We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usually a very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Usually a very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I sometimes have to stay overnight for work, and I usually choose this hotel. The manager has always been very friendly and accommodating, and the entire staff is quick to correct things, no matter how minor. For instance, the first time I stayed, I was confused about the unusual knob to get a shower instead of filling up the tub. The front desk person, not only explained it, she specially came up to the room to show me. There have been a couple of minor housekeeping issues, like a clogged coffee maker, but they fixed that right away as well. I also liked the wafflemaker to make fresh waffles for breakfast - it makes a nice change of pace.

Room Tip: They recently renovated, so there may still be a couple of minor housekeeping issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiragm123, General Manager at Comfort Inn Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear TKUSA

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Chirag Mehta
GM
Comfort Inn
831-426-2664
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    76
    44
    22
    31
See reviews for
76
77
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Santa Cruz area is not on the cheap end. The rates reflect that reality. Our room was surprisingly quiet given that we were near the front. It was clean, comfortable and met all of our needs. The staff members were very responsive to our needs and questions. It is not a five star hotel, but it is five star in it's category.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvdsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The motel we stayed at did not have the problems others experienced, the facility appeared to have been recently remodeled and may have been part of the problems experienced. Although there is still the limited parking issue where most spaces seem to be sized for compact cars

We arrived late morning for a funeral and manager accommodiated us so we could change clothes for the service.

Being a tourist town, the room rates and availability depend on the day, we paid preimum for Saturday, and $80/night for Sunday and Monday.

The motel is adjacent to the junction of a freeway exit, a major highway and main road into Santa Cruz so there is a lot of traffic and emergency vehicles (but not more than any busy city).

The room was clean and comfortable and the shower worked (body covered and not standing in water.)

Breakfast seemed to exactly match other Comfort Inns we have stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We tried to book a place to stay (one night) the day before we arrived and almost everything was occupied. Every place that had any rooms left was very expensive compared to what you got (about 130 USD for one night is pretty much considering this is a 2 star Inn).
However, we were satisfied with our stay. The location was perfect, only a couple of minutes walk to the beach boardwalk, and maybe a 15 minutes walk downtown.

The room was clean and fresh and had everything we needed. Breakfast was included in the price (coffee, bred, butter, yoghurt, waffles etc) and we enjoyed it very much! It was very nice with just a "simple breakfast" for once!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tusseluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had the misfortune of staying here recently. I was told that the only room available was a suite and, since the town seemed to be sold out, I agreed. However, the hotel was definitely not full that night. To make matters worse, the "suite" turned out to be a tiny room that had a partial wall between the two beds. Unbelievable. But wait, it gets better! We were first given keys to room 225 but although the green light came on, the door wouldn't open. It felt like the metal security bar was preventing the door from opening. The desk clerk (quite friendly) said that others had made similar comments about not being able to open that door, so then reassigned us to room 222. Thankfully, I had placed that same metal security bar after we entered room 222, since about 30 minutes after my mother and I had settled in, a man used a key and opened the door to our room!!! We both screamed and he quickly apologized. When I called the front desk, she said that she'd forgotten to clear the room and had apparently assigned it to that other guy too! We went to use my laptop at the desk squeezed into the corner but there was nowhere to plug it in. When I thought to temporarily unplug either the coffee maker or the desk lamp to use the socket, I discovered that neither was plugged in - because there was nowhere to do so!!! The room was a real dump and I would NEVER stay here again! It was especially offensive because it was so expensive (read more than double), compared to every other room we stayed at during a 2 1/2 week road trip. The only redeeming factor was that both the night and morning clerks were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altadenabirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

Cardiff
Level Contributor
469 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I booked online and got a gr8 rate as a senior. (Do this even right before going to the hotel for the best rates-just have the confirmation on your smartphone or tablet upon arrival)
Then I got an upgrade as a Choice Privileges member, plus a $50 gift card for 2 stays!

The room was updated and clean with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Also good free wifi.
My 2nd floor room had plantation shutters, windows that open for fresh air and a stained glass bathroom window, in addition to updated bedding & pillows. (But I hate their heavy bedspreads).

Breakfast was adequate - no eggs, but sausage & gravy, fried potatoes, cereal, fruit, yogurt, cereal, bread & pastry to set you going.

It's a few mile drive to the Boardwalk or Pier, and take a roll of quarters for parking ($1.50 per hr or $12 a day), but a good stop for the night. There is gr8 beach, an amusement park with rides, free concerts, movies and more to see at the shore.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here one night while on vacation in the SF area. It was fine for us as a couple and would be ok for families too. No bells and whistles, breakfast was ok. Location ok to walk around town. As chain motels in area go, this one looked like the better of them!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Santa Cruz

Property: Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Address: 110 Plymouth Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing