We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad neighborhood drags down hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #50 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Napa, CA
2 reviews
“Bad neighborhood drags down hotel”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

If you're okay with homeless, drug using, disheveled, young men being in the room next door, than this is the lodging for you! We were kept awake by loud voices in the hallway, shady characters hanging around the parking lot and a general sense of unease as we watched men in their late teens coupled up and paying cash with older men for a room. I was in this hotel with my teenage daughter, we had come to cheek out the UC, and once we got into the room, we didn't dare venture out to use the pool or hot tub. This is not a family place at all. At 6 AM, we bolted out of bed as screams emanated from the parking lot. A woman and man were screaming, swearing and beating on each other. Apparently, he still owed her money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    30
    29
    17
    51
See reviews for
44
58
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Having to travel with a pet for the first time it was hard to find a good place to stay in Santa Cruz. Thankful we found the Pacific Inn. Not only was the price right so was the inn! Clean and very friendly. The hot tub was a bonus. We'll be staying here very time we're in Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: Take your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliCouple101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I have been going to pacific Inn for many years and have felt safe. The rooms are clean and the staff are great and helpful. The price is good and not to expensive also it is not so far form the beach and boardwalk. I have never had any complaints about this Inn and will go back again .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mljmljj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here even after reading some scary reviews. We found the property acceptable for the price in Santa Cruz, we felt safe there and the management seemed engaged and eager to help. This is not the ritz, but after a day at the beach, the room was clean and the breakfast had the best homemade bread. Toasted, the bread was great. Juice, coffee, oatmeal and fruit also were free. I did not use the pool but I saw other guests using it. Santa Cruz has lots to do so we did not spend time hanging around the property. I would stay there again. If you are expecting a super modern hotel, this is not your place. If you want a nice room at a good price, this should work.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Level Contributor
287 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The owner was very friendly and helpful. Everything in our room was in working order. The bed was comfortable and the neighborhood was quiet. The maid could be more detail oriented. The corners and lamp shades in our room needed dusting. The owner provided an ethernet cable and internet service was great. Breakfast included cereals, bagels, pastries and home baked bread. The coffee was better than most hotels. The hotel is in a pocket of poverty, but we didn't experience any problems. It's within walking distance of several restaurants, the boardwalk, warf and shopping. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but they looked clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel has so much potential! Replace the carpets, paint the walls, fix the windows, bulldoze the entire block surrounding it...and voila! Super cute. But alas, this is not so. First off, we paid way too much for this hotel, but it was in the middle of summer, so, our bad. And instead of two queen beds as ordered, me, my husband and our two children got to sleep together in one king bed. Yay. The walls and carpets are dirty. The bathroom is dirty (try not to look at the shower curtain and DON'T let it touch you while you're in there!). The bed had a long black hair in it, which I am praying was from the maid. And from her head. The windows are cute looking, but don't shut properly and they look out onto the lovely crackhead apartments next door. Seriously. Crackhead. I was planning on taking the boys in the pool, but while it advertised and indoor pool, it's more half-under an outdoor walkway, half-out in the open kind of pool. And the towels in our bathroom were stained. Every one. Stained. So we traded them at the front desk for...more stained towels. NOT cool. My advice is to splurge on a nice hotel like the Hilton and budget your money elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacinn, Manager at Pacific Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Sorry for the misunderstanding concerning the actual status of our pool. As i have said in a previous response the labeling of out pool has been incorrect on several websites. This is a holdover from previous managment, and will be addressed in the near future.
There is a concerted effort from several local businesses to try and clean up the 'Beach Flats' area. This is an ongoing project though and may take some time. I assure you though our property is perfectly safe. We feature a cameras and staff on site 24 hours a day should you have any issues.
We have also spoken to our houskeepers, and can assure you that they have been redoubling their efforts as of late.
Thank you for your valued input.
The Managment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

sacramento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

After staying at the big 6 motel on riverside, we checked out and call Pacific Inn for a room, the guy Alan was so nice and told me Yes he had a room for us so we reserved the room while spending the day at the beach. We checked in and the room was so clean and nice. I went to look at the pool and it wad so beautiful, I went back and put my suit on and went for a swim in the heated pool...so relaxing...Breakfast in the morning was more than just continental, They serve freshly baked bread and muffins, cold cereal, bagels, danish, oatmeal, coffee, hot cocoa, tea, Orange juice, Apple juice, fresh strawberries!!

Please stay at this hotel, its so nice and the price is great too!!...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razzyroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 330 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4634 (Formerly Hotel PURE Pacific Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Mediterranean-style hotel in Santa Cruz Pacific Inn is just blocks from the boardwalk and Santa Cruz Beaches. Choose from several accommodation options with high-speed wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and premium cable TV. For added luxury, we also have an enclosed heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and Sauna. Enjoy the extended complimentary continental breakfast to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Pacific Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel International Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing