We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oceana Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and underwhelming”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room was extremely overpriced based on the quality. When we called two days before, we were told we could check in early without issue. The day of check in, it was a different story. Despite overpaying for the room, we were not allowed to check in an hour early, even though our room was ready, without paying an additional $25. The hallways are lined with dirty linens and towels all morning and afternoon as cleaning was being done. I would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    19
    12
    37
See reviews for
28
28
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Based on the reviews I've read, I can't help but believe these were written when the place was under different management. The current owner is very friendly, our room was clean, and it was nice and quiet. It's very apparent that the new owner wants to do the right thing and get this place back on track. The television worked fine, and the ice machine was easy to get to and never failed to produce. They served coffee at the reception office in the morning. The wireless internet worked flawlessly, too. Overall, our stay was very pleasant. Thanks Seema!

Room Tip: Try to stay on the second floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-In-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

worst place I have ever stayed. took family on a trip to California. We stayed up and down the coast. I understand you get what you pay for BUT. Broken bed and lamp. bed was never fixed. dirty rooms and NO help from staff. When we called after returning home just to try and talk to someone no one ever called back. Stay Away...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Brentwood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I went in with low expectations. Paid $113.00.Disgusting with even worse service. Bugs, plugged sink, wet floor. their solution was to put towels over disgusting mystery wet spot. Towels and advice "don't go barefoot in room". Owners words. Owner was obviously a broken man due to the the constant bull he had to deal with. No excuse he was incredibly rude the room was probably criminally dirty, If not it should be a crime. If room is offered free, my advice move on down the road

Room Tip: Stay away from this. Its worse than you think
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little River, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I first chose this hotel for the price, worried why it was cheaper than most.
Well I was pleasantly surprised!! This is a wonderful hotel with nice staff and excellent location. So convenient to go downtown right on Soquel. Quiet rooms. Nice beds. I'd recommend this to friends and family, can't beat the price, too !! I'll come again when I can ! My new spot !

Room Tip: Upstairs inside the locked hallway, those rooms are nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajita_Krishna_Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I recently stayed here and found blood on the bathroom wall, blood on the curtains and worst of all, blood on my pillow!!!! We were refused and sort of compensation when brought to managments attention and the owner left town to avoid the situation! This place has the worst customer service ever! They did not even give me a replacement pillow for the bloody one! Do not stay here unless you enjoy being disgusted! Whats worse as we paid $180.00 for the night as it was a holiday weekend!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The average rating I give this could go down if you are pickier than I am. I want good price, clean accommodations and quiet sleep. The room was fairly quiet, but there was an air conditioner in the next room that kicked on every hour for about 15 minutes all night long. That woke me again and again. The room smelled like mold which had been ineffectively cleaned, a kind of carpet cleaner/mold essence, no getting around that. They staff gave us extra blankets (we got the last two) it was a very cold night, that was nice. The desk staff were very friendly. Beds (2 queens) were clean and comfortable. TV was a small old school CRT type with few channels and bad reception. We made do with the food channel. "Continental Breakfast" is weak coffee, toast, OJ and two kinds of cereal, served on top of a small credenza, no seating.
The price was 69.00 but with tax went up to 82.00 which I thought was laughable, but we are in Santa Cruz, so even a shack would be pricier here. The motel is just across the river from all the fun stuff, a 5 minute drive, so proximity to everything you want to do here is very good.

Room Tip: Room 261 is right next to a "lounge area" and right above the ice machine and a very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#50 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#25 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solares
Hotel Solares
#40 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Oceana Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 525 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-6601
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceana Inn Santa Cruz 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Oceana Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Travelodge
Travel Lodge Santa Cruz
Travelodge Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing