We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most luxurious stay.”
Review of Babbling Brook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babbling Brook Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A most luxurious stay.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Babbling Brook Inn is infused with an ambiance of peaceful serenity. Its grounds are lush with of foliage, giving it a distinct sense of seclusion. We stayed in a room called the Contessa, which featured two large feather beds, and a cozy gas fireplace that was flanked on either side by shelves that held am impressive array of books. Sam, our gracious concierge, greeted us with delicious homemade cookies at check in, and we found Sweet Dreams chocolates resting on soft throws on our beds. Each evening, we were invited to enjoy to self-serve wine and ample assorted hors d'oeuvres in the parlor, where the hearth seemed always to be aglow. The breakfasts were delectable and filling. One morning, Sam served us generous portions of quiche, the next morning we woke up to perfect waffles, and both were beautifully presented. Self serve fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, orange juice, cereals, and etc., rounded out our morning meals. We spent much of our time there playing games in the living room, conversing with other guests, reading and relaxing, with occasional excursions into downtown Santa Cruz. All in all, we could not have picked a better inn for our family getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flamingo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    64
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
196
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We chose this hotel online at the last minute, and we were very pleasantly surprised. Smart and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Very nice rooms. Near everything in Santa Cruz city, but calm and cool surroundings. The "babbling brook" is not just the name!

Room Tip: Both rooms that we had were beautiful and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimpulcrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a lovely place to stay. although located on a busy road when you are in your room it is like you are staying in the countryside . Our room (Sisley) was lovely, so clean and comfortable and the garden surrounding the rooms so nice. We stayed 2 nights and breakfast was good both mornings. Staff very attentive and helpful. The only negative thing I have to say is the tables in the breakfast area do not leave a lot room to manoeuvre, and there seemed to be too many tables in a small area. Would definitely recommend the Babbling Brook.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiburon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Last minute reservations. Easy check in. The staff are on top of every thing, from cab fare to dinner reservations. Morning breakfast was very good. Different each day, and if you did not care for what's being served, just ask for what you want.
Close in to every thing. Room is a tad small, but with the deck, who cares.
We will be back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is better. Away from Laural Street. Lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was a great place to stay while visiting UCSC with my daughter (the campus is less than 10 minutes away) and we both found the Babbling Brook Inn enchanting. I stayed in room 106 (Pissarro) which, although it was a first floor room, was filled with light and had a lovely garden view and balcony. The bathroom is small, but has a jacuzzi and the electric fireplace (and space heater) made me feel cozy and warm. It was also quiet --great for sleeping -- even though the inn is on a somewhat busy street. There is also free parking.

Even though you are close to downtown, the serene atmosphere of the garden and the sound of the waterwheel make you feel as if you are far from civilization. The attention to detail at this inn is phenomenal. We happened to be here for Easter and we walked in to breakfast on Easter morning to find not only the usual croissants, yogurt, fresh fruit, granola, but also dyed Easter eggs and multicolor pastel yogurt parfaits topped off by Peeps marshmallow chicks. They also served a scrumptious Eggs Benedict one morning and blueberry pancakes with sausages the next morning. So this is no mere continental breakfast.

The afternoon wine and cheese was also a cut above the rest. There were five types of cheese, dates, breads, crackers, vegetable crudites and dip, specialty balsamic vinegars and olive oils. Plenty to eat and drink, not to mention the homemade cookies.

There are tables both inside and outside on the deck where you can sit and relax during breakfast or wine and cheese (and non alcoholic beverages are also offered). The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful with restaurant suggestions and driving directions.

In short, there was nothing to detract from a great experience. We recommend it highly and will look forward to a return visit.

Tip: Make your reservations early, particularly if you are staying during the weekend, as it does get filled up quickly with returning local guests here for a weekend retreat.

Room Tip: Pissarro (room 106) was on the first floor, but filled with light and quiet for sleeping. Very quai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandrasmom817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Got recommended to visit Babbling brook by a friend, and we were very satisfied with the overall experience. Great service, very personal, intimate feeling, nice cozy breakfast, clean and cute rooms. Hope to be back and would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I just came home from a tour of UCSC with my son and we stayed here at the Babbling Brook ...maybe a splurge for a college tour trip, but worth every penny, and hey, how much time will I have left to enjoy one on one with my son! Very close to campus (but still recommend driving). Very close to all the fun in SC! The breakfast and wine/finger foods hour was excellent - a perfect blend of host/hostess/guests mingling and assisting you with your travel plans while in SC - and a little privacy too, plenty of tables for two to just enjoy your travel companion if you aren't in the mood to socialize. I always look for this balance at a b&b. You can walk to shops/restaurants in down town, basically the Inn is in a pretty nice residential area, if you are a walker, I felt pretty safe. I really can't say enough about the staff - I am so sorry I don't have their names to thank them in person - but an adorable/very intelligent and sharp UCSC grad and local hosted us every eve, and a wonderfully bright and interesting guy prepared our bfast and helped us along with our day in the am. Both, exceptionally pleasant people (rare finds) and these two made everything about this lovely place warm, comfortable and also relaxing. ps - owners - they two gems need pay increases!
(and a paralegal position!!) You will be happy if you choose this place, even if B&B's aren't your thing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertgroupgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.7 mi away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
596 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babbling Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbling Brook Inn

Property: Babbling Brook Inn
Address: 1025 Laurel St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4237
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Babbling Brook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic bed and breakfast offers 13 guestrooms, each with cozy feather beds and private baths, and many include fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Delight in sumptuous fresh-baked cookies upon arrival, and join us in the 90-year old main house each day for a homemade breakfast, and afternoon wine and cheese service. The Babbling Brook Inn is a romantic oasis, offering a unique and rustic retreat within the vibrant beach side community of Santa Cruz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Babbling Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbling Brook Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing