We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The room is very clean, and has everything we needed- microwave, fridge, safe. The bed is comfy and hard.staff was friendly.it was A bit expensive for a 2 stars motel but we would stay rhere again! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don_cervera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    178
    71
    18
    25
See reviews for
160
140
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

People looking for a new, modern place to stay should not stay here. But travelers looking for clean, value-priced, centrally located lodging should give it a try. Front desk/owner was very nice, let me check in early around 2pm. Room had large TV, nice refrigerator, and was clean. Like i said, it is an older property and the room was somewhat musty, but those who travel frequently understand what they are getting ahead of time. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is not a hotel. It is a motel. Room was dated, smelled badly and you could hear all sorts of outside noises. Bathroom had cracked and wobbly tiles and sink grouting falling apart. Breakfast was in a teeny, tiny room and was pathetic. Overpriced and under-delivered. Seek accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myreview818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Arrived to hotel early, before check in. The front desk guy was very very nice and let me check in early. I had a 3rd floor room in the very back on the hotel. Perfect location, very quiet. Everything was perfect, I liked the large TV and the fridge and microwave. The only thing I had a problem with is I paid for a patio room and the patio was one level under my room and it was a common patio area. Not what I expected. That was my only complaint, so that's not too bad. Bed was clean and comfy. Short drive to the beach and boardwalk. Nice variety of breakfast items to pick from. I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 6 nights, found the refrigerator and microwave helpful. Felt safe, was quiet on the 2nd floor. Had minor complaint (alarm next door going off with no one home), which was taken care of immediately. Brought my own breakfast, would not have been satisfied with the offerings. Room was clean, bed was very comfortable with a nice lightweight quilt, 4 pillows! All the windows open and 2 in the back are small, high for privacy, safety. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the middle to back section, rm 212, with 2 queen beds. There is a patio on the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

even though it is quite cheap (70 USD) it is not worth the money.
it starts with an unfriendly guy at the reception, then goes on with a dark, old fashioned boring room, and ends with an area far away from the beach next to a noisy highway where you can´t do anything...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wueibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The hotel looks unimpressive from the outside and is in an old neighborhood. For weekdays it is a good value; rates on weekends rise significantly as they do at all other hotels in town and at those prices, you may be better off elsewhere. Overall OK but I might consider elsewhere next time.
Pros - Most important, the bedding is good. Rooms are adequate size, microwave and fridge in each room. As another reviewer mentioned, I was disappointed that the fridge was unplugged when I arrived. The rooms have had some modest upgrades in the interior. Room was clean, although a cleaning chemical odor to it when you first walk in. The motel is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown (5 blocks) as well as across the street from famous Marianne's Ice Cream parlour. McDonalds, Togos and a diner are within a block, and the tourist information is within 2 blocks. Front desk service is good. A short drive to the wharf and Boardwalk. Good wifi.
Cons - breakfast area is extremely small, three small tables only. Breakfast is a little below standard compared to other Choice / Quality Inn motels, with fewer choices. Rooms still could use some upgrades: furniture and counter tops are older but not in terrible shape. As is with most older motels, it is a little noisy as the sound proofing is not at today's standards and the neihbor's plumbing can be heard, but noise is tolerable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.4 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#19 of 54 in Santa Cruz
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
0.3 mi away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1101 Ocean St, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-2818
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Hotel in Downtown Santa Cruz, Beach Boardwalk and Wharf:The Quality Inn® hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Highway 17 and Highway 1. Local attractions like the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, Santa Cruz Wharf (with its many shops and fine dining) are close by. The University of California Santa Cruz, Big Basin Redwoods State Park, Henry Cowell Redwoods State Park and Roaring Camp Railroad are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Santa Cruz
Quality Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing