We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and lovely stay”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“comfortable and lovely stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Staffs are friendly and polite especially when they serve breakfast in the morning. The towels are clean. The rooms are just like the pictures with good furniture. The TV programs are great. It is very spacious room. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    181
    75
    18
    25
See reviews for
166
146
45
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for a few days while travelling the west coast. The hotel staff were very firiendly and the room was clean and good value. Would definietely recommend

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnd_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We live in San Jose, so only a 45 minute drive, but we were meeting friends for dinner and wanted to spend some extra time at the beach. I was looking for a quiet, reasonably priced place to spend the night.

Our room was on the second floor near the back. There is a lot of traffic on Ocean St., so a room in the back of the property is preferable. We prefer "upstairs," because you never have to listen to a child running back and forth on your ceiling. Looks like an older property, but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We saw trees and flowers, when we looked out our window.

They offer a complimentary breakfast in a small room next to the office and have one of those waffle machines, along with cold cerial, poppy seed cake and sweet rolls. The Santa Cruz Diner, and several other restaurants, are in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Without a plan or much a budget, my partner and I made a spur of the moment trip to Santa Cruz. We were lucky to stumble upon this affordable and well kept inn. The desk staff was friendly, the rooms were exceptionally clean and the continental breakfast was surprisingly complete. While a danish and a splash of orange juice has become customary for similar establishments, the Santa Cruz Quality Inn treated us to fresh coffee and waffles, a selection of cereal, morning pastries, juice, fruit and other healthy snacks. Everything you'd expect from a breakfast diner, right there in the cozy front office. Add some pleasant conversation from the husband and wife owners and you've got excellent rating from this satisfied guest.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabrialmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Visited Santa Cruz to attend at wedding. We decided to go there a couple of days early to see sites and shop providing we could find a good deal at a decent motel. Trip Advisor reviews rated this motel pretty high considering the low daily room rates.
Needless to say, we were apprehensive not knowing what we would find. To our surprise, the rooms, although not fancy, were quite nice, beds were comfortable and each bed had 4 pillows! In my experieince, that's almost unheard of in a low cost motel!
The room had a frig, microwave and a coffe maker. The only thing we didn't like was the in-room coffee...they need to change their brand! Since a coffe house was directly across the street, it wasn't a problem. Continental breakfast was adequate and owners were very cordial.
Although not close to beach or shopping, a 5 minute car ride took care of that. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sargeatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Very clean and the front desk staff very helpful. We were in town to see Cheech and Chong and we parked the car outside our unit and walked to the event and partied the night away.
Can't beat the pricing at Quality Inn and I look forward to going over there hill and staying there again...fran

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, VT
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2010

After being "burned" on our last trip to Santa Cruz, we searched for an alternative and found it here. For only a few more dollars per week more than our last place we got a clean room, attractive room location, good maid service, microwave and fridge, and a nice week's worth of quiet sleep. Some suggestions: Ask for a second floor room on the patio in the rear of the building. You'll get a nice room surrounded by towering palm trees and pines, and a patio with huge geranium planters, and an excellent climate control unit that warmed us on cool nights and cooled us during warm afternoons.

The king-sized bed was very comfortable and freshly made up each day by efficient housekeepers.

The Patels (managers) were sweet and helpful and have been there for many years, and an adequate continental breakfast was served each morning. We were only a few hundred feet from the famed Santa Cruz Diner (great reasonably priced meals) and right across the street from the best ice cream shop in town! Our only complaint? The door lock was occasionally a little balky.

We stayed 7 nights so we certainly had an adequate opportunity to evaluate this location. We'll go back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpinvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.4 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#18 of 54 in Santa Cruz
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
3.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1101 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Hotel in Downtown Santa Cruz, Beach Boardwalk and Wharf:The Quality Inn® hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Highway 17 and Highway 1. Local attractions like the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, Santa Cruz Wharf (with its many shops and fine dining) are close by. The University of California Santa Cruz, Big Basin Redwoods State Park, Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park and Roaring Camp Railroad are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Santa Cruz
Quality Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing