEEK. Pubic hairs on bathroom walls and floor.
Breakfast - no milk no cereal and no replacement of items so if not first to breakfast, no choice.
Internet unreliable, no fridge in room and must pay for ice.
Arrived and paid and told manager we booked this place for the swimming pool, only response - "no pool". Advertised as with pool 4 stars and more - No pool, No stars and less.
Stay elsewhere - lots of choices in this and better areas of Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsGoFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvisantacruzhotel, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent attempt to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk during your recent visit to our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again decide to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

reminded me of the old style motor inns..we pleased with our two bedrooms..perfect for traveling w/kids..pastries, coffee and juice too. staff very pleasant. three blocks from boardwalk with one slight hill..(only an issue if you have lung problems we just walked slower)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#31 of 54 in Santa Cruz
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Islander Motel
The Islander Motel
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hitching Post Studios Inn
Hitching Post Studios Inn
#32 of 54 in Santa Cruz
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Front Inn
Bay Front Inn
#41 of 54 in Santa Cruz
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk

Address: 505 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5123
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £52 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk Hotel Santa Cruz
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Boardwalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing