We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - we'll stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We took an overnight trip to Santa Cruz to visit family and friends. We're a young family and the room arrangement was perfect - 2 queen size beds and a second sitting room with an efficiency sink, fridge and microwave. Facilities are clean and updated. Hotel staff from check-in to house-keeping to the people who set out breakfast were all exceptionally helpful. Breakfast came with our room rate - they put out scrambled eggs, bacon, make-your-own waffles, yogurt, oatmeal, pastries, cereal. The food is good enough to get you on the road, considering it comes with the price of your room. It was an excellent value.

Some other nice things for families:
- Across the street is a gas station with a mini-mart
- Also across the street are a chinese, italian and thai restaurant - we ate at Golden Palace and it was extremely affordable as well as welcoming to our young children
- The parking is covered if you need to ferry stuff back and forth
- We didn't use it but there is a jacuzzi (no pool)

Only possible downsides:
- Ocean is a busy street - the neighborhood is centrally-located but not what you might call a walking area
- Some of the rooms do not seem to have external windows

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an external window as some of them may not have them. Choose a higher floor (so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mom_of_two_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thank you so much for your recent review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and thanks so much for your compliments to the staff. We are very fortunate to be so centrally located, just across the street from several restaurants, and walking distance to downtown. Also thanks for sharing your room tips as this is always something I look for when I am traveling. We look forward to seeing you and your family next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

We were very impressed! We stayed in the family suite that was very roomy and comfortable. The hotel is clean with updated furniture, bedding, and bath fixtures. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kk430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

I am so glad to see that we were able to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to write us a fantastic review and look forward to seeing you next time you are in town. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Nice hotel in good location. Easy parking with nice rooms. Have stayed there several times and never disapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoffmannamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us! We are glad that we are your first choice when your travels bring you to Santa Cruz, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Lacey Goldstein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

There's not much of a selection if you want to be in town in Santa Cruz. I've tried a different place everytime (5 so far) and this is the best one. The rooms are large,and the refrig, TV etc is great. A TV channel list would have been nice. The room was clean execpt for a nasty stain on the chair the housekeepers should have cleaned. I asked for a quite room and still got one next to the street. It's a busy part of town, so I had to use ear plugs. The free breakfast is nice and served a a large area. The parking is under ground with the entrance up at street level. Traveling alone and getting back late at night it didn't feel very safe going from my car into hotel. Loved being able to walk into town to shop. Good value for the price.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the intersection - noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2011

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, over all of the other hotels you have tried in Santa Cruz. We do have TV Channel listings in all of the rooms and I am so sorry to hear that yours was missing. I always appreciate feedback from our guests including places we can improve, so I appreciate your comments. We hope you will choose our hotel next time your travels bring you to Santa Cruz!

Lacey Goldstein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Huge room. Very clean. Very comfortable bed. Not centrally located - a fair walk to the beach boardwalk (15 minutes).

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room on the first floor, southern wall, because you will need all lights on during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumpig69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2011

Thanks so much for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I enjoyed your room tip as we do have several rooms that are darker on the 1st floor. These rooms provide for a great experience for those guests who like to have minimal light shining in their room so they can sleep longer. I know I love to have a very dark room when I travel!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed there this weekend, for 1 night. We had a 2 queen, with a sofa bed. Checkin was quick and front desk was very friendly and willing to help with any directions. The parking lot as I had read is a little tight for a full size SUV, but we survied. We had requested a room with little noise, as we are light sleepers and that was granted. Upon entering the room there was a light funny smell, but we checked in @ 1:30, so we assumed the room hadn't aired out from the prior guest. We quickly left to the boardwalk and returned after 8:00. The smell was still in the room, but we got use to it. Everything about the room was great We left the window open since we couldn't figure out how the ac worked. We could have called down to the front desk but we didn't bother. We choose to enjoy the fresh ocean air. We did call down for extra blankets and towles, they were there within 5 minutes. They were fresh and hot out of the dryer. Breakfast was the typical FREE breakfast with great selections. I will stay here again for sure, price was great and location is 4 minutes from the boardwalk. Thanks BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2011

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I am sorry to hear about the smell in the room you experienced, and appreciate the feedback. I am glad you and your Family of 6 were able to enjoy our complimentary HOT breakfast! We look forward to seeing you next time your in town to enjoy some more of our refreshing ocean air!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel for one night to check out the Capitola Wine Festival and boardwalk in early September. This hotel is in the perfect spot, only about a mile away from the SantaCruz Beach Boardwalk and a few blocks from the downtown district. Our main goal was to stay at a comfortable, clean, hotel, and that's exactly what we got.

There is complimentary breakfast served until 10am, the usual toast, muffins, bacons, and eggs. If you want to book a room with a view of the city, you might want to request that ahead of time. Our room faced a brick wall, which we thought was quite funny, but as mentioned earlier, we were just looking for a central area hotel. This brick wall was not a deal breaker for us.

If you stay here, definitely check out the downtown area. We were surprised to find plenty of restaurants with entertainment, from pizza dough tossing waiters to jazz players. There's a wide variety of restaurants and unique shops to visit, so don't miss out:) Word of advice: Bring plenty of quarters for metered parking. That's basically everywhere, including the boardwalk, unless you want to pay $12 to park in the parking lot.

Room Tip: Bring plenty of change, especially quarters, for metered parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelLover322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGoldstein95060, General Manager at Best Western Plus All Suites Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thanks so much for sharing your experience at our hotel and the local area! That is great advice to always bring change to park in metered parking instead of paying to park at the Boardwalk. Next time you are in town you should take a ride on the trolley which picks up passengers downtown and takes them to the Boardwalk for only $0.25 each way! It is quite the delightful experience and the pickup station downtown is just a little over a half a mile walk. Thanks again for the great tips on our wonderful hotel and city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
4.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus All Suites Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus All Suites Inn

Address: 500 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £87 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus All Suites Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience draws both leisure and business travelers to the BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn. Our entirely non-smoking Santa Cruz, California hotel invites you to enjoy comfortable guestrooms, friendly service, and quality amenities. An ideal location puts guests within one mile of the shops and restaurants of downtown while the beach, which is home to the renowned Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, is less than two miles away. What's more, we're convenient to many other popular attractions, such as the Mystery Spot, Capitola Village, and Roaring Camp Railroads. Wineries, golf courses, state parks, and the University of California at Santa Cruz are also easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus All Suites Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus All Hotel Santa Cruz
Best Western Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing