We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Operators”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed 18 July 2013

One has to keep in mind that this a converted motor inn, like so many California beach front properties. However, I feel that Comfort Inn did a rather good job in masking this up. Once inside your room, a pleasant surprise awaits you including a flat screen TV. We had two rooms which were consistent to one another. Beach is about a two minute walk, if you dare to brave the cold water! Front Desk staff/owners were very friendly and accommodating. The only problem we encountered with our stay was a faulty electronic key reader that should have been replaced, so it was a bit of an inconvenience requesting assistance every time we entered one of our rooms. Good value for the money including free wifi. Additionally, you are less than a 10 minute drive to the Mystery Spot. Don't miss it, especially if you have kids!

Room Tip: Most rooms appear to be similar throughout the property, so no room recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliot e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prince926, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking out time and writing a review. This comments help us to do better and serve our guests even better.

Thanks Again,

Kirti Patel,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Very comfortable & clean rooms! A bit on the smaller side but for a couple of nights it was fine! Great location within walking distance to the boardwalk. Awesome breakfast included in the room rate! Would recommend

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tone2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prince926, General Manager at Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking out time and write a review for your stay with us. We always thrive for a feedback and this kind of appreciation always helps us to strive for good customer service.

Thanks Again,

Kirti Patel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have stayed here before and was just as satisfied this time. Staff are very accommodating and friendly. Rooms are kept very clean and updated, no spray deodorant detected or needed. Very small parking area and takes some maneuvering but have always had a spot. Breakfast area is small but good. We like the proximity to the "Boardwalk" and good food.
Most of the hotels in that area have to deal with small area, this one is very nice.

Room Tip: The seafood is great, try the pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highwaychild78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

AB is a great employee, always helpful, always friendly. Always stay here while in Santa Cruz, close to the boardwalk and the pier. Nice Hotel, good breakfast, love the Waffles
Looking forward to my next trip there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Considering that we had stayed at the Embassy Suites Santa Clara the night before, this was a bit of a letdown. Having said that, the proximity to the Boardwalk is two blocks. For the price, you can't beat this property when factoring the $12 for parking that you're saving. Also this is close enough that you can spend the early afternoon there; come back to room for a rest; then go back to close the Boardwalk down. Parking was tight and the pool is rather small. But room was clean and mostly quiet. Great service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbert1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

First off... This place has a TINY parking lot which can be difficult to get in/out of, IF there's room for your car at all. Room: Basically OK, but we found hairs in the bathroom, which is disturbing. Breakfast: OK, but almost no room to eat. Honestly, only about four tables, really tight.

Management put an extra 10% on my credit card at check-in without warning me that it was for "incidentals". I made sure it was removed at checkout. You watch that too. Walking distance to the boardwalk. Neighborhood seemed OK, pretty typical for a beach town. Pool here? Like a large bathtub, so don't expect much. This -is- a Patel property, but not typical of one.

All in all, if you get a good rate, and you're not too picky, AND you have a small vehicle AND you arrive early enough to get a parking space, you might be OK. Second floor is via stairs, so you'll be putting the "lug" in luggage.

Beware reviews that sound too good from one review wonders. Would I stay here again? Probably, but only if the rate was low.

Room Tip: I'd stay away from the stairs, or the noise of the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a nice affordable place near the Boardwalk, walking distance, and with so many options I lucked up. The room I stayed in was small but cozy, it was very clean and I felt very safe since I'm a female traveling alone. This was perfect for a 'me time' get away.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fayette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
0.5 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
#20 of 54 in Santa Cruz
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#26 of 54 in Santa Cruz
380 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area

Address: 314 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area Hotel Santa Cruz
Comfort Inn Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing