We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Torch Lite Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torch Lite Inn
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I was sorely disappointed by the Torch LIte Inn over the Labor Day weekend. Our room had a lovely balcony but the screen door fell OFF when I was opening it. Therefore we could not have any fresh air in the room unless we also wanted whatever else could come in!

There were 4 guests and we were given 3 cups, 3 towels, etc.

I found half a cigarette butt on one of the shelves.

For the amount of money we spent the room was terribly small and unaccomodating.

The complimentary breakfast room was nearly depleted of supplies. Guests were searching in cupboards for cereal and the juice machine was leaking on the counter.

All I can say is pick another place to stay when you are in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnetteSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    31
    18
    19
See reviews for
35
37
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

After overcoming the sticker shock of Boardwalk hotels we we're happily surprised. Close to Boardwalk and attractions. The room was a nice size, beds comfortable and a great size refrigerator for drinks and snacks. Our room overlooked the pool. We didn't use, but a good size for a quick cool off if time had permitted. Overall would recommend for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iten2bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is a perfect place to stay if you will be spending most of your time at the boardwalk. It's an easy 3-4 block walk to the Boardwalk and ocean. The motel is small and has a very basic breakfast--cereal, english muffins, yogurt, juice. It is not luxurious, but the location is great, the parking is free and the outdoor pool is heated. The staff was nice. The maids could be seen mopping the tile walkways each day and it smelled clean. The bathroom fixtures were a little worn and run down, but the water was hot and we really had no complaints. It is not the Hyatt and if you are really picky about hotels, it is not the place for you. If you want a basic place to sleep and easily walk to all the attractions, then it is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChicoMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie P, Public Relations Manager at Torch Lite Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the staff to be helpful & courteous and the room comfortable. We look forward to provide you with an more comfortable & enjoyable stay on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We just spent 2 nights at the Torch Lite Inn in Santa Cruz. Clean hotel, the parking was good (especially considering that once you get to Santa Cruz, their traffic is terrible!), so you can walk about 1 block to the Boardwalk! and about 2 blocks to Pacific Street for shops, restaurants, drinks, coffee, and movies. the family owned business is really working hard to upgrade this 50"s style hotel, and htey have done a good job. the pool area is very nice, the rooms are big enough- 3 of us shared a double bed room. the beds, though- excellent! Had two good nights of sleep. but- Santa Cruz is a town for families and young adults, so no one can escape the sounds of children or teens. I slept soundly, however, the girls next door talked until about 2 am and kept one friend up. the rooms are very clean, and the carpeting and paint are new. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The 200 building faces an alley way, so ask if you can get a room around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FresnoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

the hotel was clean, good location, i wish they had a breakfast. very friendly fron desk. but parking is limited.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at the Torch Lite Inn and it was so bad we left early. There was no ice machine or any thing in the double queen size room we paid for. No refrig, No coffee pot, or a microwave. The manager even opened our door and looked in while we were there. Ill never stay agin!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamiejose015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

- Room size is decent.
- Deco is a bit worn
- WiFi is ok, a little slow
- Towels - maybe 1 outta the four full-size towels had actual towel left. Bath mat could have been a garage towel.
- Refer and micro a plus
Traffic noise is high. The weather was great and the bikers were out. Bring ear plugs and/or turn on room fan.
- Walls are VERY thin - see above
- Not the classiest of places, but....can't really say it was cheap in price. Paid $75 for Fri/Sat and $55 for Sun. But I guess location, location, location is the key.
- Didn't even know they offered a breakfast. Maybe it's just during the week.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#39 of 54 in Santa Cruz
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#50 of 54 in Santa Cruz
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Breeze Inn
Aqua Breeze Inn
#38 of 54 in Santa Cruz
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torch Lite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torch Lite Inn

Property: Torch Lite Inn
Address: 500 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5124
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Torch Lite Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torch Lite Inn is located only 1500 feet from the Santa Cruz Beachboard Walk. Our hotel currently offers Free WiFi, Breakfast, and Parking for our guest. We are located within minutes of Downtown Santa Cruz and UC Santa Cruz as well. Come and enjoy our hospitality at the Torch Lite Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Torch Lite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torch Lite Hotel Santa Cruz
Torch Lite Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing