We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, with the management working hard to improve it”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I were visiting my sister in Santa Cruz, and needed an inexpensive hotel for our stay that had reviewed fairly well. This filled the bill. The room was large, the breakfast was Quality Inn standard but with special care taken by management to spiff the room up a bit beyond the usual Quality Inn ambience, and all in all we enjoyed our sojourn here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Quality Inn in Santa Cruz, CA. It was a busy weekend, but my stay was very enjoyable. The staff was very helpful, the room clean and spacious, and the location perfect for my needs. I will stay there again. I loved the large pots of tall geraniums!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marsha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel has become my go to spot when I visit Santa Cruz. The rooms have nice TV's, refrigerators, and microwaves. The prices are very reasonable for the area. The hotel is close to the beach, amusement park, and downtown Santa Cruz if you are driving. The area is quiet and the freeway entrance is not far away. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Upndra is a very nice guy and I will look forward to visiting with him the next time I am in town. Cary Foster 7/26/13

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel was a great value for the price we paid. The room was spacious and clean. I liked that the shower was tall and the tub wide enough to where you don't feel squished while getting cleaned up. The bathroom and kitchenette area is around the corner in your room...so it feels like the room is larger. Also, the bathroom is well appointed with granite countertops and marble in the shower.

Up the block is Santa Cruz Diner. Highly recommend this place for a meal. Service is exceptional and the food is great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Pleasant, helpful front desk and housekeeping staff. Everything seemed clean and well-maintained, which is especially important for an older property. Prices are reasonable for the area (about $90 with tax for a mid-week single). Wi-Fi was agonizingly slow at times, and the window curtains could almost be described as sheer. But they had nice fluffy towels. The property has apparently changed hands recently and is undergoing improvements on an on-going basis. They encourage (and presumably act upon) guest comments.

Not particularly close to the beaches, boardwalk, or downtown shopping/arts area, but not too much of a drive (although you may have trouble finding parking when you get where you're going).

Breakfast was the usual carbs (including M.Y.O. waffles) plus hard boiled eggs and sausage links. The breakfast room was small enough to get very crowded quickly. For something more substantial, the Santa Cruz Diner is a very short walk up Ocean St. They serve breakfast 24 hours, also lunch and dinner. The food isn't great, but okay. They claim Guy Fieri from the Food Channel (Triple D) ate there. Also a 24 hour McDonald’s on Ocean St. two blocks in the other direction.

Overall it's a good choice unless you really need to be close to the beaches.

Room Tip: The ice machine is outside just a few feet away from the front doors of rooms 109 and 110. Could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The owners where super friendly, and the room was huge. We really enjoyed this stay. Parking and internet is free which is a big plus for me. It was a bit far away from the boardwalk and the beach, but if you have a car its not a problem. Breakfast was great as well. Would really like to come back to Qulity Inn and Santa Cruz!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I think the theme of our trip through California has been "old". Old roads, old trains, old motels. This Quality Inn looks like it was really something - in 1968. Don't get me wrong, this is NOT run-down by any means. However, its better days are definitely behind it.

The good - this was an adequate, clean room off the 2nd floor patio (tile and trees - it still has charm)
The not-so-good - Security latch screws were all loose (fixed with my pocket knife screwdriver); loose tiles on the floor below correspond to the crack in the ceiling above (likely a reminder of past earthquakes in the area?)

Breakfast was not worth stopping for - no protein, all breads/pastries/cereals (not good for all of you diabetics out there) - we elected to visit Jack-in-the-Box, instead.

Given all of that, one must remember that this is Santa Cruz...an interesting and eclectic place. The Quality Inn is less than 10 minutes from the Boardwalk and Wharf (good food there), and a few more minutes to Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park. So this is not a bad starting point.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTrippersWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualityca561, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for the feedback it is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,893 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.3 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1101 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £57 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Hotel in Downtown Santa Cruz, Beach Boardwalk and Wharf:The Quality Inn® hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Highway 17 and Highway 1. Local attractions like the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, Santa Cruz Wharf (with its many shops and fine dining) are close by. The University of California Santa Cruz, Big Basin Redwoods State Park, Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park and Roaring Camp Railroad are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Santa Cruz
Quality Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing