We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager nice but useless in stopping disturbance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I saw the reviews before I came. So i called the hotel to ask if they were aware of this and the manager told me that they had fixed all the problems. She sounded really sincere. But, The bad neighborhood, I'm suffering from it right now. Music blasting from a car parked for the last couple of hours outside our window. My worst nightmere when staying at a hotel-crazy people yelling and partying with no one stopping them. ugh... I just rolled up tissue paper for my ears and will double up on sleeping pills. Also, the wifi apparently works for the office, but not for us, so they were of no help when we said we couldn't even see the hotel come up on wifi spots when our smart phones looked for a hot spot. The new carpets that the manager told me would be installed by the time we were here, were not installed. Our room "the largest one" is right in the lobby and next to the stairs to the indoor pool, so we heard every screaming kid playing in the pool. Every shreik, laugh word splash, everything. Combined with the old dingy room itself and the music below me the money savings wasnt worth it.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hairflippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacinn, Manager at Pacific Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback. It is important that we hear from our guest, about their stay. I do apologize for the noise during your stay. We are working with the management of the apartments next door to help us maintain a peaceful stay for our guest. We take your concerns very seriously and make every effort to keep noise at a minimum, and make sure to close the pool area at 10pm.
Unfortunately there was a delay in the installation of the carpet, but we are in the process of completing the install this week. We are also, painting the rooms and will be putting the new bedding etc as soon as the carpet is layed.
I do hope that you will visit again and see all the new improvements.
Sincerely,
Philis Byrd, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

I could see from previous stays that there has been definite improvements made to the rooms. I also met a new manager. She was very helpful, informative and knew the area well. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler, especially those with children or pets. I really liked the enclosed pool and spa.

Room Tip: i stayed in the downstairs room and thoroughly enjoyed the extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

After growing up in the Bay Area, attending UCSC and living in Santa Cruz for 5 years, I had never actually stayed in a hotel/motel/inn in Santa Cruz. Looking for a quick weekend getaway, we drove up on a Saturday night after choosing this place based on the thumbnail pic in their profile (the majestic Spanish-style architecture). While a lovely hotel in its own right, the location does leave something to be desired. The service and pleasantries (or lack thereof) leaves quite a bit to be desired. This will be our main reason for looking elsewhere on our next trip - drop the attitude; you work at a beach-side hotel, not a graveyard shift at a 7-11. Those of us vacationing aren't anticipating a [--] at the counter.

Highlights included the pool/spa (though someone did walk up to the window and stare in at us...kinda weird), and the deluxe room with the whirlpool tub. Cleanliness was a 3 out of 5, though the things that counted (sheets, bed, toilet, sink) were clean. The walls/ windows, eh. Breakfast included cereal, packaged danishes/ bagels, and coffee. I found a pack of oatmeal and sort of felt like I hit the lottery. :-)

I liked the overall vibe of the place, and met some pretty nice folks down at the pool. Hostel-type travelers, and it did feel a bit like staying at a swanky hostel (rather than a slightly down-trodden hotel). Knowing what I already knew about SC, you're not going to get killed in the area, but we did have some guests commenting to us about the frequency of sirens. I recommend the Howard Johnson or Dream Inn if you're looking for the quaint SC experience. There are also some nice B&B's on West Cliff.

Does the trick for area locals; if you're making the trip from afar, however, you might want to price up a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

When an establishment is lucky enough to have a loyal customer, that customer should be valued and treated with respect. Apparently this is not a policy of Pacific Inn in Santa Cruz.

For over a decade we have chosen them to stay with. We are a quiet family and we spend $3-$4000 annually with them. We leave the room clean and are respectful of them. Way back 'when' they charged us a $100 deposit and even dropped that as they got to know us.

Now, all of a sudden, we are being asked for a $300 deposit. Yes, improvements are being made - new TVs, etc., that they don't want damaged. But they KNOW us. New policies should be applied to new people who are 'unknowns' to them. Nothing wrong with that.
We are 'knowns' to them, however, and I believe that our dealings with them should be grandfathered in. If they choose to not deal with us in the same respectful manner, SOMEONE ELSE WILL appreciate our business!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacinn, General Manager at Pacific Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Loyal Customer,

Please allow me to introduce myself, I am Philis Byrd, the new General Manager at Pacific Inn Santa Cruz.

I understand that you were not treated with the respect that was due you on your last visit. May I please apologize on behalf of the Inn for that.

I hope that you consider coming back to our hotel and rest assured we welcome you.

Please contact me personally at 831-425-3722 to discuss how we rebuild the bridge between us.

Sincerely,

Philis Byrd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

If you're okay with homeless, drug using, disheveled, young men being in the room next door, than this is the lodging for you! We were kept awake by loud voices in the hallway, shady characters hanging around the parking lot and a general sense of unease as we watched men in their late teens coupled up and paying cash with older men for a room. I was in this hotel with my teenage daughter, we had come to cheek out the UC, and once we got into the room, we didn't dare venture out to use the pool or hot tub. This is not a family place at all. At 6 AM, we bolted out of bed as screams emanated from the parking lot. A woman and man were screaming, swearing and beating on each other. Apparently, he still owed her money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Having to travel with a pet for the first time it was hard to find a good place to stay in Santa Cruz. Thankful we found the Pacific Inn. Not only was the price right so was the inn! Clean and very friendly. The hot tub was a bonus. We'll be staying here very time we're in Santa Cruz!

Room Tip: Take your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliCouple101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I have been going to pacific Inn for many years and have felt safe. The rooms are clean and the staff are great and helpful. The price is good and not to expensive also it is not so far form the beach and boardwalk. I have never had any complaints about this Inn and will go back again .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mljmljj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#23 of 54 in Santa Cruz
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#39 of 54 in Santa Cruz
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Santa Cruz

Address: 330 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4634 (Formerly Hotel PURE Pacific Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £54 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Mediterranean-style hotel in Santa Cruz Pacific Inn is just blocks from the boardwalk and Santa Cruz Beaches. Choose from several accommodation options with high-speed wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and premium cable TV. For added luxury, we also have an enclosed heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and Sauna. Enjoy the extended complimentary continental breakfast to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pacific Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel International Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing